We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Worth it”

Tock's - A Montreal Deli
Ranked #12 of 16,906 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: People’s Square
Description: Tock's in an award-winning Montreal-style deli serving smoked meat sandwiches and all the fixings (including authentic poutine!). These specialties are all prepared in-house from the finest ingredients. A nice selection of beers and wines also. For lunch, brunch or dinner, a great choice for smoked meat comfort food! (Nice salads and vegetarian options too.)
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“So Worth it”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is the real deal. I live in Hong Kong and wish we had a place like that here... damn!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    101
    20
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real Canadian food, prices a bargain”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a real Canadian deli in Shanghai, when you cona find most of the dishes and products like in Montreal. The price is really nice, the place is clean, plenty of waiters (but the service is average like most of the places in Shanghai where the waiters are locals). The meat superb, and the poutine is extraordinary. My wife live in Canada for one year and she told me is real Canadian food, like traveling back in time. One of the best choices in Shanghai to enjoy sandwiches, burgers, salads, pasta and fries. Also you can order Moosehead Canadian beer (not cheap). They accepted only cash on June 2013.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perry71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best smoked beef in town”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The smoked beef on offer is to die for. The restaurant is clean and service is fast - no fuss. Don't accept card payments yet so make sure you have some cash on you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JNYV13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Montreal Smoked Meat - The real deal!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Smoked meat is one of the first things I eat when back in Montreal. I will no longer have to wait! Tock serves the real thing. For the smoked meat fans, it comes in lean, medium, fat and xtra fat. I ordered the smoked meat plate - fat style;). It did not disappoint. The flavors were terrific. The smoked meat, pickles, coleslaw were all made on the premises, as are all the other dishes. The only thing missing on the menu was Cherry Coke.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canuck1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamai Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brings Back Great Memories”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Was very excited to see a Montreal smoked meat deli in Shanghai. Originally from Montreal myself, I needed to get me some good ol smoked meat. The Restaurant just opened and was very excited to try it out. I had the old fashioned smoked meat platter, which was exactly like home, I couldn't believe it. The poutine was amazing, and tasted exactly how it should. Friendly Staff, good prices and cool décor. A definite return !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tock's - A Montreal Deli also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Tock's - A Montreal Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing