We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boyue Shanghai Hongqiao Airport Hotel
Ranked #119 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
303 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good location but.......”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at the BoYue for one night on route to Kunshan. Whilst conveniently located at Hongqiao airport in Terminal 2 if offers the facility to connect to the high speed CRC and Shanghai subway.

The room I had was F15 and was extremely small and faced the road. So it was extremely noisy in the morning.The AC didn't work and was stuck on 28c. The room also smelt of sewerage and even opening the small window didn't help relieve the smell or temperature.

The good new is the is comfortable and the shower good. Breakfast was not included in the room rate of RMB450 but is available on the 2nd floor at an additional cost of RMB150 pp.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevelizhangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    79
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
7
12
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
289 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

this is a very good and convenient Hotel it is well kept and has great service not a typical chinese hotel.
My view from the window was the airport runway it was an amazing experience the rates are reasonable the rooms are clean nice and comfortable and you are 100 ft from the check in hall cant get better than that if you are traveling. there is a subway station in the building ang the Hongqiao fast train hub is only a 5 minutes away by foot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashgiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Newly renovated hotel. Room is clean and modern decor. Great if you are meeting up businesses around hongqiao. Do not waste an hour travelling to city. There are kfc and mc donald at the airport. It is a quiet hotel without tour groups.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

i was expecting this place to be a crappy hotel....but was really surprised at how well it looked. Trust me, i've been staying at the best all over china (4seasons, park hyatt, ritz,..etc)...and this place is super good for the price. But you have to consider the conditions for staying here.

1) If you are gonna be in and out of shanghai, using Hongqiao terminal 2 (the NEW terminal)...save yourself taxi money, and waiting in the super long taxi line, and just stay in this hotel. It is INSIDE terminal 2 right next to the checkin counters. For me, i needed to fly out of Shanghai a lot to different locations, and only needed 1 or 2 nights in SH...so Bo Yue worked out great coz' i didnt have to deal with traffic coming from the city, no need to wake up extra early for that hour drive to the airport....nor do i have to wait in line for a taxi which during peak season can be like an hour wait in itself to get into a taxi in the cold....dragging luggages.
2) the rooms are NEW and clean! you gotta consider Terminal 2 is brand spanking NEW....so, this hotel is NEW! no cigarette patina on the walls and furniture, the interior design is modern and tasteful.
3) bed is comfortable....unlike some hotels ive stayed at in 2nd or 3rd tier cities...where the bed feels like a judo mat. the pillow and linens were of good quality too.
4) bathroom amenites were not bad...they gave out complete toothbrush set, individual shampoo, conditioner and bathgel bottles...instead of the generic motel soup and shampoo dispensers in the wall.
5) they actually have breakfast and restaurants...but we had to leave too early before they opened, so i cant comment on them.

Cons
1) this is only a place to sleep and wake up to fly....so if you're expecting night life, shopping, or restaurants....you're in the wrong hotel....you're gonna have to taxi to the city...but at least you dont have to worry about missing your flight.
2) if you want a room with a view.....not gonna happen unless you like looking at airport parking lots or building roof tops.
3) if you are landing in Terminal 1...it will be quite a pain to get to terminal 2....you'll need to ride the subway for 1 stop...if you are carrying a lot of big luggage without wheels...take a taxi. (he will hate you for it)...but if you can carry it for a few steps thru subay turnstiles, and a few stairs (maybe 10 steps high ...and no ramps)....it can be quite confusing. My wife is chinese, so im lucky she can figure it out...but for me, i would be totally lost. so, make sure you arrive in Terminal 2 all the time! if not...figure out how to get to terminal 1 and back. Its doable..but for first timers it can be confusing.

Aside from these 3 cons....its a great no-frills hotel. well designed and appointed for the price and definitely better than most motels and 3 star hotels in the US. again, consider the conditions you will be in...if you only need to fly out the next day, and you're worried you will not make it in time and want to eliminate getting to the airport stress...this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neversummer1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The appearance of the hotel is boring. It is located in the end of a terminal. It started out well as I was upgraded to the executive floor. The room was big a nice. The quality of the food the in Chinese restaurant was not impressive. During the night the room temperature increased to 27 deg. C., even though outside temperature was 5 deg. C. The aircon/heater could not cool.
The breakfast was horrible for westerns. No egg and very poor coffee. Checkout took ages for unknown reasons. I complained to the manager that responded that it could pay in advance next time to speed up the process!?!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Engineer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a nice hotel right in the airport, easy in and out if you are only in shanghai for one night.
The best thing is the walking distance to the main train station, all in all, it is nice, clean, and well located.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucebana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Best thing is location; at 3rd level of Hongqiao airport and 200m from Hongqiao high speed train station. There is shuttle bus from Hongqiao airport to Pudong airport that runs every 30 minutes and takes about 1 hour.

The hotel is new, clean and quiet, even it is right at the airport.
I arrived on the high speed train from Weifang city at 2330, got a burger at KFC Hongqiao airport, then checked in at Boyue. I wanted a non-smoking room, but there were no Deluxe non-smoking left. I was a little tired after a 5 hour train trip, so I was OK to accept anything.
However the night manager generously upgraded me for free to a non-smoking exec room. Fantastic service! I will certainly will be back after my night train trips from Nanjing South Station.

Exec room was great, with bath and all the necessary features for short overnight business stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Argyle International Airport Hotel Hongqiao
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai International Airport Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Minimax Premier Hotel Hongqiao
Minimax Premier Hotel Hongqiao
#1,849 of 5,059 in Shanghai
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Shanghai NECC
#105 of 5,059 in Shanghai
65 reviews
Sofitel Shanghai Hongqiao
#111 of 5,059 in Shanghai
73 reviews
Yitel Hotel Shanghai Hongqiao
#728 of 5,059 in Shanghai
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyue Shanghai Hongqiao Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyue Shanghai Hongqiao Airport Hotel

Property: Boyue Shanghai Hongqiao Airport Hotel
Address: Departure Gate 2, Shanghai Hongqiao Airport Terminal 2, No.181 Shenda 3rd Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200335, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boyue Shanghai Hongqiao Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing