We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Stars for Mandarin Oriental Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Ranked #1 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Near perfect stay at Mandarin Oriental Shanghai. We stayed 5 nights in a Mandarin River View Room. It was fabulous! We already had high expectations, we stayed at MO in New York and Las Vegas and both were pretty perfect. But MO Shanghai is even better!

First is the service, as you may know in China service isn’t the best in hotels. But here the staff really went out of their way to make you feel welcome and to make sure everything is to your liking. It was the most genuine service we ever experience in any hotel in the world. There is so many staff members here to help you, any request you have they will figure out a way to make sure you get what you want. As someone mentioned in an earlier review, you can really see the staff is happy to work there and happy staff makes happy guests.

Our room was truly amazing, one of the nicest layout and decor I have seen. Very large and comfortable bed and amazing linens by Frette. The TV was big and of high quality, there was as well plenty of HD channels. The views were spectacular. The bathroom was unreal, big and beautiful. Great amenities as well, by Ormonde Jayne. There is also a walk in closet that has plenty of room for your luggages and clothes.

We visited the Spa Facilities and the pool on several occasions. Spectacular design, very relaxing, clean and smelled very good as well. The water facilities are all great, from hammam to the sauna, to the jacuzzi… etc It would’ve been nice if they had a Vitality Pool like in some other MO properties but that’s a small detail..

We tried most of the hotel restaurants. Yong Yi Ting (the Chinese restaurant) is very nice and the service was impeccable. Zest offers great buffets as well. We even grabbed a few pastries from the Cake Shop and they were excellent! Qi Bar had great drinks and a good ambience, amazing design as well.

The club floor was the cherry on top. From breakfast to lunch to afternoon tea to late meals.. All were very good. On top of this the alcohol selection was amazing, good wine, champagne, and drinks. All included with the Club access, which in my opinion is a must if you plan on spending some time in the hotel.

The location is convenient but maybe not the best in Shanghai. It is located in a slightly newer part of the Lujiazui area, but I am sure that this part will be soon more popular. The hotel offers private shuttle service to anywhere in the Lujiazui area.

All this comes at a price, but if you’re willing to splurge a little you will get more than what you pay for! When I go back to Shanghai, I will definitely go back to Mandarin Oriental.

Room Tip: River View Mandarin Room
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear HG56,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our high level of service and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Rated number one on multiple review sites and for a very good reason. The best experience to date since I have been in China which is almost one year now.

The attention to detail is impressive, the interior is stunning, the Presidential Suite astounding!

What makes the difference and separates the Mandarin Oriental from other so called Five Star Hotels? The staff and the obviously very high level of training the staff have received. Top marks all round, congratulations to the management team on a magnificent achievement, an experience I will remember for a longtime to come and the new benchmark for how I view other hotels and restaurants.

When the Porter refers to you by name and you have only passed on your cloakroom ticket, that is special, thank you for caring......

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Errazuriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Room:
Facilities of highest standards, well-allocated rooms, great bathtub (Club room)
Staff:
truly anticipating, discreet and always at service
Club:
Shanghais biggest and best club lounge (truly deserved), spacious, yet intimate, great selection of reading (coffee-table books library on Shanghai, Art, Fashion etc. "Taschen heaven"), Restaurant-quality selection of meals
Qi Bar:
Subtle ambiance, excellent drinks (loved the "French Concession")

I used to stay neighboring 5star hotels in Lujiazui, but all I appreciated in them (anticipative service, excellent facilities, flawless Lounge and business center services...) I find at the Mandarin Oriental combined on a new level. The best choice for Shanghai!

Room Tip: Club rooms are spacious and boast stunning views!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handershang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My fiancé and I checked in at the Mandarin Oriental on our return from the Philippines and had an amazing experience from start to finish. The staff were attentive, polite and catered to our every need and the facilities were superb. We had a river view room with some lovely extra touches! The spa, pool and gym were spotlessly clean and offered more than we could have asked for. I would highly recommend an early check in and late check out to make the most of your stay here! I will be returning with my mother and sister in April and I am very much looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmWong87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear EmWong87,

Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to hear that you have had an excellent stay and you especially enjoyed the facility here. We look forward to welcoming you back again before long.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Extremely helpful and excellently trained staff attentive to your every need. Charming hotel, stylishly designed and good facilities. Food was good and the rooms were incredible. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TCPickhaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear TCPickhaver,

Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are most grateful about your appreciation of our facilities and high level of service. Meanwhile, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Mandarin Oriental truly is a wonderful place to stay. The attention to detail in all areas is without doubt in a class of it's own. Staff were friendly, helpful and extremely well trained in customer service and the personal touches provided by the sales team really made our holiday a relaxing and luxurious event.

Room Tip: It's worth spending a little extra on the River View rooms as the lights are spectacular at nigh...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lunarcalipso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear lunarcalipso,

Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are most grateful about your appreciation of our facilities and high level of service. Meanwhile, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for one night in a river view suite and it was absolutely magnificent. The Mandarin Oriental is tucked safely away from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai, but still close enough to go into the city and enjoy the sights. Location by the riverside makes for great walks at sunset, and the private driver service to bring us to and from the hotel was extremely convenient.

The spa amenities that are included in the stay were a godsend. We spent an entire afternoon swimming in the pool and trying out the different showers and sauanas that the hotel as to offer. There are two saunas, hot beds, a rainforest mist shower, and an exquisite changing room.

The best part of the hotel is the kind and attentive staff that went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I felt like royalty staying at the Mandarin Oriental, and I honestly think there is nowhere in Shanghai more cozy, relaxing, and tranquil as the Mandarin Oriental.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Mary H,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our high level of service, hotel facilities and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,111 in Shanghai
2,007 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#30 of 5,111 in Shanghai
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Address: 111 Pudong Road Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $276 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the Huangpu River, amidst the dramatic skyline of the Lujiazui financial district, Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai redefines luxury waterfront living in Shanghai. With an unrivaled location, legendary service and world-class facilities, the 362-room hotel and 210 fully serviced executive apartments are poised to become Shanghai's most desirable address. The hotel features 318 spacious guestrooms and 44 suites and is also home to the largest and most expensive Presidential Suite in Shanghai, spanning 788 square metres with a sky garden terrace and magnificent river views. The 210 luxury furnished apartments - from studio to three bedrooms - are Shanghai's only fully serviced riverside residences, and are designed to offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort. Chef Richard Ekkebus of the two-Michelin starred Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, will preside at the hotel's Fifty 8° Grill, and Shanghainese celebrity chef Tony Lu will be at the helm of Chinese restaurant Yong Yi Ting. All-day kitchen Zest, Qi Bar, Riviera Lobby Lounge and The Mandarin Cake Shop complete the essential dining options for business and leisure. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai offers guests Mandarin Oriental's renowned signature therapies and advanced beauty and holistic wellness treatments within a soothing Zen oasis. Additional recreational facilities at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai include a fully equipped Fitness & Wellness Centre with a Kinesis wall and Maya Fit virtual trainers; a 25-metre indoor swimming pool; and a thermal bathing facility. The hotel is also perfectly placed for exclusive meetings and conferences in Shanghai. A selection of multi-functional event spaces includes a Grand Ballroom hosting 500 guests, an Oriental Ballroom for 250 guests, plus eight versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing