We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most exclusive in shanghai!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Ranked #1 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Love Mandarin since the very moment stepping into the legendary mo hongkong.
I think they brought most part of their fantasy to shanghai where the Jardines started their family almost two hundred years ago. Unlike the Peninsula to rebuild its own building on the bund, mandarin chose place quiet and more like special. The problem is that the area where is still in construction and development, so probably people would feel quiet isolated. But considering only 5mins drive to ifc, I quiet like such exclusivity. Unlike the central station of Pudong-the ritz pudong? mandarin actually provide me a sense of special, a feeling of quiet and the true meaning of luxury.
I stayed twice in this mandarin before, which are Harbour city suite and Riverview suite. This time the hotel recommended Club mandarin riverview room, which is better than most of the rooms and can even compared to Riverview suite. With a direct view to the oriental pearl and the whole bund, this room are really beneficial. What's more it has a bigger bathtub than the that of Riverview suite! If with washlet in the toilet, that would be perfect!
The facilities of the hotel are enough with a very high standard, but just too underground.The 58 Grill has a very creative chef, who actually made a difference from other those of luxury hotels. The spa is very nice with a swimming pool of 25m length! I think no more than five luxury hotels has that big pool!
The last place, which is the best in my mind, is the chinese restaurant! I don't remember the exact name, but ,compared to my recent 3 visits to the lung king heen of fshk, I think the taste of this mandarin pudong restaurant is more palatable, or as same as palatable as that of fshk. What's more important, you don't need reserve your table one month prior!
The staff actually can fulfill almost all the requests you put up. Even some of mine are not that kind reasonable! I think the management team paid a lot effort to grow a team like that in mainland china!
All in all,
Love this hotel! Will come back for sure.

Thank Snowyenperor
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Snowyenperor,

Many thanks for this flowing review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to heard that you had an excellent stay and that you especially enjoyed the food here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another fabulous visit!

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

ok - I'm a MO fan and have been for some time - they just seem to get the idea of what satisfying a guest is all about. Whenever an issue arises, no matter how small, it is sorted without fuss and usually above and beyond expectation. Statyed 2 nights in MO Shanghai over Christmas 2013, club access - didn't leave hotel for 2 days. Service natural and personal - thanks to Micker for looking after us all. (stayed with 2 children). Food standard is way above other 5 star hotels. facilities as expected - top notch. Location I would say average at this point in time until the phase 2 pudong development is complete. However I understand there is a complimentary car service - so this not such a big deal. For New Year we stayed in new Jing An Shangra La, the club food and service there was a joke compared to MO standard...will return to the MO.

Room Tip: If you want river facing ask for full river frontal vs side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Truly, from the moment I arrived (wait, before, when the driver was waiting for me in the airport), I felt like the most special guest the hotel ever encountered even though I was just me! The staff was amazing… they remembered my name - even in the fitness center and the concierge created magic, getting me an app't at the Apple store - and offering to take my computer if I was too busy!. My room faced the Pearl Tower and it was truly magical. Everything about this visit was delightful - and I wish I could say it was like being at home - but it was better than that ! ;-)

Room Tip: Ask to fact The Pearl Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpeakerSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear SpeakerSue,

Many thanks for this flowing review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to heard that you had an excellent stay and that you especially enjoyed the service here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another fabulous visit!

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Mandarin Oriental in Pudong sets in my opinion a standard of perfection against which any other luxury hotel must find it hard to measure up. From the marvelous courtesy and professionalism of all the staff, to the fantastic bedrooms and suites (we were very generously upgraded to a river view suite), to the amazing fitness center, to the club room, everything was faultless. A special thanks to Mr. Massimiliano Binda, the Hotel Manager, for making us feel just like at home, and to Mr. Charles Tong, the Head Concierge for faultlessly organizing our visit to this amazing metropolis. We will definitely return. Thanks for making our visit so memorable.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Mandarin Oriental just recently opened in Pudong, and i wanted to check it out.

The good stuff first.
1) service of the staff is top notch. from the moment you arrive to the day you leave...everyone greets you, and attends to your needs. We had a problem with the internet, and they sent an IT guy to the room immediately to fix the problem in my computer. Front desk and concierge spoke very good English, and were very polite.

2) room had good amenities, bathtub looks amazing and the bed was very comfortable.
3) i also like that the hotel was the right size...not too big where you had to take 2 elevators to get to your room.
4) spa and pool looks amazing!
5) bar is cool.
6) theres a good cantonese restaurant next door.

critiques.
1) Location is not the greatest- its located in an area that is still being developed..so,if you wanted to go to the IFC or any shopping complex, its not exactly near by. The grand Kempenski is probably closer to a resistant area. The Mandarin is probalby a block further. Another draw back to this is the availability of taxi....its a bit hard to get one since its not a popular route.
2) view is also not as good..since its looking towards the north bund...and the view of the IFC area is blocked by office buldings.
3) buffet was ok, but a bit overpriced compared to other hotels like shangrilla or Westin or Langham. For that same price, i would expect higher end quality food.

overall, it is a good hotel and brand. Great service but location hurts it....it will be a lot better in a few years when the area gets more developed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neversummer1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear neversummer1911,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our high level of service, hotel facilities and hotel room. In reference to your comment on the hotel location, we are pleased to let you know that the hotel provides complimentary single-way shuttle service within the Lujiazui district. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

For reference, we went onto the Peninsula in Hong Kong after this but our experience of the Mandarin was much better.

We got upgraded to a river view suite. The room was huge and as the hotel only opened at the start of 2013, everything was extremely fresh. The decor and attention to detail is world class. The button panel for the lights, curtains, tv etc beside the bed is very high tech and has more buttons that you know what to do with.

We ate at the restaurant on the 8th (I think, not the lobby!) floor. It was quiet and they were keen for us to eat there. The service was world class - some we're being trained by a manager called Martha who was obviously in to instil the Mandarin standard and she was doing an excellent job. The way the addressed, served, poured, walked, presented themselves...everything - the waitresses were perfect. The food selection was as good as you will ever get. We have stayed at some of the world's finest and this breakfast might be the best.

Everything about our stay here was perfect - the only thing to detract may be the location as you'll need to get a taxi to the Bund. The hotel is more in the business district so you can't really just pop out and have a wonder. We didn't mind though as taxis are obviously very cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJMatrixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear JJMatrixx,

Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to hear that you have had an excellent stay and that you have especially enjoyed the service here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another fabulous experience!

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

MO is always famed for its considerate services. There is definitely no exception for Shanghai MO. The perfect location enables you to appreciate the voluputous views in Shanghai. The ebullient services and top-notch facilities here would make you realize that yeah, I come back MO again wherever you are. When we checked in the hotel last weekend, we were directly escorted to the 2rd floor club lounge and upgraded to a club suite room with a huge bathtube facing to the marvellous Bund view. The food and beverage is delicate and succulent, especially its Chinese cuisine. Staff's service is beyond other 5-star hotels in Shanghai. It has perfect SPA services. Especially when you finished swimming in the capacious pool, just pamper yourself to the SPA therapy. The low profile sumptuous MO in Shanghai always attracts me back.

Room Tip: Higher floors would make you enjoy the Bund view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#32 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,415 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Address: 111 Pudong Road Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $257 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the Huangpu River, amidst the dramatic skyline of the Lujiazui financial district, Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai redefines luxury waterfront living in Shanghai. With an unrivaled location, legendary service and world-class facilities, the 362-room hotel and 210 fully serviced executive apartments are poised to become Shanghai's most desirable address. The hotel features 318 spacious guestrooms and 44 suites and is also home to the largest and most expensive Presidential Suite in Shanghai, spanning 788 square metres with a sky garden terrace and magnificent river views. The 210 luxury furnished apartments - from studio to three bedrooms - are Shanghai's only fully serviced riverside residences, and are designed to offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort. Chef Richard Ekkebus of the two-Michelin starred Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, will preside at the hotel's Fifty 8° Grill, and Shanghainese celebrity chef Tony Lu will be at the helm of Chinese restaurant Yong Yi Ting. All-day kitchen Zest, Qi Bar, Riviera Lobby Lounge and The Mandarin Cake Shop complete the essential dining options for business and leisure. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai offers guests Mandarin Oriental's renowned signature therapies and advanced beauty and holistic wellness treatments within a soothing Zen oasis. Additional recreational facilities at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai include a fully equipped Fitness & Wellness Centre with a Kinesis wall and Maya Fit virtual trainers; a 25-metre indoor swimming pool; and a thermal bathing facility. The hotel is also perfectly placed for exclusive meetings and conferences in Shanghai. A selection of multi-functional event spaces includes a Grand Ballroom hosting 500 guests, an Oriental Ballroom for 250 guests, plus eight versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing