We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location let down by the food”
Review of Sliders Bar

Sliders Bar
Ranked #3,231 of 16,893 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Description: This is one of the biggest cafe bars on Yongkang Lu and has a great selection of beers with a couple of really niche options, but the biggest selling point is their namesake - Slider Hamburgers which are truly amazing.It's some of the best bar fare in Shanghai, we especially like the Hen's Night chicken burger.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
528 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great location let down by the food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Yongkang Lu is a great bar street in Shanghai packed full of small bars and eateries. A great spot during the day or at night with the majority of patrons being expats. Use to be predominantly French but more and more 'laowai' from other parts of the world which has made this small street feel like you are definitely not in Shanghai.

Decent selection of mainstay beers, great little bar and fantastic atmosphere though the only disappointing aspect was the food we ordered - in hindsight should have gone for the Sliders! Especially as other customers were going for these. Instead, went for the panini sandwiches - two different ones but both were bad, mainly due to the bread and the coleslaw which tasted a bit off - was expecting this to be on a par with Wagas which does great paninis.

Will give this place another go and next time will try their namesake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mokkey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice concept and it is working. It is packed and there is a good vibe all around.
I do like the area as well...for a moment I forgot I was in Shanghai.
I wonder why they do not accept credit cards nor can produce Fapiao...a bit strange since as far as I know it is required by law.
Nice mini Burgers concept with deals, beers...no much of a choise when it comes to fries, veggies, salads, which I would have loved to order on the side. They do not ask how you wish your burger done, which I find a bit weird.mine was way overcooked.
Overall a pleasant place.
After that, I went for Dinner !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Face_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fresh Fun Food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

great bar with sliders as the main course. We had a full table with 8 mixed bag friends from all over, the drinks just kept on coming as well as the freshly made western food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Good burgers and drink deals in Yongkang Lu”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Found this place by accident while exploring Yongkang Lu - a newish hotspot in Shanghai. The street boasts several bars, cafes and restaurants nestled harmoniously within a local Shanghainese neighbourhood within the Former French Concession. Sliders was a great place to sit and watch both local life and the passing expat parade. The 'Sliders' were small burgers (we had never heard of them) and while a burger does not usually rate my notice the menu surprised us with an amazing array of these 4 bite morsels in all sorts of tasty permutations. The beer selection was good, happy hour pricing even better and house wines quaffable. An improvement in the house wine though, would make this venue even better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xingming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sliders Bar also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Sliders Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing