We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Ranked #20 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
hong kong
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

They treat you very "right" here. The Exec Lounge was under renovation so they simply open up the bar from 5:30-8:00 pm and you can have whatever you like and with a smile. Nice touch.

My suite was spacious and the bed incredibly comfortable.

Yes, you are in Shanghai and if you look out the window you can see smokestacks puffing out volumes of polluted air but inside the hotel, you don't notice.

Everything we asked for (including transportation) was provided for. They even sent us a limo with driver to pick us up this afternoon. Way beyond what we could ever expect.

The rate was very inexpensive, there is a health club.

You are a bit out of the way here…not the place to bring your wife/kids to shop but if you have business near here…it is an ideal hotel for getting a rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twodoggzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
外高橋喜來登酒店, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, thank you for choosing us and share your experience.
We would really appreciate your compliments which more than better to motivate us. and we are looking forward to see you again in near future. Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    83
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
46
36
15
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed 2 nights here. Beds are comfy, room are very spacious even for 3 people as we added an extra bed here. Facilities are pretty new and well maintained, staffs are also helpful.

The only bad point is the location, rather remote and away from the city. And it is located near to many industrial and constructions area. But luckily the windows are well sealed and we were not really affected by the noise and the pollution there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xuan Cheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
外高橋喜來登酒店, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Your comments are really helpful on enhancing ourselves till perfection, and we are looking forward your next visit.
Also, regarding the location issue which you mentioned, kindly let you know that our concierges are more than happy to help you on a shorter and convenience way to reach town, please do not feel hesitate to ask them for your next stay. We are looking forward to see you again in near future.
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Excellent hotel, good ambienence. nice helpful staff. walkable to the metro station. calm and cool place. very very good breakfast and variety of menu. room was excellent specially the bed the moment lay down you will go into deep sleep

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selvakumar_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
外高橋喜來登酒店, Customer Relationship Team at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, thank you for choosing us and share your experience.
We would really appreciate your compliments which more than better to motivate us. and we are looking forward to see you again in near future.
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

A good business hotel

I’ve just returned to the UK having spent two weeks in this hotel. It’s very well situated for the Free Trade Zone (FTZ) with most, if not all, of that area easily accessible by car (and a Metro stop not too far away). It’s not so well situated for the centre of Shanghai, though, and those interested in doing a lot of out and about stuff in the centre should probably stay elsewhere. However, if you have things to do in the FTZ then this is the perfect place to stay.

It’s large and can accommodate large groups and conferences with no obvious signs of it being overly busy. Whilst I was there, there were at least two conferences (of multiple days) and never did the hotel or any of it’s facilities seem busy.

The lobby is very large with a comfortable lobby bar for relaxing. You can eat from the Lobby Restaurant menu if you wish and they serve a selection of beers and wines that Western guests may well be familiar with. The bar also has a kind of business centre where you can log on and surf the net if you so wish. Free wi-fi exists in the Lobby area (and Conference areas) if you want to use your own gadgets.

The food in the Lobby Restaurant, where they also serve breakfast, is nice and well cooked. Breakfast is a huge buffet affair with lots of choice although the ingredients, for the cooked breakfasts, are not always consistently available day after day.

The swimming pool, gym and Spa areas are large and well looked after and, during my time there, I pretty much had them to myself despite there being many other guests in the hotel. The rooms are large and well appointed with large baths and walk in showers that are hot, fast and powerful. The large screen TVs and the iPhone clock radios are both nice touches and there is both wireless and wired internet access that is free. Tea and coffe are supplied as is a fridge (my room had a fridge but no mini-bar).

The staff were all very friendly and most of them spoke and understood English so I had no trouble making myself understood during my stay. If I was returning to Shanghai and had daily business in the FTZ then I would not hesitate to stay here again. However, if my business was in the centre of Shanghai then this hotel would probably not be a good choice.

In the surrounding area there are few things to do although there are a couple of convenience stores in walking distance, a Starbucks across the road and a Japanese restaurant around the corner (there is also a Japanese resto in the hotel itself). If you are there with local support, ask them to take you to Holland Village where you can get a meal and walk around Amsterdam style streets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerChimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
外高橋喜來登酒店, Online Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Gueat,
Greetings from Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, thank you for choosing us and share your experience.
We would really appreciate your all-round compliments for which more than better to motivate us. Sheraton Waigaoqiao hotel is located in the China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone, which is a great option for business trip. If you want to reach downtown, also please do not hesitate to consult with our concierges, they are more than happy to help you on a shorter and convenience way for your next stay. Sheraton Waigaoqiao Hotel will continue to promote guest experience not only in facilities but also in service. Hope you consistently support and looking forward to see you in near future.
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel will be even more popular as the city expands around it. We arrived late but all of our request were met with perfection. The hotel staff is new so they are still learning about SPG Platinum benefits. For example, the late night staff didn't ask if I wanted my 500 welcome points. The rooms are brand new and spacious, the lobby is beautifully decorated and although the lounge was closed, they had a good spread of food and drinks for executive members in the lobby area. There was a mix up with my package being delivered to the hotel. I recommend calling the concierge and insuring that they receive your package. Luckily, the hotel staff worked hard to find the package that I mailed earlier. Overall, I would stay here again. I didn't get a chance to try the restaurants out but I am sure they will be tasty.

Room Tip: Make sure to get upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
外高橋喜來登酒店, Reservation Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Lewis,
Greetings from Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, thank you for choosing us and share your experience.
Your comments and tips are really helpful to motivate us, also we will enhance staff training in the next work especially for SPG till perfection . Looking forward to see you again in near future.
Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We travelled in a group and found this hotel exceeded our wildest dreams
As the door opened on our room we gasped in delight : everything was of the highest order from the decor to the thoughtful comfort provisions to the electronic control of curtains and bath plug and bathroom television
A secluded toilet was also appreciated in the bathroom as was the marvellous presentation of returned laundry
Service was unobtrusive but ever present making this the best hotel we stayed in China

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
外高橋喜來登酒店, Reservation Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Margaret,

Greetings from Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, thank you for choosing us and share your experience.
We would really appreciate your compliments which more than better to motivate us. and we are looking forward to see you again in near future.

Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I recently stayed at this Sheraton in Shanghai. If you are having a conference and want to make sure the people attend this is the place for you. The rooms are nice. The staff is excellent, and there is nothing nearby for people to wonder to. It takes 40 to 60 minutes to get to Shanghai downtown from this Sheraton. There is a Starbucks across the street and one Japenese restaurant outside of eating at the hotel. If you are there for pleasure properly not the right place. However, if you are there for working it is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
外高橋喜來登酒店, Reservation Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Gregory,

Greetings from Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, thank you for choosing us and share your experience.
Also, regarding the location issue which you mentioned far from town, kindly let you know that our concierges are more than happy to help you on a shorter and convenience way to reach town, please do not feel hesitate to ask them for your next stay. We are looking forward to see you again in near future.

Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Shanghai South
#19 of 5,105 in Shanghai
278 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel

Property: Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Address: 28 Jilong Road China (Shanghai) | Pilot Free Trade Zone, Shanghai 200131, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Waigaoqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel strategically situated in the China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone, offers sophisticatedly designed 451 guest rooms and suites with stunning harbor view, as well as a Sheraton Club lounge on top of the hotel building and Sheraton Club rooms with upgraded amenities. The heart of the lobby features the Link at SheratonSM experienced with Microsoft(R)- a social hub where connections seamlessly take place. Additional amenities include full service restaurants and lounge, and fully equipped fitness facilities featuring the brand's revolutionary new health and fitness program, Sheraton Fitness programmed by Core Performance™. With a burst of freshness, color and variety, three food& beverage venues ranging from Chinese, Japanese and international fare provides an irresistible dining extravagant and culinary spread. Over 2600sqm meeting space include a 1000 sqm ballroom which will make us the ideal choice for every occasion from gala dinners and weddings to intimate meetings and international conferences. The hotel is conveniently connected to Lujiazui Financial District, Shanghai Pudong International Airport and major attractions by several express highways and metro lines. The Disneyland Shanghai currently under construction is only 15 minutes away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing