We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of Saffron - Modern Indian Cuisine - CLOSED

Saffron - Modern Indian Cuisine
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The best Indian in Shanghai! I went for lunch one day and it was so good I had to go back for dinner the next day. They have a great set lunch menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tysonburk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    36
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really Great Indian”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

From the onion bhajis to the curries, this place is great. Indian owners that are involved in everything, and it makes a difference. We lived in the UK for many years and long for good curry, and now we have found it in Shanghai. The prices are not cheep, but great quality should not be. I would highy recomend this place for a great meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank t-bird2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in Shanghai”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Saffron is very different from a typical Indian Restaurant. No Bollywood here. Elegant room, excellant service and very good food. Yes is it pricey and I do wish they had more affordable wine choices but the food is just so tasty that I keep going back anyway.
It is a good choice for lunch as well when they have fixed price menu option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrimeTimeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pricey but good food”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Good food. Surprisingly the biryani served was made from desi ghee. The ambience was good but the crowd was too noisy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mayur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not your typical Indian restaurant”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Modern comfortable Indian restaurant without the Bollywood music. Excellent, very nicely presented food that only misses if you`re expecting all of your regular high street curry options. The onion bhaji is fantastic and not drenched in grease like so many other restaurants. We chose the green masala madras and opted for lamb, which turned out to be a great choice, packed with flavor. The Yellow dhal is notable, the cheese stuffed Nan turned up a little bit on the cold side.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upstairsforthinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron - Modern Indian Cuisine also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing