We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatles and Yamazaki!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kota'S Kitchen (Xietu Road)

Kota'S Kitchen (Xietu Road)
Ranked #4,634 of 16,842 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Japanese, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Shanghai Stadium
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beatles and Yamazaki!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

A little gem in Shanghai! Love love this place! Yummy izakaya and nonstop Beatles make this place unique. Excellent service and an awesome variety of yakitori and Japanese whiskey. Definitely a must when in Shanghai!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“BBQ and Beatles...that can't be wrong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

LOVED this place. Great Japanese BBQ menu of skewers and small dishes. The tofu and avocado salad was fantastic, as were the quail egg and pork belly roll up skewers. A steady soundtrack and video collection of the Beatles made for a good toe-tapping quiet singalong for me. Small and cozy, it felt like something one would find in Brooklyn. It was a little hard to find (it's inside a fence next to a spa), but definitely worth going. We came across another location on Huaihai Road that is not listed on TA which would have been more convenient to where we were going afterwards (The Cotton Club, which was just down the block). A good spot to hit if you don't want a touristy Shanghai meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FINNasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Japanese bbq I ever had (in HK and SH)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Beatles and Japanese bbq - Sounds weird but works very well. The kitchen locates just opposite to ChangShu Lu Metro station, 15 mins walk from Jing An Temple. Easily found. Very nice deco with Beatles music. Food is fantastic! I had a Apple sake - YUMMY! The Japanese style pork belly was amazingly good! We also had bbq blue cheese and camembelt - too strong cheese favor for me. We were 8 of us, and we paid like 200 yuan for 2 bottles of sake and loads of food. Good price for this high quality food. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to everyone!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carysik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
298 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Great casual Japanese dining in Shanghai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had dinner in Kota’s kitchen and its’ branch Le Voyage.
Good place for drinking beer and enjoying varieties of charcoal grilled skewers. Baked oyster was delicious. Sashimi was also available.
The restaurants were liked by expats and local Japanese, but playing Beatles music for the whole night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GGHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beatles And Noodles...need I say more?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I just fell in love with this place. It had everything you would expect from a place that only has the Beatles playing and grilled meats. I had the ramen with white broth and loved it. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TriploverNY258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kota'S Kitchen (Xietu Road) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Kota'S Kitchen (Xietu Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing