We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful new 5* hotel, lacking perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Ranked #12 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful new 5* hotel, lacking perfection”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Wow! A really nice hotel. Simply beautiful and extremely comfortable. Good beds and high quality bed linen. A real top hotel. Breakfast and evening buffet are outstanding too.
To my opinion 5* stands for perfection, therefore some small remarks.
I arrived late at night and was very cold. The porter saw me and then just stayed in his nice warm corner letting open my taxi door and lifting my suitcase out of the trunk. Nice first impression when arriving ...
Waiting time for the elevators is too long.
Generally staff should be better trained; not knowing how the loyalty program works, serving dinner without giving a serviette (multiple occasions). In the buffer restaurant they just leave you dirty cutlery on the table because they prefer only replacing the plates (quite unusual between course). This again happened al the time and at other guests too. Getting good staff is difficult but as the priced are on a high western level the service should be too.

My overall impression was very positive, above mentioned details could happen everywhere. I would stay again and recommend this hotel. For those complaining about the location this is not fair as it depends where you want to be. It's next to our office and near the metro. I would say the location is perfect

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jvschaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    87
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
25
9
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is a very new hotel in the technology park, even most taxi drivers had a hard time trying to find the location. The room was very clean and spacious. It has large bathroom with walk in shower.

The location is very convenience for business if your office is in the surrounding area. Other than that, the location is about 25-30 minute from city central; about a 15 minute walk line Line 9 subway. I would not recommend other hotels closer to city central if you are coming for vacation with family.

Breakfast has good selection, but after 5 night stays it gets boring due to lack of variations. The internet was free if you are a marriott reward member. Staff there were professional and polite.

Over all it is an excellent hotel for business say, by not for leisure solely due to location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTX_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I liked this Renaissance... The food was good, the rooms were nice, and it was convenient to work. Conference facilities were top notch. There seemed like a lot of staff for the number of visitors,and they were happy and helpful, but not always as attentive as you would expect from their number.

It's not convenient to downtown, but it is near Hongqiao and a subway that goes toward the Bund. Traffic as always in Shanghai was terrible.

Helpful?
Thank joeblo15
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pasig
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Quite a new hotel so the rooms are quite nice. More of a business oriented hotel as it is nearer a business area than the usual tourist attractions of Shanghai. Lobby bar has a lot of seating areas where you can have a chat and there's a particular area where you can have a semi private meeting away from the public area's view. The rooms are the usual new look with the see through bathroom, room service is quite quick. The breakfast buffet is ok, nothing exceptional - mainly Chinese and continental fare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilfcb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I recently stayed here for 5 nights for business (2nd time staying). It's convenient for some if you work in the high-tech park across the street (I do) but there's little else nearby. Some pros/cons:

Pros:
- Typical "over the top" lobby and reception area like most Western branded hotels in China. It's gorgeous and the staff is attentive and fast to respond to any requests.
- Check-in/out was efficient and easy. I was recognized with my Marriott status, etc but nothing else as far as upgrades, etc.
- Good corporate room rate with breakfast, wifi if you can get it
- Rooms are well-sized with nice amenities, toiletries, robes, etc.
- Very modern inside the rooms
- Good closet space, room safe, free (can be slow) wifi, hot pot for coffee and a French press
- Again, really nice for the quick walk across the street to the office building campus if you work there (Starbucks there, by the way)
- Good but pricey Korean restaurant provides a nice alternative to Canton food
- Breakfast buffet is typical ridiculousness with about everything you could imagine and food quality is good (German head chef so sanitation seems top notch). Get it with your room or the price is insane.
- Really good gym. Light on the free weights, but it's nice equipment, big and always dead inside. Fantastic huge pool, sauna and whirlpool with good hours.

Cons:
- There is simply nothing nearby, but taxis are cheap and easy. This is the largest negative.
- The bar is overpriced like most hotel bars, but it's more of a lobby bar and was reserved one night while we were there. This left us to having a beer in the buffet area. This hotel NEEDS a casual cocktail bar with TV's etc. I don't love the Champions bars in Marriott's but at least it's a casual respite where one can feel at home after 4-5 days in China.
- Taxi drivers don't know this hotel at all...bring info and hotel phone number in Chinese to help.
- I had a corner room once and the way the windows were designed, it left very little sound insulation to the room next door and I could hear the loudmouth next to me spilling out all kinds of confidential work info. I did not have such an issue in a non-corner room.
- Doors to room are loud and slam...walls aren't so thick. By 11-12 at night, all settles down.
- Build quality seems to be pretty weak, one closet wouldn't close and the light was always on, the shower door did not seal, one can't lock the bathroom door and most of the furniture was built using a soft wood that scratches/mars easily. I snapped the curtain pull rod in half as the rod was too weak for such heavy curtains... Windows can be drafty but curtains do a decent job of keeping it warm in the winter. These rooms will be well weathered and beat in 2 years max...

Incidentally, I received a huge chocolate torte cake with 2 nights left. No idea why unless it was for my Marriott status. It made me laugh as I ended up leaving 75% of it...a waste but a nice, if not out-of-touch, gesture. A drink or two at the bar would have been better...

Overall, a good choice as it is new...just plan on heading out every night once you've tried the Korean food once.

Room Tip: Stay away from corner rooms...bad sound insulation from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mks4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Came to SHanghai for a part business part family holiday, and we stayed at the Renaissance for around 3 days 3 nights. What I can say is wow, what a hotel! Fantastic build, great ambiance and one of the nicest looking hotels we've stayed with in a long time. Everything felt grand about it, though not overly grand. Service was good, Reception was extremely helpful in sorting out some issues we had (though the concierge's English needs to be better). Room service was good as well, and the rooms were quite good. My complain was that the pillows in the rooms were terrible, too small and I did have a slight back ache the next day.

I will most certainly recommend this hotel for those that have business near the IT Park, however it's quite far from anything so you're going to be taking a lot of taxis (so budget for that). If you're here for business and not sightseeing (we were), then this is the perfect hotel for you. However be aware that Shanghai traffic means you'll be on the road quite a bit since it's so far (around 30 mins to 1 hour from the CBD).

Oh also, the breakfast was really good and there was quite a decent selection (though the way the buffet was placed was a little odd).

A little pricey, but I would most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel is located in the middle of high tech campus. There are a lot of office building around and not much to do. But the metro is not so far to go to down town and the crossing of Gunmei and Caobao is also lively.
The hotel is brand new, and everything is very clean. The build of the hotel is really good and far better than anything i saw in my trip in north america for the same standing.
There is a lot of staff and they are jumping to help you in any circonstance.
I had to spend three weeks in this hotel. I was never bored with the breakfast that will charm anyone. Continental or asian, everybody can find his own pleasure. I really like the Wang restaurant. The staff there was really nice and the food amazing.
The lounge is also a nice alternative for smaller meal and drinks.
Overall i recommend this hotel if you have business to do in the vicinity. I will come back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertolomio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#17 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,317 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Pullman Shanghai South
#19 of 5,059 in Shanghai
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Address: No.397 Tianlin Road, Caohejing High-Tech Park, Shanghai 200233, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Caohejing Development Zone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Shanghai Caohejing Hi-Tech Park in the city’s Xuhui district, the area’s first international brand, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel accommodates both business and leisure guests with 373 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Suites, including Club Floor and Presidential Suite. Guests additionally benefit from a fully-staffed Business Center, 1,160m2 of fully �C equipped, Wi-Fi accessible meeting and event space; and four exceptional restaurants, Club Lounge and round-the-clock Room Service delivering the best in local and international cuisine. Relaxation and leisure options include 24-hour Fitness Center, indoor swimming pool and professional TOUCH SPA facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing