We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naam Thai

Naam Thai
Ranked #527 of 16,842 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Melbourne
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I ate here recently as we wanted to have a change from Chinese food. The service was excellent and English speaking and the menu extensive. The food was authentic, fresh and well presented and we were both delighted with our red curries and the pandan chicken we shared.

It was non smoking and the ambience was relaxed. We chose to eat inside but if you chose to eat outside, you join the smoking set!

Definitely would eat there again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Taste of Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Naam Thai is a casual resataurant in "the Loft" in Shanghai. The food is quite authentic, similar to Bangkok. We had Tom Yum soup which was nicely spicey. We also had a shrimp entre and of course Pad Thai. The service was very good, the food enjoyable, and the atmosphere was relaxed. We enjoyed dinner and would return when we are in the mood for Thai food. Gregg V

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but a bit price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had dinner here recently. The location is not great in Loft, it is a bit hidden away along Jianguo rd.
Environment good, clean and neat with a number of outdoor tables as well, we sat inside though. It is smoke free inside (good!).
Service was prompt and attentive, it can help that it was not very busy.
Food overall good, the curry we had a bit weak on flavor but the other dishes very tasty and the ones marked as spicy had a good amount of spice to them. Favorite dish was the morning glory.
Price was a bit on the high side though even as the portions were healthy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zebbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mane, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Shanghai so far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was advised by a Thai friend in Shanghai to try Naam Thai as food is really good.

We did. And that's true, food is as good as in Thailand, actually even better than in some restaurant in Thailand...

Tom Yam Kung is just perfect, lemon grass, kalanga, fresh shrimps, spicy but not too much, a real hit.
Tom Sam, my wife's favorite, is well presented, quantity is generous and tastes just great.
My Pad Thai was better than the one I had in Bangkok two weeks ago.

They claim that they do not use MSG and I believe it, cause I couldn't sense any, and THAT's GOOD ! Only restaurants able to create natural flavors can forget about MSG (Mono Sodium Glutamate)

The restaurant is pretty small with a mix of few small tables and some long ones. No smoking inside, but when weather is getting better, you may sit outside.
Staff was friendly and helpful.

We've tried about 70% of Thai restaurants in Shanghai, Naam Thai is clearly not the most classy one, but this is the best Thai food so far.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnaud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, yummy food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is one of my favorite spots in Shanghai. The interior of the restaurant is so beautiful and welcoming, an all around beautiful ambiance. We always get the spring rolls and then chicken with holy basil, amazing! Great Thai coffee as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank starryeyed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naam Thai also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Naam Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing