We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but perhaps not the BEST”

Ding Tai Fung (Yuyuan Garden)
Ranked #196 of 16,962 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good but perhaps not the BEST”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I did like the dumplings here but I feel they were perhaps overhyped. I feel far cheaper, tastier dumplings can be found around Shanghai, but I suppose it is all a matter of taste (I prefer dumplings with vegetables and less 'juice'). I would not have queued very long for this place, and the service was not brilliant as it took us quite a while to get a soup dumpling.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    44
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent xiolong bao”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had an excellent lunch - the dumplings were incredible - especially the steamed pork and the shrimp/pork/sitcky rice. But the hot and sour soup, sticky pork buns, green beans and fried rice were all delicious as well.

Our server was incredibly friendly and professional and we found the whole experience easy, seamless and fun. So glad we went.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorld109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Again!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We went here a few days after eating at Ding Tai Fung in Xiantandi and found it presented the same outstanding quality of food and exceptional service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank markm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Go here... if you want the worst experience of your life!!!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Visited here for a last meal in china before flying home.

The two foot long hair in the broccoli should have been enough to send us on our way, but with a checkout and long cab ride to the airport ahead, we persisted. After waiting for over 30 minutes for our dumplings to come, we finally received them.

We were underwhelmed with the taste and cost but the true shock came 6 hours later as our plane levelled out somewhere over the east china sea....

what came next was 12 hours of absolute horror as our bodies tried to purge all remnants of those fateful mushroom dumplings out of whatever orifice they could.

So please trip advisor... allow zero stars or better yet negative stars as this is the only meal that cost me not only 397 RMB but 6 kg of my and my wife's body mass and made an entire Boeing 777 a very unpleasant place to be. Even typing the word mushroom still makes me want to be ill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gibbo623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Love the service, the food and the environment. My husband is a loyal fan to this place. They have own kit for the kids which we highly appreciate. Not the cheapest but definitely amongst the most popular and best for tourists.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keiswang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ding Tai Fung (Yuyuan Garden) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Ding Tai Fung (Yuyuan Garden)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing