We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dumplings to die for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ding Tai Fung (Yuyuan Garden)

Ding Tai Fung (Yuyuan Garden)
Ranked #140 of 16,842 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Poole Dorset
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Dumplings to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Hidden in an odd area ,we walked from our hotel on the bund. Once found we were treated very well . The dumplings were amazing with good service added ,we had a great evening. Good value as well

Helpful?
1 Thank Familydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I worked in China for 3 months and this was the best meal I had. I went pretty often and I didn't even live in Shanghai; I lived over in Suzhou. There's another location east of Los Angeles that is just as amazing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant dumplings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I've been to the Yu Yuan branch of this chain twice now and each time the dumplings have been superb. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak some English, a help if all you can say is 'Cold beer' and 'Thank you'.
Possibly not the cheapest dumpling restaurant but the quality is excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phizz_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good as always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went in search of this restaurant because we enjoy the branch in So CA so much. We were able to get a table during the busy lunch hour without a reservation and very much enjoyed our meal. But I must say, I prefer the California location more for the small, broth filled dumplings. They seemed to be more flavorful than those we had in Shanghai.

Service was very efficient and all the staff were extremely friendly. A good choice when you are visiting YuYuan Gardens - less of a wait than other dumpling restaurants there, and clean, western toilets

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JinFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“The ultimate place for some serious dumplings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This restaurant is part of the Ding Tai Fung chain that has around six places in Shanghai and many more in cities around the Pacific Rim. Food and service are op notch. The taste of these dumplings must be experienced in person since it is impossible to describe it in words. Simply delicious, awesome and addictive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ding Tai Fung (Yuyuan Garden) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Ding Tai Fung (Yuyuan Garden)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing