We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice service, poor food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa 700 - CLOSED

Casa 700
Price range: $18 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Xintiandi
Description: Casa 700 is a traditional Spanish Restaurant offering the best in our time-honoured culinary art, a menu filled with genuinely Spanish textures and flavours, and the chance to savour top quality meats and seafood imported directly from Spain. At Casa 700 you will find two distinct environments, each with its own ambience and captivating in its own way. First, a dining area where families, couples and friends can take time to enjoy a long evening meal. Second, our casual Tapas Bar, serving the most iconic Spanish tapas – just the place for after-work gatherings.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice service, poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I would have loved to be positive about this place because everybody was so very friendly. The service is as attentive as in a good five star and the overall setting is very nice. Unfortunately the food is not up to the mark. We had one of the menus. The starters were mostly cold and too many fried dishes in one plate. The main course, paella was dried out and fairly tasteless. The fish stew was a little better but also lacked taste. The deserts were mediocre at best. Sadly, I have to say a nice place with great service but poor food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spechtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa700, Propietario at Casa 700, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Spechtje,

First of all Casa 700 would like to thank you about your feedback. We are so sorry to hear your comments. All our dishes are low salted and MGS free, so we recommend to all our guests to add more salt to find the perfect taste. We are improving all the matters you told us. Again our sincerely thanks for your comments that are making Casa 700 serves you the greatest traditional Spanish food inShanghai.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real excellent spanish cooking at average prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I went with my family to lunch to Casa700 after 7 moths living in Shanghai and we really should came before, in Casa 700 you can find real spanish ciusine without any mixture and fusion, at a competitive price and excellent service.
The paella is superb, the "croquetas" make you cry, incredible tasty. Service is western style, no fight to get the white at the correct temperature, slow food, they let you time enough to enjoy every dish. We will come back every fortnight to enjoy its tasty spanish cuisine.

Helpful?
Thank Pedroflb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Casa700, Propietario at Casa 700, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Pedro,

Thank you very much for your visit. We import our ingredients mainly from Spain, so our customers can be delighted with the best Spanish flavour with a reasonable price. We recommend you to try our Roasted Lamb or the Whole Suckling Pig, please ask us in advance.

Hope to welcome you at Casa very soon.

Best regards,


CASA 700 SPANISH RESTAURANT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,119 reviews
857 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,348 helpful votes
“Do try this new Spanish restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a relatively new Spanish restaurant on the Shanghai scene, having opened for about six months. The service is excellent, from the moment you are greeted by Adrianna at the door, to when you depart with a small gift pouch of two delicious chocolates. And the food matches the service. The starter of poached egg with truffle oil was delicate yet full of flavour, and the duck with poached pear left me wishing there was more. The king blue crab with mushrooms was good, if a little mushy, while the curd with honey and nuts was a nice ending. The Chilean wine served was a little young, but was nicely chilled. All in all, it was an excellent lunch and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa700, Propietario at Casa 700, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Orator11,

We are happy to see that you felt our passion for food and wines. We would like to welcome you soon and try our new seasonal traditional dishes and our new wines from Spain.
Thank you very much for comments that keep Casa 700 improving everyday.


Best regards,

CASA 700 SPANISH RESTAURANT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“excellent spanish food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

authentic spanish food in Shanghai, excellent seafood and paella. good service and in general a great place to have a relaxing meal with friends. the bar area is particularly nice with the high tables and a very spanish atmosphere. definitely worth going!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MRGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa700, Propietario at Casa 700, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear MRGLondon,

Thank you very much for your visit and the time to give us your feedback. Next time don´t forget to try our Juicy Lobster Rice that will bring you the best Spanish flavour. We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,


CASA 700 SPANISH RESTAURANT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I celebrated my birthday with friends in Casa700 in Jan. The food are authentic and delicious, we love the pan fried seafood rice ( good enough for two hungry young men) and the spanish omelette. Yummy...The wine we choose is in a very reasonable price, overall compare with the other Spanish restaurant in town, this is the most value for money one ! Besides, I received a little surprise from the lovely Chef, it make our dinner even more memorable, we will go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mummy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa700, Propietario at Casa 700, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Mummy Z,

Welcome again to Casa!! Thank you for making us better everytime. Right now we have new seasonal dishes that will keep you in the Spanish track. Chef Abel is waiting to prepare the best dishes to make your dine memorable.

Best regards,


CASA 700 SPANISH RESTAURANT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa 700 also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing