We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of half a lifetime”

Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet
Ranked #6 of 17,655 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $582 - $873
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Conceived by Paul Pairet since 1996 and opened in May 2012, Ultraviolet is the first restaurant of its kind uniting food with multi-sensorial technologies in order to create a fully immersive dining experience. A single table of ten seats only. A dining room of high-end technology. A 20-course "Avant-Garde" set menu. All guests sit together. The experience unfolds as a play. Food leads. Each course is enhanced with its own taste-tailored atmosphere: lights, sounds, music, scents, projection, images and imagination... And food.
Reviewed January 22, 2015

Time flew so quickly it could be March 2013 or 2014 when we dined at UV the 4 of us (2 couples), with the remaining 6 guests having flown in specially from HK for the occasion. At that time we were served Menu A and PP was still working on Menu B in an adjoining lab. We have been long-time clients of MMBund and knew the manager and older serving staff and it was through them that we obtained our places otherwise it would have been almost impossible to do so. The dining room is situated away from the chic Bund and it consists of a room with a long table with 2 rows of 5 seats (spaced apart making it not too easy to make conversation during the meal) facing each other. Your name is flashed on the table when you arrive. The meal was a total experience consisting of not just the 20-odd dishes paired with drinks, but also sound, light and images. It's something you have to try for yourself, I would just say that it was impressive, very creative, knowledgeable and we've enjoyed it immensely. We have been to many restaurants and some really good ones in many parts of the world and this was a unique experience that PP worked passionately for after a stint at Jade on 36 (another "favourite" joint of ours) followed by MM Bund. Before we leave Shanghai we should try his other menu, though now with the RMB appreciating like crazy and the menu going up to 3000rmb pax it's not a small expense. This was like the total opposite of our dining in the dark experience and in both cases I guess food is not just for the stomach nor the palette, but also for reflection. I would recommend that you give UV by PP a try if you can afford it.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Petales88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 202 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2014

Arriving in Mr & Mrs Bund to be greeted by Sascha (your host) and a few glasses of cider does not really prepare you for what lies ahead.

The mystery bus transfer to the actual restaurant, located I don't know where, leaves you in a quite dingy, industrial looking car park where your host departs and informs you to ring the bell.

Stepping into the dark room, with a heavy base line reverberating through your whole body, anxiety and doubts began to form that the RMB5000 a head we had paid for this experience may have been a big joke, a joke well and truly on us.

Well let me tell you, from the minute we entered the room, and found or names projected onto the table Ultraviolet spent the next 4 hours and 22 courses taking all that anxiety and doubt and, well, doing a big wee all over it.

It's kind of like Walt Disney remade A Clockwork Orange and set it in the best restaurant ever. Can’t imagine that? I guess that’s kind of the point. Never have I been to a restaurant where all the patrons were beaming with smiles from beginning to end, and the staff all seemed so genuinely happy to be there. It’s almost sickening really!

Trust me, save up, rob a bank, pretend you have cancer and start a fake charity - it doesn't matter if your friends and family disown you - it's worth it.
You too will be able to say you paid 5000 kwai for the honour of allowing Paul Pairet and Ultraviolet to take a big, anxiety dousing wee all over you.

You will never forget it, and it was worth every penny!

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank kevindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2014

- And yet?
The concept of UV could be taken to New York, Paris, London, ?
And it would conquer even more worlds. The world deserves places like this which takes dining and wining to a TOTALLY different level. To me - food/wine alone - can only be taken to a certain level. The atmosphere and the setting is very important. And this is what UV is capable of.

This is my first review of a restaurant ever. Why? I have to say that this is by far the best "eating experience" I had EVER.
UltraViolet isn´t really "just" a restaurant. It would not be fair to say, even though the food was the most delicious and brilliant courses combined with excitement, thrilling sounds, smells, lights and much, much more….
From the start after you go from Mr. & Mrs Bund and you arrive in a back alley, knock in the door, enter… well, I should´t tell too much, because everybody should have this experience.
I can say - though - that the 25 people in the team of the famous genius Paul Pairet did an EXCELLENT job. The main host Sascha did a truly amazing job to make you fell welcome, as well as Lucy and the rest of the team did a fantastic job to make you enjoy. The best part was the non-snobbish way and very professional way they behaved, told about the wines, dishes etc.
I can´t wait to go back!

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Claus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2014

This is truly unique. No, it's not cheap, but believe me - it is worth it! Chef Paul's food is magical, the service is really sophisticated, funny and perfected into every detail and the rest is just not comparable to anything you've ever done. Total 'total dining' experience is a must! My recommendation is to go for menu A first and menu B for the second time (which you will book!).

Date of visit: October 2014
4  Thank Diederik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2014

After hearing about UV for some years now, we finally got two seats one Saturday night in October. We came with pretty high expectations, worried that we would be disappointed.
But we weren’t... The food, the atmosphere, the setting, the surroundings, the staff - if was just fun, fun, fun. When the evening was over I had a strange kind of headache. It was from having a huge smile on my face through the 22 course meal!
This is the place to experience if you are a big foodie and lover of the unexpected. It’s pricy and hard to get a table - but we didn’t regret going there for a second!

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank CathinkaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing