We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"When Alexander saw the breadth of his domain, he wept for there were no more worlds to conquer."”

Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet
Ranked #6 of 17,655 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $582 - $873
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Conceived by Paul Pairet since 1996 and opened in May 2012, Ultraviolet is the first restaurant of its kind uniting food with multi-sensorial technologies in order to create a fully immersive dining experience. A single table of ten seats only. A dining room of high-end technology. A 20-course "Avant-Garde" set menu. All guests sit together. The experience unfolds as a play. Food leads. Each course is enhanced with its own taste-tailored atmosphere: lights, sounds, music, scents, projection, images and imagination... And food.
Reviewed November 29, 2014

- And yet?
The concept of UV could be taken to New York, Paris, London, ?
And it would conquer even more worlds. The world deserves places like this which takes dining and wining to a TOTALLY different level. To me - food/wine alone - can only be taken to a certain level. The atmosphere and the setting is very important. And this is what UV is capable of.

This is my first review of a restaurant ever. Why? I have to say that this is by far the best "eating experience" I had EVER.
UltraViolet isn´t really "just" a restaurant. It would not be fair to say, even though the food was the most delicious and brilliant courses combined with excitement, thrilling sounds, smells, lights and much, much more….
From the start after you go from Mr. & Mrs Bund and you arrive in a back alley, knock in the door, enter… well, I should´t tell too much, because everybody should have this experience.
I can say - though - that the 25 people in the team of the famous genius Paul Pairet did an EXCELLENT job. The main host Sascha did a truly amazing job to make you fell welcome, as well as Lucy and the rest of the team did a fantastic job to make you enjoy. The best part was the non-snobbish way and very professional way they behaved, told about the wines, dishes etc.
I can´t wait to go back!

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Claus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 202 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2014

This is truly unique. No, it's not cheap, but believe me - it is worth it! Chef Paul's food is magical, the service is really sophisticated, funny and perfected into every detail and the rest is just not comparable to anything you've ever done. Total 'total dining' experience is a must! My recommendation is to go for menu A first and menu B for the second time (which you will book!).

Date of visit: October 2014
4  Thank Diederik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2014

After hearing about UV for some years now, we finally got two seats one Saturday night in October. We came with pretty high expectations, worried that we would be disappointed.
But we weren’t... The food, the atmosphere, the setting, the surroundings, the staff - if was just fun, fun, fun. When the evening was over I had a strange kind of headache. It was from having a huge smile on my face through the 22 course meal!
This is the place to experience if you are a big foodie and lover of the unexpected. It’s pricy and hard to get a table - but we didn’t regret going there for a second!

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank CathinkaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2014

We discover this place by accident, and what a great discovery it is.
We enjoyed one of our best evening dinner in a restaurant.
Everything, every detail are so amazing.
The food is delicious, of course, there are many many dishes, with a new wine each time but when you live you have not eaten neither drunk to much :)
What really worth the experience is the whole concept: the music, the decor, the service.
You are 10 guests. You also exchange with the other guests, and that's very nice.

What I preferred was the sound experience.
I am french, living in Shanghai, and I also enjoy the very french atmosphere. There is really something very special there.

I highly recommend to try UV.

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MargueriteDep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is number one in shanghai on trip advisor absolutely im agree with food and service side, but its really overpriced , it should be at least reasonable.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
22  Thank helengorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing