We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever!”

Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet
Ranked #6 of 17,655 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $582 - $873
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Conceived by Paul Pairet since 1996 and opened in May 2012, Ultraviolet is the first restaurant of its kind uniting food with multi-sensorial technologies in order to create a fully immersive dining experience. A single table of ten seats only. A dining room of high-end technology. A 20-course "Avant-Garde" set menu. All guests sit together. The experience unfolds as a play. Food leads. Each course is enhanced with its own taste-tailored atmosphere: lights, sounds, music, scents, projection, images and imagination... And food.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The experience at Ultraviolet was amazing. The food was of course wonderful but all the evening itself, the food and the ambiance, was just fantastic. They have different options, I did option B (UVB) which is a more culinary experience (haute gastronomie) , UVA is more "recreative", but obviously food is still the best I ever had. I highly recommend it, at least once in your life. You will never forget this culinary and magic experience.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank NoeF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 202 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

It will sound cliche, and perhaps trite, but this was without a doubt the best meal I have ever eaten. The food was beyond fantastic and amazing. I had the single best bite of food that's ever entered my mouth in a bread, truffle, butter dish. The food did not overwhelm the sensory experience, which was really cool. The staff was superb and extremely friendly. Meeting the chefs at the end was an very nice treat. Turns out the head chef on our night is from Columbus, OH so we had a connection with him being from Ohio.

There really is no way to describe the evening and do it justification. You simply must try it though. I could not recommend a restaurant more.

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank skline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Incredible experience, from start to the end.
It's a whole sensory experience, be prepared to be surprised, amazed, not only by the food but by the overall event.
Can't wait to go back.
We were just 2 of us, and actually it was great to be with other people we did not know.

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank CasaSari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I was blown away by the food let alone the overall dining experience. Seriously one of the coolest restaurants I've ever eaten at. HIGHLY recommend!

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

When it comes to food, I can turn crazy. UV is probably the best food experience you can have nowadays. This is way more than just another gastro restaurant. You will not regret, you will not forgot !

It's been 2 month I have been there, whenever I hear about it I feel like passing another booking.

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Fabricedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing