We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Make Sure you don't Miss this One. Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet

Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet
Somewhere in Shanghai, Shanghai 200070, China (The Bund)
Website
Name/address in local language
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 13,916 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $598 - $898
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Bund
Description: Conceived by Paul Pairet for over 15 years and opened in May 2012, Ultraviolet is the first restaurant of its kind uniting food with multi-sensorial technologies in order to create a fully immersive dining experience. A single table of ten seats only. A dining room of high-end technology. A 20-course "Avant-Garde" set menu. All guests sit together. The experience unfolds as a play. Food leads. Each course is enhanced with its own taste-tailored atmosphere: lights, sounds, music, scents, projection, images and imagination... And food.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Make Sure you don't Miss this One. Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

As said by other reviewers, being too descriptive about the experience can affect the outcome when you visit, but take our word for it, this is not the Top-Rated Shanghai restaurant on Tripadvisor by chance, and I'm sure it's there to stay.

Ultraviolet encompasses a 10-guests Taste - Visual - Auditive experience that is, to me, unique and never heard of.

Food is quite good, with up and downs across the Tasting Menu (nothing to chooose from, except if you are allergic to, say, oysters). I found the wines paired to the food to be clearly below average, though.

My only other remark would be that the whole experience lasts 5 hours +, from 7pm onwards, which can be a challenge if you need to work the next day. As you might know, there is a very long waiting list that forces you to reserve 3 months in advance, so you can pretty much assume that yyour "experience" might fall in the midle of the work week.

Kudos to Chef Peiret and his Team.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonioShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Make sure you go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is probably the most unique dining experience in the world. I won't go into detail as surprise is important but it was a wow evening and one I will not forget unlike many of the meals I have had including the overpriced French Laundry in Napa.
It takes dining to a different level and in a few years has to become one if not the top restaurant in the world.
So if you are planning a trip to Shanghai then book it and if you cannot get a booking then fit your dates to when you can. It was that good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David&Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Good value good experience ! here is the best restaurant in my life!!! and only one restaurant made me wanna eat everything!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoshida_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a unique experience for all senses! Worth every penny, you will find no better and more unique dining event in Sh and probably also not in other places of the world. Also, very personal service and a staff which make you feelmthat they are proud to work for UV!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went in December 2012. It was simply an amazing night from beginning to end. The food (which is fantastic) is just a part of the whole sensurory experience. It costs alot but is well worth it. I cannot recommend Ultra Violet enough

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing