We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet”

Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet
Ranked #6 of 17,655 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $582 - $873
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Conceived by Paul Pairet since 1996 and opened in May 2012, Ultraviolet is the first restaurant of its kind uniting food with multi-sensorial technologies in order to create a fully immersive dining experience. A single table of ten seats only. A dining room of high-end technology. A 20-course "Avant-Garde" set menu. All guests sit together. The experience unfolds as a play. Food leads. Each course is enhanced with its own taste-tailored atmosphere: lights, sounds, music, scents, projection, images and imagination... And food.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Having worked in the Hospitality industry and luxury Gastronomy all my life, I'm happy to say that I have had the opportunity to taste delicious food all around the world. Yet, Ultraviolet has been the absolute crescendo, the best gastronomical experience ever.
We have known Paul Pairet from his days at Jade 36 and were immediately fascinated by his skills and creativity. We followed him many times at Mr & Mrs Bund where Paul and Fabian continued to surprise us with incredible dishes and a great atmosphere.
We were waiting with them for several years for the opening of Ultraviolet and travelled from Brussels to Shanghai for the experience at table 102.
We were simply amazed about the best culinary experience ever and join the accolades of prior reviews.
Paul, so good to know you. You are the best!
Paul Tribolet
Former Senior Vice President, Food & Beverage Starwood Hotels & Resorts

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 144 of 202 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'll spare the description of the experience, but suffice to say that it is an experience that excites your five senses. We had over 20 courses, and after every course, you are looking forward to the next course. From the presentation, taste, and smell of the course, all the way to the music, and images that accompanied the course is well choreographed and superb. Well worth it but you need to book way in advance!

Date of visit: October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Everything written about this experience is an understatement. We had the honor of being Table 88 .... Very lucky # in chinese culture... No luck involved in the epicurean experience...all skill and preparation. Every detail has been thought through several times to approach perfection... Including impeccably professional service that deserves applause. Fabien, our host, guided us through the introductions of each service and participated with the serving team. Everyone was served simultaneously and presented with a map of the origins of the ingredients and the best method of experiencing the dish. An unforgettable, truly intimate sensory experience fusing sound, visual, taste and smell. The intimacy of 10 diners made it a "family affair" with strangers.
1) worth the wait (for seating to be available)
2) worth the ¥
3) worth the anticipation (exceeds expectations)

2  Thank mburroughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What else can I say? Different from any other place, surprising, delicious, exquisite....
Worth the experience.
A night (6 hours!) to remember.

2  Thank ML2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

There's no words to describe the feeling of 22 individual dishes , accompanied by mood perfect music and walls that come alive with images. Even if you were to eat this food on the side of the road, it would already be the best in China. But since you're in a totally unique space, you literally will never ever forget this meal. Bravo.
Must be a San Pelligrino top 10 this year

Warning - getting a seat is near impossible

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank asia6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing