We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Tour and Cooking Class”

Cook In Shanghai homestyle Chinese cooking classes- Private Cooking Class
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Chinese Cooking Class and Wet Market Visit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cook In Shanghai organizes Chinese cooking classes and Cooking activities for big groups in Shanghai to introduce you to real local culture. Our regular group classes and private events all let you choose your own recipes, include a visit to the local wet market, and allow hands-on training for each participant. (Our recipes never use MSG.)
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Historic Tour and Cooking Class”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I had an excellent time on this tour and cooking class on my recent trip to Shanghai. I had one free day and this was a great way to spend it. We started off with a wet market tour with Cherry where she told us about many of the vegetables and animals there. She also had an iPad with her to show us photos of how the foreign plants grow as well. We then went on a 1.5 hour walking tour of the French Concession area, and stopped to try some steamed buns in a local restaurant. We then went to a local person's home for the cooking lesson with Helen. We were not in a modern apartment - we cooked in a kitchen that is shared between two families and did most of the prep work in a table in a communal courtyard. It felt like a really authentic experience because the local grandmas and grandpas were playing with their grandchildren in the courtyard and stopped in to evaluate our steamed bun making and chatted with us with the help of Helen, our teacher. The cooking lesson lasted a few hours and we were able to cook three dishes! Kung Po Chicken, Steamed pork dumplings and steamed shrimp dumplings. Helen gave us a copy of the recipes as well to try at home later. We were also really involved in the cooking - this is not a sit back and watch class - it's a DO class, which was great.

Overall, I couldn't believe the value of this tour - 6.5 hours and a really authentic experience all for $72 USD?? Crazy! I will have great memories of this experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Starcloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    13
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious wet market tour and cooking class.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We did a great cooking class that started at 2pm and went until about 6:30pm. We started with a wet market tour in which Cherry explained all the local fresh veggies. She even had all the photos on an iPad which made it easy to translate. Then we went back to Helen's apartment and were shown how to prepare the 4 dishes that we had chosen by a professional chef and then we got to cook them ourselves. Then the best part...tasting our work!! Any extras we got to take home. My friends and I had a lot of fun and learned a lot even after living here for over 2 years. We highly recommend this class.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank carlaschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cooking Class with Children.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We did this cooking class with some visitors from home and our three children. The ladies were great in choosing dishes that the children could join in with, and were not at all phased when we run over schedule due to children being slower. We altered the amount of spices for the less adventurous and left out the meat for vegetarians.....

A fantastic experience, although our dumpling shapes were not that professional!!!

Thank you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayplanner25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic time in Shanghai with Helen and Cherry”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We took part in Helen's cooking class a few days ago and had a great time.

It started off with a tour of a local meat and veg market where all the local produce was explained and how it's cooked. Our guide ,Cherry, was very knowledgable about all of the produce for sale

We then went back to Helen's apartment where we cooked some steamed fish, dumplings and chatted about Chinese culture, food and everyday life.

The girls were very good, nice and relaxed but still an eye on time.

I would recommend to everybody visiting Shanghai. Fantastic thing to do.

Thanks
Gwyn & Linzi

Helpful?
Thank Gwynswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great class - informative, laid back, fun! If you enjoy trying new foods and enjoy cooking, this class is definitely worth a try!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rgabel0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook In Shanghai homestyle Chinese cooking classes- Private Cooking Class also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Cook In Shanghai homestyle Chinese cooking classes- Private Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing