We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fine hotel with brand-new equipments and we'll trained staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Ranked #45 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“fine hotel with brand-new equipments and we'll trained staffs”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed three nights in business trip.
The hotel size is medium, only five floors for guest rooms.
I love this hotel by following points.
- enough room space
- fine king size bed
- complementary espresso machine (Nespresso) and fine Chinese tea
- complementary room bar (only non alcohol and local beers)
- good English speaking staff
- Nice breakfast, local and western taste

But the location is not good for foreigners.
view from room was terrible, I didn't open curtains during my staing
the area looks like residential
no shopping place and fine dinings I couldn't find

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank デモン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12_at_Hengshan_LC, General Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinions. We are glad you enjoyed your three nights stay over all. And we are sorry you found our location not convenient . Twelve at Hengshan chose this location to offer indigenous experiences to guests and we do encourage our guests to explore local area for cluture and history adventure. Hengshan Road is the core area of former French Concession and our hotel is surrounded by boutiques, galleries, restaurants and historical sites, etc. We are truly sorry we failed to deliver this message and help you to find the shopping and dining options nearby. We will conduct more training and to ensure you a better experience next time you visit Twelve at Hengshan.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    72
    34
    14
    10
See reviews for
46
51
35
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a modern feel to it and modern Chinese decor. I stay here whenever I come to Shanghai as it is in a great location for bars, restaurants and walking. It is right above a Metro station and taxis are plentiful, even on rainy Friday nights.
There are a few details that could be better, such as more options for the lighting and power outlets beside the beds, but again, the location and ease of transport outweigh any slight imperfections.
The breakfast is good and is a combo of Western, Chinese and Japanese influences.
Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Absolut_foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12_at_Hengshan_LC, General Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for letting us know your comments. We are glad that you like our location and you do enjoy your stay here. We do value your helpful suggestions which will surely improve our products.

We look forward to your next visit to Shanghai and Twelve at Hengshan.

Sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is very luxurious and centrally located in Shanghai. I had a positive experience staying here and would stay again for future visits.

Pro:
- Got upgraded to a grand suite
- Free Nespresso coffee and fruits/snacks upon entry
- Free happy hour between 6-8pm
- Great pool and decent gym (lack of towels in the locker room, however)
- Great service - got me a taxi quickly

Cons:
- The entertainment system is extremely difficult to use. I could not get my iPhone attached to the audio system so I was unable to leverage it. I also asked the staff to come upstairs and help me fix it, but they did not come (surprising)
- The room is too technologically advanced. It will take some time to learn the system and turn on/off the lights. They are all controlled through different switches and it gets very confusing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertoW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12_at_Hengshan_LC, General Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinions with us. We are honored to learn that you had a pleasant stay at Twelve at Hengshan. We do feel proud of our pool and gym, and we will make sure you get enough towels in locker room next time.

As for the system problems you mentioned, we will conduct more taining to our ambassadors and to make sure they explain to guests how does the system work upon check in. Hope you could see our improvement next time you come back.

Again, thanks for sharing your valuable comments. We sincerely look forward to your next visit to Twelve at Hengshan.

Sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

It's a great hotel with excellent location, surrounded by numerous bars and restaurants. Very convenient location and comfort designs. It was a surprise that we were lucky enough to get free upgrade to a room with courtyard. Nice swimming pool. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend people go to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xujing L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12_at_Hengshan_LC, General Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It's our great honor that you do enjoy your stay at Twelve at Hengshan. Our hotel is designed by world renowned designers and the swimming pool is definitely a highlight, you are more than welcome to come back and discover some more design details.

We look forward to your next visit to Twelve at Hengshan.

Sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
388 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location. There is dining and entertainment galore within a very close walk. After this it was downhill from there. At check in the staff was cold an unfriendly. The lobby has more of an office complex feel than that of a facility that you will be relaxing at. Being Platinum SPG members my wife and I were upgraded to a suite. To our surprise when we entered the room the carpet was worn to the point that the pile was gone in the high traffic area. The carpet was also stained in many areas and lifting at the point it met the tile. Lastly for the carpet it had not been vacuumed in a long time as there were many large particles and dirt on the carpet. When we brought these issues to the attention of the management they were apathetic. The best solution offered was a bottle of wine. i guess if drunk enough we may not notice the shortcomings. No one ever came up to vacuum the room. The rooms are large but the feeling of being in an office rather than comfortable room carried through from the lobby. On the positive side the bed, pillows and linens are excellent. The bathroom and shower are also quite nice with good toiletries. There are other properties in Shanghai in the same cost / luxury grade that do indeed hit on all levels. Especially service. If you have stayed at other Luxury Collection hotels within SPG you would see this place does not meet the label. Yes there is some technology and yes it a great location but luxury starts with servive and cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12_at_Hengshan_LC, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are truly sorry you weren't quite satisfy with our service and cleanliness during your stay. Hotel management team has paid highly attention to your helpful comments. We will conduct more training regarding customer service in future and maintain a high standard of cleanliness. We hope you could see our improvement next time.

Once again, I apologize for our failure of offering good service and products to you and your wife.

Sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

It is a great hotel wiz outstanding services and clean facilities that brought me a pretty nice memory.I stayed here for three nights and enjoyed every minute here thanks to the warm services.I really love this place as well as Shanghai.It will be a brilliant chioce for me to stay here again during my next trip to Shanghai.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittenjessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12_at_Hengshan_LC, General Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinions. It's our great honor that you enjoyed your stay at Twelve at Hengshan. We will maintain the warm services and keep improving our products. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai soon.

Sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good location and excellent service. It is located on hengshan road, which is very quite. I was recommended by me friend who had gone to shanghai before. The room is clean and elegant, and people there are feiendly. I would like to choose this hotel again if i have chance to visit shanghai one more time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiewoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12_at_Hengshan_LC, General Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for letting us know you have a nice stay. We are gratitude to your compliments on our location, facilities and employee. We will continuously improve our products and services to ensure you a better experience next time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Twelve at Hengshan soon.

Sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#49 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#24 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai

Property: Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Address: 12 Hengshan Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Shanghai’s cosmopolitan area, Twelve at Hengshan is surrounded by restaurants, cafés, boutiques, galleries, and restored art-deco buildings. Experience a haven of urban chic on the renowned tree-lined Hengshan Road. Traditional Chinese hospitality melds with contemporary amenities. Work out in our state-of-the-art health club, enjoy a refreshing swim in the heated indoor pool, be pampered in the spa, and savor authentic Cantonese and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing