We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Ranked #48 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great business trip”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed in September for a business trip. We had a conference at the hotel.The hotel arranged for the transportation from the airport. The driver called ahead when we were approaching the hotel so check in was a breeze, completed in the room itself. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The room was quite large as was the bathroom. I loved the coffee/espresso machine. The toilet was a trip as others mentioned, although I could not figure out how to turn off the heat. The food and service was very good. The breakfast buffet had several options to choose from accommodating all types of preferences for food. The only complaint was the wifi. I had troubles using it with VPN together. At the end of the trip I discovered hard wire accessories in one of the beautiful lacquered boxes that I could have used. During checkout, I realized that I had left my phone in the room. Someone was kind enough to go search for me without any issues at all, brought my phone down to me. Overall great stay.

Room Tip: rooms facing the courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zacharys_m0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review and feedback on your recent stay with us, we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have lived up to your expectations. As to the problems you mentioned, our team will take effort to improve service and will provide you with a better experience when the next trip takes you back to Shanghai!


Yours sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    72
    34
    14
    10
See reviews for
46
51
35
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This newly built low-rise hotel, about 9mo. old at the time of this review, boasts beautifully finished rooms with great comfort and gadgets. From a toilet seat hat welcomes you with open arms (no kidding, the lid just opens for your as you approach) to the JBL iPod clock (4 series compatible), to the surround sound from a great flatscreen Samsung, to the wonderful WiFi service free throughout, it made for a wonderful stay. Everyone went out of their way to welcome you. Specifically, i would like to recognize Virgina (concierge), and Frank from the front desk staff - keep up the great work!

As you head for breakfast, be sure to check out the outside seating area. Although service lacks, it's a wonderful retreat to start your day.

This location does not lack restaurant options. Whithin walking distance, and For a fun and western-like atmosphere, check-out Shanghai Brewery for a great beer (they had my Duvel - Belgian) and OK sports bar food.

This was a nice change from my usual stay at JW Marriott. I recommend you give it a try, it will not disappoint.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JYG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai.

It is such a pleasure to see your great review shared on Tripadvisor.com. We would like to express our gratitude to your compliments on our staff and facilities. Your compliments and encouragement will enable us to further motivate all of us here to continue to strive for higher and better stands.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Twelve at Hengshan.


Yours sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent service and smiling staff who are very helpful. Rooms are excellent and well equiped. enjoyed my stay. I recommend it if you want good value for money in a nice area of Shanghai. the beds were very comfortabe, meeting rooms were large and accomodated for a large number of people.
access to the hotel was also easy from variosu parts of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Conclusion: this time better than last time. and getting better. i really like this hotel a lot. (yes there are still issues, but it is getting better each time. just be sure to tell it to the management directly) Highly recommend! but this time I had some issues with the doorman so i go with four stars. (which management fixed after the stay)

This stay: Another follow up stay as I really like this hotel .1 nights. room was courtyard view (junior) suite. super peaceful. no noise whatsoever.

Pros: great location. hardware is perfect.

Considerations: software. this time the staff was better, but doorman had some issues i had to sort out. also the whole property still has a bit empty feeling but i actually like it.

No Comments: Spa, massage

About me: East asian male, based in Hong Kong, travels for business and pleasure 100-150 nights a year (most Asia), SPG platinum 75

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeadventurelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

#receptionist front desk attitude didnt look too happy nor welcoming upon our checking in.
#as an spg member they were supposed to ask us the option for breakfast or points or other options for us to choose.
#after having to ask if breakfast is included, then, the receptionist gave us the option.
#when all done for check in, we just realised we werent told where the location of the breakfast situated. Apparently you have to take a different elevator and on the 5th floor.
#bathroom is smelly
#cigarette butt still on the balcony
#one of the bedside lamp is not working
#aircon is weak. Totally warm inside the room as if theres no air flow
#apart from the standard Remede shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, the rest of the supplies are cheap standard. (unlike most other luxury collection we've stayed)
#not to mention the ugly exterior looking bricks material building.

#stayed in many many spg hotels, never really had problems with the rest. But this one, is totally disappointing. Considering this is a category 5 spg category.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdmonsieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for three nights earlier this month and was a bit disappointed. The hotel looks great from the outside but the lobby looks rather empty. The decor is nice but it doesn't feel "warm".
Check-in was clumsy, staff was not sure what to do, it seemed. Our rooms were not ready and we had to wait hours before they were. The lay out of the hotel is such that if you are unlucky you have to walk a really loooooong way. The room itself was spacious and beautiful decorated.
I loved the Nespresso machine in the room! The fitness facilities and swimming pool are nice but are only accessible by one elevator which often means you have to switch elevator at lobby level. The Hengshan Road subway station is very close which is convenient.

Room Tip: If you exit the hotel and turn left there is a subway station around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyB_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai.

First off, thank you for taking the time to send us the feedback and I would like to extend my apologies for the unpleasant stay experience that you have encountered during your recent stay with us, there is no excuse for the fact that we did not live up to your expectation.

I have looked into the matter and have begun retraining and coaching our relevant associates to ensure that proper procedures and standards are thoroughly understood and followed, your comments and suggestions will also serve as reminders so that similar instances will not occur in the future.

Again, please accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience and I hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Twelve at Hengshan.


Yours sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed for 2 weeks while on business. Very spacious and comfortable rooms. I think it was built less than a year ago so everything is new and clean.

The pool, gym, and spa are lovely.

Great location as it is directly above the Hengshan Road Metro Stop. The area around the hotel is a little seedy, but walk a few blocks to get to great restaurants on Dongping or Yongkang.

Do not underrate iDarts across the street. My god we had fun throwing darts and drinking cheap beer.

Morning breakfast was fantastic, one of the best breakfast buffets I ever had. It had both asian and western cuisine. The noodle soup and congee bars were my favorites. The in-hotel cantonese restaurant was pricey but tasted good in a pinch after getting back from long days of work.

Okay the problem with this place... THE SMELL! Damn it smells like a sewer in the lobby and elevators. Also my toilet area also had a stinky quality that would not go away, even after I asked service to come up and clean.

Five stars if not for the smell.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#44 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#24 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai

Property: Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Address: 12 Hengshan Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Shanghai’s cosmopolitan area, Twelve at Hengshan is surrounded by restaurants, cafés, boutiques, galleries, and restored art-deco buildings. Experience a haven of urban chic on the renowned tree-lined Hengshan Road. Traditional Chinese hospitality melds with contemporary amenities. Work out in our state-of-the-art health club, enjoy a refreshing swim in the heated indoor pool, be pampered in the spa, and savor authentic Cantonese and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing