We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A low key luxury hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Ranked #52 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A low key luxury hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It's located in the former French Concession and has a low key exterior. The hotel's décor is modern Chinese with fine murals through out the hotel. I got a complimentary room upgrade with a balcony looking over the garden which is small. It has bamboo and a small waterfall. Not pretentious. The room décor is again Chinese with subtle gold, grey, beige, brown and red color. They are very harmonious and soothing. I like the amentias in the bath room: the toilette is modern Japanese style. There are two types sea salt for soaking in the warm water. A small TV in the bathroom allows me not feel bored while soaking in the tub. The bed was very comfortable. I had a hard time to figure out how to open the curtain: it's motorized and just needs to be tugged. The refrigerator is filled with plenty free soft drinks and local beer. The swim pool is big with sections for children. The locker room is luxury and also has a Jacuzzi, and sauna and a steam room. The gym has a view to the swim pool. The pool is indoor which is perfect for the 4 seasons in Shanghai. The architecture design of the swim pool allows nature light comes in from the ceiling make it very nice and light hearted. I didn't eat food there because for a native Shanghainess, the food in a luxury hotel is too expensive.The hotel is 20 meters away from the Hengshan subway station. There are lots of western clubs and all kind of restaurants within the walking distance. The only missing part is the shopping. I also give the value of the hotel 5 stars because there is a discount promotion for the room. But overall, I like it to be in the heart of Shanghai, but away from crowd.

Room Tip: The subway station is 20 meters away. Many western clubs and international restaurants and a Starbuc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    61
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
32
43
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My fiancee and I visited the hotel for two nights mid-August. We are both former management consultants, travel a lot and are usually not very difficult about service (you can check my other reviews on this site).
First impression of the hotel is that it is gorgeous. Everything has been beautifully designed. The rooms are tastefully appointed and have very large bathrooms. The gym and pool are also extremely nice.
The major problem is that the service let us down in many occasions:
- At check-in: my fiancee and I live in the US but she was born in China. I checked in speaking English and then suddenly turned to her talking only in Mandarin. We told them we wanted to speak English. They added one sentence in English and switched back to Mandarin!
- When we got to the room, there were a few cigarette butts left on the balcony. Given the standard of the hotel, this is unacceptable
- The concierge is basically unexistant. Of course, there is a concierge desk but no one sits there. When you go to the valet desk, you can find a few people who do not know what being a concierge means. We asked them for bar recommendations and they obviously seemed surprised at such ask, checked online (dazhong - chinese version yelp) and did not offer additional services (reservations maybe??). Yes, we could have check online on our own. Of course, all of this was in Mandarin even though we were both speaking to them in English
- We are both Gold members and picked the drink as our amenity. When we got to the bar to redeem our drink (and there were no other customers), the waitress dragged her feet and did not offer to show us the menu. When she finally came back 5-10 minutes later with a menu and no smile, she took our order, seemed to make the drink herself and brought her back with no smile or any comment. In such a classy setting, we took it as a lack of respect.
- Check out was efficient but (in the middle of the afternoon), no one was there to help us with our luggage and we had to wait for 10 minutes for a valet to finally show up to get us a cab.

Somewhat unrelated but the internet is incredibly slow. We both had to do some work and lost many hours waiting for pages to load.

All in all, we would gladly stay in this hotel again if the service were to be greatly improved. We know the environment is challenging but, given the price we paid, it seems that we can expect a bit better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristtov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

In the busy city like Shanghai, you would feel the rest and peace when you enter Hengshan Twelve. I like the Lounge as it makes feel nice and big in the limited place of downtown Shanghai. Yes, I like the swimming pool the best. It's big, clean and nice. Go, try it out and I've recommended my manager from US to stay there at the end of this month.

Room Tip: It's right above Metro Line 1. So in rush hours please take metro to Hengshan Road Station and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

From the moment I landed the fantastic service began with a helpful call to the concierge. The hotel is gorgeously appointed. Elegant, thoughtful, comfortable luxury. They asked my name and room the first morning at breakfast then remembered it for the rest of the stay. All were attentive without being overbearing. I think the extreme comfort of the bed helped sort out a bad back. They have even been helping me with an issue I had with the purchase of fake jade bracelets that had nothing to with the hotel. That is the extent of their commitmemt to excellent service, The only tiny thing that wasn't flawless was a room service dinner that was not delivered as ordered but the dish that was the mistake was so delicious I didn't mind at all. I cross my fingers that I have the opportunity to visit Shanghai again so that I can stay at the Twelve.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiphany63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Awesome neighborhood, modern, clean and comfy. This place is on its way. You'll read about it in travel magazines in a few months. I really enjoyed my stay. The new staff is receptive to advice and I really hope they don't let the service slide or skimp on the amenities. This is a great place.

A few suggestions:
-concierges haven't fully grasped the spirit of this job title. You can't really rely on them beyond a taxi. Don't expect special pull at hard-to-get reservations. Nice guys but out of touch.
-brew a cup of in room coffee before you go up for breakfast. the staff hasn't fully grasped the #1 request in the morning is COFFEE. Brew your own to soften the blow, the wait for coffee from breakfast staff is too long.
-Absolutely visit the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. It is very good. A number of really great options within walking distance are available too. Try Sheri and a the new Italian place down the street.

Room Tip: brew your own coffee in the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterm312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai.

First off, thank you for taking the time to send us the feedback and I would like to extend my apologies for the unpleasant stay experience that you have encountered during your recent stay with us, there is no excuse for the fact that we did not live up to your expectation. Just like what you’ve said, our Chinese restaurant is unique. Twelve Hengshan features Chef Kuy Fai Chung’s innovative twists on classical Shanghainese cuisine with Cantonese influences. The Porcelain chandeliers, rose-glass screens and picture windows framing a Suzhou-styled garden scene, create a memorable ambience to accompany the refined, organic cuisine.

I have looked into the matter and have begun retraining and coaching our relevant associates to ensure that proper procedures and standards are thoroughly understood and followed, your comments and suggestions will also serve as reminders so that similar instances will not occur in the future.

Again, please accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience and I hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Twelve at Hengshan.


Yours sincerely,

David Katemopoulos
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
237 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed here about 8 days after they opened in 2012, and it was a spectacular place (with excellent introductory rates). The room was enormous, modern, and comfortable and the bathroom was excellent. The hotel's spa is epic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcmjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is such a pleasure to see your great review shared on Tripadvisor.com. We would like to express our gratitude to your compliments on our guest room and facilities. We are looking forward to accommodate you again with our exceptional services.

Sincerely,

David Katemopoulos
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

As a frequent business traveller to Shanghai, I have stayed or been to many of the major hotels in the city. My past two stays have been at the Twelve and it is now my official favorite hotel in Shanghai. The location is excellent, the staff friendly, and the hotel itself is beautiful. I've currently rebooked at the Twelve for my next two upcoming trips.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are far nicer than rooms along the outside wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean_TA_profile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that your overall stay with us was enjoyable.
Just like what you’ve said, the hotel is located right beside the Metro Line 1 Hengshan Road Station, which is 3 km from Xintiandi and 5 km from People’s Square of the city center.
The garden oasis tucked away in the heart of the hotel is alike a traditional Chinese Secret Garden flourishing under the mist with cheery blossoms, thick bamboo groves and trickling streams which enhance Twelve at Hengshan’s romantic character and soothing Zen ambience.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again with our exceptional services.

Sincerely,

David Katemopoulos
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Former French Concession
Radisson Blu Plaza Xingguo Hotel Shanghai
Jing'an
URBN Hotel Shanghai
URBN Hotel Shanghai
#38 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Pullman Shanghai South
#47 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai

Property: Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Address: 12 Hengshan Road, Shanghai 200031, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Shanghai’s cosmopolitan area, Twelve at Hengshan is surrounded by restaurants, cafés, boutiques, galleries, and restored art-deco buildings. Experience a haven of urban chic on the renowned tree-lined Hengshan Road. Traditional Chinese hospitality melds with contemporary amenities. Work out in our state-of-the-art health club, enjoy a refreshing swim in the heated indoor pool, be pampered in the spa, and savor authentic Cantonese and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing