We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, stunning indoor pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Ranked #54 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“nice room, stunning indoor pool”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I wanted to claimed an SPG free night. It was down to between the two category 5 hotels (the other was older Westin) and I decided check out this new hotel. I was upgraded as SPG gold to courtyard view and supposedly bigger room. room was modern with Chinese touches, pleasant details (2 generous boxes of bath salt) I was impressed by the hotel decor in general, and the indoor pool especially. staff generally nice and friendly, eager to impress when i requested to check out the restaurants. Weird thing is that housekeeping knocked to offer cleaning service at 9 am on my check out day, made me regret not putting out a DnD sign. I can hear him knocking each door down the corridor. Check out was smooth. Location is convenient next to a subway station, but i think Hangshan Road area is no longer the best place to stay in Shanghai for work or play.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank towkaylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    78
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
49
55
38
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a new, good looking hotel in the French Concession area. Metro is close by, but I took taxi during our 3 night stay. The design is nice, if a bit bland, but the location is great.

I was upgraded to a Grand Suite as an SPG Platinum member. The suite is an oversized junior suite and not a true one bedroom suite. It does have 2 TVs and even a powder room, but bed is not separated with a door from living. The bathroom is beautiful and large, featuring Hermes toiletries. However, housekeeping refused to give you additional Hermes toiletries when requested. They would only supply extra Remede ones, which is the brand supplied in the regular guestrooms.

The bathroom has INAX washlet. It's actually very convenient to use, but at night, the beeping noise it makes everytime the lid closes by itself is very annoying. Light switches are not user friendly. Wifi unreliable. Mattress is nice, sheets crisp (not soft).

We ordered room service one night. Food arrived promptly and service was good. Breakfast selection is underwhelming. Service erratic.

The lobby has no buzz or much of an atmosphere.

It's still a nice, good looking hotel, but far from perfect. I would rank Le Royal Meridien and Westin to be slightly higher, especially they often have better rates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Excitement to stay in this new hotel turned much to disappontment...
Was given an upgrade as platinum spg but room was the furthest from the lift and had absolutely NO view! This is typical of spg upgrades, standard suite upgrade usually means no view and far in corner.
Arrival in room greeted with darkness, air con off, windows all drawn, somber mood. Though set to 18C with high fan, in morning woke up to 24C auto fan. How sid this happen?
Wifi is terrible and at night failed completely. Front desk could not help much. Fixed in morning but still very very slow.
Called operator in evening, took a few tries and at one time, was directed to spg hotline in guangzhou!!
Walked long paths to the spa, noone was there for a good ten min wait. Gave up. No spa menu in room. No call answered in spa.
Concierge Omi was helpful but the others were hopeless in english.
Staffs not of 5-star hotel quality. Not too many smiley faces. Felt the coldness and unhappiness.
Beautiful facility, disappointing services!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HnD_1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay experience at the Twelve at Hengshan. First off, I want to apologize for the less than perfect stay and the unpleasant service encounters in the guest room and the SPA. I have personally looked into the mishaps and have asked the managers concerned that relevant training be stepped up to ensure our service quality is improved to a respectable and acceptable level.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us and I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to a better Twelve at Hengshan.

Yours Sincerely,

David Katemopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, MI
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 4 nights and this would be my best memory of SPG hotel staying in Shanghai. The room and whole hotel is under a warm and welcome atmosphere. The room is perfect for people after one hectic day. The swimming pool is the one must try in this hotel. The breakfast place's staff who were the most professional team I have ever met in China, even Asia. They remember my name and who I had breakfast with next day. When I sit down, they even know what kind of ice tea I need. Lovely! The hotel has a great location just steps to subway, it is very easy to anywhere in Shanghai. I booked a package and I can use all soft drink in mini bar for free. The suite is very easy for me have a small meeting and drink with my co-workers in the room. Only one thing need improve would the lobby lounge which was used by SPG member lounge but not really friendly. I took two of my co-workers to the lounge and they want charge me one person at the Happy Hours. It make me feel not really welcome. Anyway, I would highly recommend this hotel for business traveler.

Room Tip: Room with Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flypiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

In shanghai last week on business travel and had a one night need for lodging. Stayed at the new TWELVE AT HENGSHAN. The reception at the hotel was very warm and welcoming.and the atrium and lobby framed by a beautiful courtyard and garden. The manger David personally greeted me and welcomed me to the property. The staff was very professional and attended to every need in a timely manner and with great efficiency and attention.

The room overlooked the garden. This should be requested. It was spacious and warm, great amenties and an excellent bathroom. the Linens wonderful and the working desk facilites very well designed. the Platinum happy hour was very well appointed and offered every sort of snack or beverage.

the property sparkles and is in great working mode. It is clear that the managment team has spent great time in training the staff to the level that the luxury collection demands and delivers.

I plan to use this property in the future when i have more time to explore the French Concession and the surrounding evirons.

Room Tip: upgrade to suite level if possible, overlook the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalnomadMontbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review and feedback on your recent stay with us, we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have lived up to your expectations. Your compliments and encouragement will enable us to further motivate all of us here to continue to strive for higher and better stands.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Twelve at Hengshan.


Yours sincerely,

David Katemopoulos
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel so much and the entire building is so simple, artistic and modern. Not all cab driver is aware of the hotel location.The room was spacious and our view was facing the bamboo garden with pond. I love the amenities very much and service from the moment you step in to housekeeping were very attentive. We enjoyed our stay very much and definitely will return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlewormmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review and feedback on your recent stay with us, we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have lived up to your expectations. Your compliments and encouragement will enable us to further motivate all of us here to continue to strive for higher and better stands.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Twelve at Hengshan.


Yours sincerely,

David Katemopoulos
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Most of the planned events and meetings were held in the Shanghai French Concession and on the Bund. Twelve at Hengshan's location allowed convenient access to both, with a taxi drive to the Bund ranging from 15 to 30 minutes, depending on traffic. I wanted to stay in the French Concession for it offers a unique ambiance, very far from the experience one gets when staying in Pudong hotels... The modern Chinese design of the building intrigued me and it looks better in real than in photo. The hotel offers a very good sense of arrival, with a bright lobby and helpful concierge desk. I was upgraded to a corner room, which was very large and therefore very comfortable. While there are minor signs showing the relative newness of the hotel, the overall room experience was comparable to branded five-star hotels around the globe. What I felt differentiated it from the rest was the very zen inner courtyard, that provided ample yet subtle daylight, as well as Tops & Terrace on the fifth floor, which offered Asian classics, French rotisserie meats, brick oven pizzas, etc. in a very elegant and modern setting on the roof top, with an amazing garden terrace with cabanas / pergolas overlooking the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephaneRegnault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#29 of 5,105 in Shanghai
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#150 of 5,105 in Shanghai
98 reviews
Former French Concession
Anting Villa Hotel
Anting Villa Hotel
#143 of 5,105 in Shanghai
146 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai

Property: Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Address: 12 Hengshan Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Shanghai’s cosmopolitan area, Twelve at Hengshan is surrounded by restaurants, cafés, boutiques, galleries, and restored art-deco buildings. Experience a haven of urban chic on the renowned tree-lined Hengshan Road. Traditional Chinese hospitality melds with contemporary amenities. Work out in our state-of-the-art health club, enjoy a refreshing swim in the heated indoor pool, be pampered in the spa, and savor authentic Cantonese and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing