We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, Modern, New Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Ranked #46 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I recently had a 2 night stay at the hengshan 12 hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located across the street from the Metro Line 1. The decor was very nice and modern, and the service was superb. After check-in I was personally escorted to my room by a front desk lady. The rooms are huge and nicely decorated. One thing of note - I accidentally shattered a bottle of wine by the bathtub around 1 am and someone was able to come up and clean it up in 10 minutes. Beer and soda in the mini bar was free. Overall a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DH2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 493 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

It is a brand new hotel. Part of Starwood Luxury collection hotel.

The room is relatively big and very clean. The room is also surprisingly quiet even though it is located in the heart of the city. The lighting system in the room has option for work or relax mode.

Both my business associates and me was impressed with the toilet. I can only find a good electronic toilet seats in a big 5 star hotel in Japan. In China, this is something extraordinary to me.

Hotel staffs (local Chinese) are very friendly and very helpful. Except for an expatriate senior management staff that actually got out of the elevator even before the hotel guests which was very unprofessional in any hotel standard. No excuse for that.

Breakfast is not that fantastic. Not much of a variety.

All drinks (Beers, Juices and soft drinks) in the mini bar were free except for snacks, hard liqueurs and wine. Each room was quipped with a Naspresso coffee machine and comes with 4 Naspresso coffee capsules - free.

A lot of Bars around the hotel if you need a drink. Good local restaurants around as well. Starbucks is just around the corner.

Overall, it is a good hotel to stay in for business travelers and holiday makers. For my next trip to Shanghai, I might stay there again provided if that senior management staff allows his guest to get out of the elevator first.

Safe travel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick67-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

this new hotel is perfectly fine for business but not romance. the area is fairly ok to walk around but certainly no famous spotsqnearby.the room itself is very spacious andcomfy, which of course is most important. i also really liked the workout room and pool, and had the free spa all to myself. luxury.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sincyrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed 2 nights. Location in French concession is convenient, metro just across the street. Check-in was good, only a 4000 RMB deposit is a little too much. Rooms are nice. Decoration is smart classic. All the amenities are in the room. Soft drinks are included.
Relax area is nice, big pool. But no outside view, basement.
Breakfast was perfect, service good. Everything you need, small portions, live cooking. The outside terrace looks nice for summertime. Beautiful views of the French concession just above the trees, 5th floor.
Two negative points :
- design looks nice but if you have an eye for detail, you will notice that the finishing is not always 5 star
- lack of atmosphere, the hotel was empty. For me it looked like a convention hotel. Shops empty, bar empty, no people in the lobby.

I would prefer The Puli unless you have a promotional rate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larrysmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Me and some friends enjoyed a wonderful weekend getaway in Shanghai in this newly opened hotel. The location is just great - the tree lined Hengshan road and the area feature several good restaurants, from local cuisine (cheap) to spanish tapas bars (expensive). Also several bars and breweries in the surrounding area make a trip with friends worthwhile.

The rooms are well appointed and feature huge TVs and great showers. Buttons to open the curtains and drapes next to the bed means waking up to a sun filled sky! Make sure to visit the Spa and pool areas - its supposed to be the biggest hotel pool in whole Shanghai! Several jacuzzis are split of the main pool and allow space to relax after long hours of Shanghai's nightlife.

On our recent trip, the front desk staff went out of the way. Vielen Dank Ricky! A hotel where you instantly feel at home and taken care of.

Room Tip: Book a room with courtyard view. Balconies will be great in summer! Also make sure to try the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was my first stay at Twelve at Hengshan. The location is very good, there are small gift shop (many of them have very good taste.) and many different kind of restaurant near hotel (2 to 15 min. on foot area). For example, Thai, French, Italian, Greek, Chinese, Japanese, etc.
There is a courtyard in that hotel, and I could see that courtyard from my room.
Room is very good. Nespresso machine is equipped in the room. In the bath room, two different kind of bath salt was available.

There is no SPG member club lounge in this hotel, in stead, the member can enjoy happy hour at lobby lounge. There is a menu for the SPG members, but not much selection.
I have one not good experience in this hotel. The restaurant (for breakfast) staff is not professional. They do not ask you for drink and you have to ask them to bring you coffee or tea. The breakfast is buffet style and food is not maintained well. For example, some of food is dried
and looks like it sits there for overnight etc. Vegetable is not fresh, soup is not hot. Staffs are talking each other in the middle of the restaurant, etc.
I hope this kind of situation would improve by time as this hotel was opened few months ago....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hiro_S_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a very new, only a few months since it opened, hotel, and although they are still sorting out a few bugs overall it is very nice and they are trying very hard. the room are quite large modern and have all your needs. The internet access still needs so work and the restaurant staff need a bit more polish. I would recommend this hotel it is in great location in the French concession and is very comfortable and has good function space.

Room Tip: I would take an internal room overlooking the court yard area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#26 of 5,159 in Shanghai
609 reviews
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#30 of 5,159 in Shanghai
994 reviews
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#21 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,190 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#181 of 5,159 in Shanghai
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai

Address: 12 Hengshan Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $180 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Shanghai’s cosmopolitan area, Twelve at Hengshan is surrounded by restaurants, cafés, boutiques, galleries, and restored art-deco buildings. Experience a haven of urban chic on the renowned tree-lined Hengshan Road. Traditional Chinese hospitality melds with contemporary amenities. Work out in our state-of-the-art health club, enjoy a refreshing swim in the heated indoor pool, be pampered in the spa, and savor authentic Cantonese and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing