We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delivers everything you'd expect from a CPK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of California Pizza Kitchen

California Pizza Kitchen
Ranked #3,059 of 16,842 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Century Park
Shanghai
Level Contributor
324 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Delivers everything you'd expect from a CPK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I hadn't been to a CPK in about 10 years. And I certainly didn't expect to be going to a CPK in Shanghai. The good news is that this restaurant chain never fails to deliver on its brand promise and quality of food. It's consistent no matter where you go. Whether to not you like American chain restaurants is an altogether different matter. After eating my pizza here, I realized why I despise this kind of food. While it tastes really good, it's laden with cheese and oil so hardly healthy. And afterwards, I never feel quite good.

But this CPK was without fault. The food was good, it was served quickly dispute the fact it was busy, and the waiting staff was very polite. If you like American fast food I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DHWShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good service. Same ol KPC food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I thought the service from the staff was exceptional. Best part about the restaurant. Plus they had a cool bar with lots of beer choices. The food was just ok...the same ol KPC food you can get everywhere else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Visited the branch in The Kerry Centre shopping plaza in Pudong. First ever visit to the Pizza Kitchen. Went with my husband and 2 young children. I ordered the well known BB chicken pizza- WOW!!! Was amazing. Lovely base and great topping. My husband had the Pepperoni and he said it was ok. Quality of the food was very good. Service was good and was great value. Used an Enjoy Shanghai Voucher so saved 20%. For sure will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anafonitria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just like good old CPK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a great resturant if you need a beak from th local cuisine. Just like any other CPK with a little more Asian flare to it. The staff is great and friendly. Must go to

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanmoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Little Taste of Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Yes, we like to try local foods when traveling to other countries, but after a few days we are ready for a little taste of home. California Pizza Kitchen was a welcome surprise on a recent trip to Shanghai--this one located at Kerry Parkside Mall, Pudong. The menu has more asian-flare in its choices with lots of pictures on the menu to help you decide. My favorite CPK dish wasn't on Shanghai CPK menu, but no worries...they have other great pastas, salads, and pizzas! On our 9-day trip, we went 4 times!! Really great food. My husband likes the crispier/flatbread-type pizzas here, more than U.S. restaurants. The service was excellent--especially, "Stone," he was our waiter twice, what a great guy!! Thank you, CPK, for opening two restaurants Shanghai!! (Other restaurant is on the Puxi side of Shanghai).

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Montiesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing