We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must-See in Shanghai”

Oriental Pearl Tower (Dongfang Mingzhu)
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.00*
and up
Dinner at the Oriental Pearl Tower Revolving Restaurant with Transfer
Ranked #9 of 1,312 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Speed to the top of the world’s third tallest TV and radio tower for a spectacular view, or just gaze at this beautiful structure from afar, especially striking when lit up at night.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Must-See in Shanghai”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our visit to the Pearl Tower. We went to the very top where you have to don shoe covers. Great views. Interesting structure.

One warning though: we were there in November which is very off season. Judging from the number of switchbacks they had available (which we did not use), they are prepared for very very long lines, so seeing the Pearl Tower might not be worth it during high season. I would not wait in line for an hour to see the tower unless I had nothing else to do.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,406
    1,761
    672
    138
    71
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I guess the tower is on everybody's todo list and it should be. Even if the bottle opener is higher, this one has the glassed observatory deck which is hard to top. It the weather is good, get up there!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennethtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glass Floor”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Quite fun. Amazing view of Shanghai. The glass floor which (unlike the Sears Tower in Chicago) completely encircles the tower, is not for the faint of heart. The museum is surprisingly engaging and really informative - plan to spend an hour wandering through it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GLC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It was nice architectural building.i didnt go up as there was quite a lot of smog so i wouldnt se much or Bund side. They have different packages include lunch or dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank aussie290309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing New”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The same tower in all over the world will give the same experience, Over abundant visitor or not enough space to accommodate make the place not comfort, its too crowded, packed.
The glass floor is okay, not available in such another tower. But the view of the Bund bellow is amazing. That"s why I give 4 rating for this attraction. Spend 2 to 3 hours to enjoy the view.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Pearl Tower (Dongfang Mingzhu) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Oriental Pearl Tower (Dongfang Mingzhu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing