We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  
Ways to Experience The Bund (Wai Tan)
from $96.00
More Info
from $29.50
More Info
from $78.99
More Info
from $66.00
More Info
Reviews (18,954)
Filter reviews
18,954 results
Traveler rating
11,930
5,733
1,115
133
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11,930
5,733
1,115
133
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river both sides shanghai skyline puxi side night view light show nice walk beautiful at night the financial district peace hotel take pictures modern shanghai the pearl visiting shanghai bund stroll architecture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 18,954 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ever since I saw Empire of the Sun, I have wanted to see the Bund. It was the center of the British Concession in Shanghai. It is meticulously preserved, and has been given fresh life. If you go, stay nearby. The Fairmont Peace Hotel, Waldorf Astoria and the Peninsula are all right there and feature rood top bars that have views to die for.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Martysfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited the Bund in Shanghai one night as we were staying close to shanghai Disney. We stayed at the courtyard by Marriott and took a taxi to the bund. Cost about 86rmb to get there and about 130rmb to get back because of traffic. Make sure the taxi driver uses the meter! Otherwise they will try and give you a flat rate that’s super high! Happened to us multiple times where the driver offered a flat rate and we said no and changed taxis. The flat rate was about 250rmb which is way too high. I suggest you go at night because it’s beautiful! The people are also very nice! Shopping was just okay but they have a really cool underground food court area with all authentic foods! There are a bunch of booths set up that will take your photo and print it for you for about 200rmb with the skyline in the back. We went in early September and didn’t find too over crowded but it was so hot. They have a KFC right there but it’s not like the food in America or Canada. They have rice bowls. We ate at subway which was pretty good but again not like in America or Canada. The soft drinks are also a little off tasting even though it says coke or sprite on it but it was still ok. Overall it was very cool to see and you can get a ton of great photos!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank sarahleclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Note lights go out at 11pm so make sure you are there before then. Views are stunning and the lights amazing.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank CiaraM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great contrast with great views. One side of the river lined with magnificent old buildings with stunning architecture . The other filled with modern marvels and giant towers. Also rub the Bull's testicles for luck.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank bulegila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely worth a visit to get an impression of the contrast between colonial past and modern present. One side of the river has some beautiful examples of colonial buildings the other side has a mush mash of futuristic and amazing buildings showing off the present day wealth of the Chinese economy. We were told that the new buildings were organised in terms of size and “in your face ness”. The taller the building the greater the importance of the corporation owning it.
Great opportunity for photos but be prepared for lots of haze.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Voyager794200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews