We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shanghai Museum (Shanghai Bowuguan)
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Shanghai Museum (Shanghai Bowuguan)
from $53.00
More Info
from $52.99
More Info
from $30.80
More Info
Reviews (4,472)
Filter reviews
2,960 results
Traveler rating
1,670
948
279
46
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,670
948
279
46
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese history four floors audio guide free admission great collection interesting exhibits on display few hours gift shop top floor modern building people's square couple of hours worth a visit security check rainy day people's park
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,960 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Nice museum with impressive ceramics collection but I’ve honestly seen (other free) museums with better and modern presentation and interpretation throughout China, it starts to feel ‘dated’. The shop was one of the few places where I found some stylish Chinese but not too classic souvenirs.

Thank siel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Many interesting exhibits dating back to BC. Recommend at least 4-5 hours to fully enjoy the Museum. Get the headsets at the counter for foreign language translation. Need passport or some kind of identity as deposit for the headsets.
Entry is FOC

Thank Chan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Went there in mid September on a hot,humid and crowded Sunday. Despite of being free for entry this museum is surprisingly well maintained and has good interiors. It naturally attracts a lot of crowd so be prepared for long queues. It showcases rich history which would make everyone interested. Don't miss out on this even if you aren't a fan of museums and old history.

Thank nomadwordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Next to the People's square, this is a wonderful stop for anyone wanting to spend some time with the history of China. The modern building has four floors with some permanent and temporary exhibits. The stamps and the ceramics exhibitions were fascinating. We visited the modern paintings exhibition when we were in the city, which was also worth the time.

When you have a few hours to kill, you will not go wrong with the museum.

Thank anarchius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

The only "down side" to a tour of this museum is that it is so comprehensive and inclusive it challenges one to see it all without skimming very informative material

Thank Reklaw252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

The architecture is very interesting. The exhibits are well laid out and very spacious. You have to have some interest in Chinese culture and history and take enough time to enjoy it. The gardens surrounding the museum are very nice.

Thank walkinthewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

It was actually our first day in Shanghai and decided to go to the Museum. It was well worth it. Gave us some understanding and history of China. It was very well laid out with lots of information. A stop for sure!

Thank mamalowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This museum is one of the best we have been to. We loved the currency section, the exhibition for the minority groups, and calligraphy. To be honest, I'm not much of a museum person and was not all that excited about this stop but it was really interesting. It is a smaller museum so it isn't so overwhelming. I will warn you, there is little English in the museum. There shouldn't be since it is a Chinese museum. If you are like my husband who likes to read every sign, you may find it a little difficult. There are also guards everywhere. This isn't a problem, they are just hidden and standing like statues so when I walked past a dark point and saw one move out of the corner of my eye, I jumped. This made both me and the guard laugh.

1  Thank courtcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A well organized and presented museum. But be prepared for the crowds! We loved our time here, but only had time for a few of the rooms. There is so much to offer in this place that you may need more than one visit to see it all. Especially because they have things on display that are not just 100s of years old, they are 1000s of years old. You come away understanding a lot more about ancient Chinese history!

Thank profginsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My visit to this museum was great. It is free of charge and well worth the time invested with nice presentations of traditional costumes from around the country, ancient ceramics, currency, and other subjects. Nicely laid out, descriptions for most items are in Chinese and English.

Thank Panamajoe2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews