We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend this hotel to a friend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel
Ranked #2,460 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Hotel is very convenient for people who attend exhibition at the Everbright Convention Centre. That's the only positive thing i can reckon from this hotel.
The room is small and was not cleaned well. This is a cheap hotel so I didn't expect much but was below the normal standard. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexxxito_VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 193 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife booked the hotel, and was immediately told that I had been upgraded too business class at no extra cost. This was great and I couldnt wait to see the room. The hotel is big and the staff seemed a bit cold but I was impressed with the size of the room, and the breakfast that came with the room was satisfactory. I feel this hotel had perhaps enjoyed better days. I though the breakfast staff were good though and always kept my coffee mug full.

Also the hotel is very near the Caobao metro station which to me was very important. You will always get a strong smell of tobacco from Chinese hotels until the managers ban smoking.

all in all quite satisfactory.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a business suite at no extra cost. maybe because my wife booked me under my wester...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodasgoldmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Shanghai
11
Reviewed June 18, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

As per title: the room was big, just like the hotel lobby. The hotel was within 100 meters of the exhibition centre, so ideal for this business trip. For vacation purposes I would never stay here: the staff is absolutely not interested in helping you. They seem to be more busy talking to each other than anything else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a shockingly poor hotel. Staff are dressed in old, tatty uniforms which reflect the old and tatty rooms. My bedroom stank of smoke, had chewing gum on the floor, no working AC, no working fridge and was not cleaned well at all.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. The Hua Ting up the road is, although still a bit rough, far better than this place. I honestly believe it should be condemned.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fras78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days to attend a conference. The conference room was very good and the air conditioning worked. However, in the hotel lobby and rooms the air conditioner was running but the rooms were hot and stuffy. It seems that it could not keep up and it was the end of September. I can only imagine what it would be like to stay here during the summer.

We did not have a problem with the hot water.

1. The hotel overcharges for the rooms, you can book for half price by using a third party, my colleagues were paying $135/night at the conference because they booked directly at the hotel web site. I had the same room and paid $65/night although I prepaid.

2. Usually Chinese hotel staff are flexible and accommodating. Not in his case. We went to breakfast with no cash, they refused to put the breakfast charge on our room at both the restaurant and front desk, so I went back to the room, got my cash and we went out for a nice Chinese breakfast.

3. The restaurant served buffet style food which is average for a hotel buffet, but many times, I opted to go out and have a fresh cooked meal.

4. The hotel is old and the rooms look dirty.

5. The elevators are too slow when you are in a hurry. Fortunately, the hotel was not very full so the wait for the elevators were not insufferable.

6. Room service would forget to replace shampoo and soap each day.

I would not advise staying at this hotel, there are many other hotels nearby that might be cheaper and do not pay the full price whatever you do.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harring10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Everbright Convention and Exhibition Center
Everbright Convention & Exhibition Hotel
Everbright Convention & Exhibiti...
#1,953 of 5,161 in Shanghai
16 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,863 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#33 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel

Address: No.66 Caobao Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200235, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Everbright Convention and Exhibition Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#372 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $56 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Everbright Exhibition Center Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everbright Hotel Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing