We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm at the Rui Jin Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Ranked #57 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Old world charm at the Rui Jin Shanghai”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The wonderful old charming hotel is located in the French Concession area of Shanghai. We had a beatifully appointed large room with a sitting area, desk area and a up a couple of steps to a lovely large old fashioned bathroom. We stayed in the building opposite the reception building overlooking the beautiful and extensive gardens. A new wing is being built at the back of the complex but we did not get any noise from the construction site. The hotel is about 10mins walk to the nearest subway station and a quick trip on the subway to the city centre. The service is quite formal in the dining room and breakfast room. A large extensive buffet breakfast offered everything you could want.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atodmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Intercontinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel. We are also pleased to learn that everything we offered to you along your stay has exceed your expectation.

Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Best regards,

Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    152
    48
    18
    6
See reviews for
69
106
34
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washingtoin DC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The Rui Jin used to be an oasis in the city with beautiful grounds with wonderful restaurants (Face and Hazara); this all made it a must go to location in the city. Not anymore. With constant building damaging the grounds and tranquility and the loss of both stellar restaurants it is just a trap for local wedding parties (I counted 6 going on simultaneaously when I stayed there). I'll never stay there again. What a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stumack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Intercontinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel. We are also pleased to learn that everything we offered to you along your stay has exceed your expectation.

Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Best regards,

Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed in building 3 and were perfectly happy there. Yes, there is still a lot of construction - the new building will not be ready in time for expo - but there was no noise during no rmal sleep hours. When it rained, we were picked up for the short walk/ride to the breakfast room and taken back to our building; also, umbrellas were provided for our convenience. Breakfast was heavenly, in terms of choice, quality, and preparation, and the food was presented in the room that Chaing Kai-Shek married his bride.

We found the service, for the most part attentive and helpful, with only a very few exceptions. The location in the French Concession is an enormous plus.
Of all the hotels we stayed on this trip, the Rui Jin was my favorite.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mid214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Intercontinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel. We are also pleased to learn that everything we offered to you along your stay has exceed your expectation.

Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Best regards,

Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed here at the end of a multi-week trip around China, during which we slept on a lot of trains and in youth hostels, so it was our treat to ourselves. Although we paid way more than any other night in China (about $175 compared with an average of $30-$50 elsewhere, which is still far less than the equivalent place would be in North America) it was totally worth it. The buffet in the morning alone (for the 3 of us) made up some of the difference. Service was great - they brought us tea to our room on our arrival. The atmosphere is very much reminiscent of colonial days -- in our wing there were rooms where both Chiang Kai Shek and Mao had stayed -- with beautiful wood furniture and high ceilings. My 9 year-old daughter was able to feel a little more independent than at other places, because there are beautiful grounds and she could go outside and hang on a tree, yet your right in the middle of Shanghai. You don't have to pay for in-house services. We found a great massage place just about a block up Ruijin Road, for $12 for a full hour, and they were open late.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank futzysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Intercontinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel. We are also pleased to learn that everything we offered to you along your stay has exceed your expectation.

Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The title says it all. To enter the compound of the Ruijin Hotel is to enter another world. After the noise and excitement of Shanghai's streets, it's a total pleasure to return to this island of calm

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniepf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INTERCONTINENTALS, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Intercontinental Shanghai Ruijin Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to write the precious comment.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our hotel. We are also pleased to learn that everything we offered to you along your stay has exceed your expectation.

Thank you for your nice comment again, which encourages our staff to consistently do our best for our valuable guests.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#143 of 5,059 in Shanghai
97 reviews
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#32 of 5,059 in Shanghai
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#22 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,069 reviews
Former French Concession
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
#34 of 5,059 in Shanghai
894 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#154 of 5,059 in Shanghai
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Address: No.118 Ruijin Er Lu, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#161 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Hotels & Resorts unveils its first China heritage hotel – the InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin – located across a 100-acre historic garden estate in the heart of Shanghai. Guests from around the world can now experience an important part of Shanghai’s glamorous early 20th-century heritage in an exclusive garden setting, while enjoying InterContinental’s world-class ‘In the Know’ service and luxury amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruijin Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing