We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tong Moa stay”
Review of Tong Mao Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tong Mao Hotel
Ranked #369 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 6, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2008

Very nice rooms - Very good Northkorean restaurant with excellent bulgogi.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bavarian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

Stayed for 10 days and it was pretty good. 10 min walk to century ave metro station line 2, 20 min walk to the science museum and large shopping area under the museum. Found really cheap meals at the office building cafeteria across the street. Nothing else for eats real close but a short walk ( 10 min ) and you could find choices. The room was comfortable and cleaned daily with turndown service in the eveining. Did not try the hotels resturants but did use the pool and recreation facilities. Stayed in the standard king room w/o breakfast and payed $100.00 USD a night booked through expedia. Only thing that didn't work was the in-room safe. Staff understood english but I had a Chinese friend with me which helps in China.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bethelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

I was made to stay at this hotel by my HQ staff, as I have an internal meeting with my Shanghai colleagues at a building two blocks away.

First off, let me state that I'm biased against at Pudong. To me, Shanghai is a city which never sleeps and I don't see why I should stay at a place which shuts after 6 pm with hardly anybody in the streets by 8 pm.

So staying here was already with great reluctance. Hardware wise, you can see the typical trying-so-hard to copy the hardware of the top hotels of the 4-start category. But as expected, the plagiarism turned out to be sub-standard and with below-par software, this hotel simply does not deliver.

Those who'd stayed here may say I'm being overtly harsh on this outfit. But if you know what I'm saying, most state-owned hotels in China face the problems of don't-care-less services and ageing hardware, with cheesy attempts to imitate class and panache. This is one classic example, and although they try hard enough (at least on the surface), they faltered.

Granted nothing too drastically bad happened in the short two nights which I was staying, the price charged for my company's so-called coprorate rates was way too much -- CNY 700! I felt that with with such standards, a simple room should cost no more than CNY400, and I'm qualified to say this because I'd been in and out of China for the past 7 years.

So for the price they charge, and the dismal location they have (a lonely and cold walk of almost 30 mins to the nearest metro station) I feel that we can safely give Tong Mao a miss. Unless of course, you're forced to stay here like me.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sal the Fat Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

HI, earlier this week, I stayed at this state-owned hotel picked by my client. It's located in PUDONG, the newly developed side of Shanghai.

The hotel is a 4-star property for it comes with many F&B outlets/restaurants, spa, beauty salon, gym, etc.

The front desk's service was good - staff was polite, understanding and efficient. I stayed on the 16th floor and the room is spacious with a nice bathroom (see pictures for its interesting layout).

In my room though, a number of things did not work. These included a broken mirror in the bathroom, a non-functioning hair dryer (which is important to ladies!), a safe that didn't recognize the code I keyed in the night before. The worst thing however is that the Internet didn't work for 2 out of the 3 nights I was there. The front desk manager's explanation was that their broad band wasn't "broad" enough - if you want to go online after 9 p.m., it will not work!! Their IT staff was however in my room for more than an hour one night, trying to fix the problem when the problem could not be fixed due to technical limitations... :-(

The hotel is located near a park so the view from the room is good.

Breakfast was included in the room rate of RMB650 (USD90+) and with good varieties. There is a Shanghainese restaurant on the 2nd or 3rd floor of the hotel which serves good food.

I also used the hotel's conference facilities for meetings. Service was prompt.

In summary, for the price one pays, this hotel can be good value for money and you will have a pleasant stay given the full range of amenities on offer. You can relax after a long day of work without having to step out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank VictoriaSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Marcio1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#74 of 5,205 in Shanghai
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#50 of 5,205 in Shanghai
916 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tong Mao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tong Mao Hotel

Address: No.357 Songlin Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200122, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#101 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#214 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#255 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $75 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tong Mao Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tong Mao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tong Mao Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing