We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classical old hotel in outstanding location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pacific Hotel
Ranked #164 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Vancouver
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Classical old hotel in outstanding location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel must have been truly spectacular in its day, and while it has become a little run down from its glory days, it's still a good budget tourist or business hotel. Fantastic location - on Nanjing Rd, across road from People Square metro, exit 8.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your time to share your valuable experience as well as hint following your stay at Pacific Hotel, Shanghai. Your detailed feedback will constantly inspire us to ameliorate our service quality.

It is of our most priority to facilitate the journeys of our guests in Shanghai. With the ideal location and time honored property as you mentioned, Pacfic Hotel, Shanghai stands as one of the best spots to start the tour around Shanghai throughout its prosperous history. Also, we are delight to announce that some renovation of the establishment will be launched soon in order to fit the higher standards of our customers.

The service team of Pacific Hotel looks forward to welcome you back should you travel bring s you back to Shanghai.

Warmest Regards,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    140
    106
    22
    13
See reviews for
33
28
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Generally speaking, staying at this hotel was a good experience. However, there were 4 things that irked me.

1) No Wifi on rooms they only have LAN (i stayed on Deluxe Room)
2) Upon checkin, they will tell you that the room where you are assigned has view "of the inside" of the hotel so if you want to be transferred to a room with a view of people square, you have to pay additional 100RMB per night!
3) Room cooling/heating is not good. I stayed there on a fairly hot day so I was sweating even if I turned the air conditioner at maximum.
4) I used the "laundry bag" to put my dirty clothes on and I was charged 10RMB upon checkout. Eventhough it's only 10RMB I was still shocked that I was charged as I did not expect this from a "4-star" hotel. I was never charged when I used the laundry bag on other hotels like Radisson blu, park Plaza, and Dorsett Shanghai. So please understand my shock.

Word of caution though, for men who are staying here, if you go out or arrive between 8pm onwards, some men are waiting right outside the hotel offering "lady massage".

Lastly, prepare to carry your luggage up the stairs from the 1st floor to the 2nd floor as the hotel is on the 2nd floor and you cannot access the elevator from the 1st floor. You'd be lucky if there are bellboys waiting outside as they will help you.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for rooms away from elevator and away from housekeeping quarters. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your time to share the experience following your stay at Pacfic Hotel, Shanghai. It is of great pleasure to be informed that you had an overall nice experience with us.The detailed feedback you provided will inspire us to ameilorate our service quality

Your reasonable concern about the room amenities has been well noted and handled by the direct departments. Also, for the occassional abscense of the bell attendants, our service team have been notified and we shall prevent such problem from reoccurring in the future. Regarding the pimps wandering during nightfall, we are cooperating with locals and trying the best to make sure they will not disturb our guests' accommodation.

Should we have privilege, the service team of Pacific Hotel will look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have stayed couple of times in this hotel during my visit to Shanghai. I prefer this location as its just few meters away from people square taxis are easily available and few kilometers away from Xintandi. Metro station is across the street and under the park.

Room Tip: Take room on the high floor facing the city to enjoy a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your valuable experience on TripAdvisor as well as your fidelity with our Pacific Hotel, Shanghai. We are delighted to be informed that our service and facilities had lived up to your expectation.

Thank you very much, and the service team of Pacific Hotel is looking forward to your return in not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Ideal business location, bed sleep quality good, but do not take a room near housekeeping.. They are so noisy. Period attraction of the 1930's hotel would appeal to some travellers. Over all adequate. As for travellers who state limited English at reception. This was no worse or better of the vast majority of Chinese hotels. When in rome... Come on everyone communication is half the adventure.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share the valuable experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at Pacific Hotel, Shanghai. Your detailed feedback will constantly inspire us to amerliorate our service quality.

We are delighted to be informed that the accessibility of our location has fit well your expectation. Moreover, the noise near Housekeeping quarters disturbed your rest, which we shall render our very most apology. Your concern has been well-noted and forwarded to related department. Should we have privilege, the service team of Pacific Hotel, Shanghai will look forward to your return in not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived at the hotel nearly 2 am and at first thought we were dropped off at the wrong place. But a longer look at the building showed it was the same as in the photos of the property.

Pacific Hotel is perfectly located if you want to be close to Nanjing Road. It is literally a stone's throw away! The nice thing about its location is that the Metro (line 1,2. and 9) is across the street, and so is the People's Park. The sightseeing buses also have their stations a mere 50 meters away.

The front desk staff get by with passable English but have difficulty responding to questions about tourist spots. I tried to inquire about the French Concession area and all I got were blanks looks from the young staff. It took an elderly staff member to comprehend what I was asking about. The bell staff are helpful, though quite curt in their responses. (Again maybe because they do not speak English well).

There is no wi-fi in the rooms. Free wi-fi is only available in the lobby and the Bar. However, there is free wired internet in the rooms. Mac users will find this a letdown!

The room amenities are basic. Only tea is available along with 2 small bottles of water. For breakfast, there are several bakeshops close to the hotel where one can get coffee and bread products. Our favorite was Cafe 85 along the same road (turn right when you get out of hotel and walk straight till you pass the moviehouse). It is open 24 hours and serves coffee, tea, fruit juices, smoothies, milk teas as well as good bakery products.

Rooms are generously spacious. We had the rooms facing the park and it was refreshing to wake up and open the curtains to see the greenery. The beds are very comfortable, and the pillows were great.

Fair warning though to non-smokers, the hotel is a smoking hotel and the common areas smell of cigarette smoke.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay at the Pacific Hotel and I would recommend it for its location and affordable rates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santi331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at Pacfic Hotel, Shanghai. It is always a great pleasure to hear informative hints and reasonable advices from our guests concerning their accomodation and jouney.

We are very pleased to be informed that our accomodation and the accessibility of the location had lived up to your expectation. Due to most of our staff still undergoing training of English, we apologize that let you encounterred difficulty in communication. However, it is our ultimate creed to constantly ameliorate our service quality, so as our staff. Should we have privilege, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in not too distant furture.

(P.S. there is a slightly mistake concerning the metro connections nearby, not 1,2 & 9, but 1,2 & 8)

Thank you for your reviews,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

With the best of locations, this hotel is bang in the middle of Shanghai giving you access to restaurants, shopping and easy transport access. They could do better with some room upkeep but generally the hotel is just fine with the room rate you get.

Room Tip: If you pay a little premium on your standard room you can get a room with a awesome view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadthemadtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you time to share valuable experience on TripAdvisor following your stay at Pacific Hotel. Your detailed feedback will constant inspire us to improve our service quality to fit your satisfaction.

We are very delighted to be informed that our ideal location had lived up to your expectation. It is undoubted that we share the most convenient place throughout the People’s Square, which is the joint hub for three metro connections. Your reasonable concern about dated facilities has been also well-noted and forwarded to related department. It is a great honor to announce that we are about to launch some renovation recently to upgrade our hardware in order to meet our most faithful guests’ expectation. Should we have privilege; the service team of Pacific Hotel will look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I ve recently visited Shanghai on business and booked Pacific hotel for the central and convenient location. You can easily reach it from either airport by metro line 2 (don't bother with the maglev train from Pudong, it's not worth it in this case).
Right there on People's square, walking distance or short metro or taxi ride from most important places and sights in this vast city.
My room was a king with park view, nice wood paneling, marble bathroom, a little dated but very beautiful, cost about 80 euros/night.
Breakfast was a nice spread of western and oriental fare, a steal at about 8 euros per person.

Wish they had wifi in the rooms (only cable available) and maybe a fitness center.

I would recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_Peponas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinmen, Director of Sales at Pacific Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your time to share your reviews on TripAdvisor following your stay at Pacific Hotel, Shanghai. We highly appreciate your views concerning the location of our property, indeed as you state, the connection hub is just at our door step. Furthermore, your resonable concerning about Wifi connection and fitness have been well-noted, and will be forwarded to related department. Should you travel bring you back to Shanghai, Pacfic Hotel will look forward to serve you again as the your "Home away from Home".

Warmest regards,

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Park Hotel Shanghai
Park Hotel Shanghai
#126 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#167 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#144 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#450 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#38 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Hotel

Property: Pacific Hotel
Address: No.108 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#54 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#67 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Hotel is located at Huangpu District, Shanghai, China. It offers air-conditioned rooms, all of which have room safe, telephone with voice mail, and high-speed Internet access. Some of its amenities include Jinmen Club (spa and beauty salon), badminton and swimming facilities, and complimentary shuttle bus to and from Hongqiao International Airport. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like The Bund, Oriental Pearl TV Tower, and Shanghai Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing