We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$60
View deal
Expedia.com
$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Trip.com
$54
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Booking.com$60
Hotels.com$66
Destinia.com$92
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
73
169
121
29
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
73
169
121
29
19
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 411 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our first night, we were given a free upgrade because the room we paid for wasn't available. We were put on the 4th floor which was not accessible by elevator. There are two 4th floors. Our room was on the 4th floor where you had to carry your luggage down a flight of stairs after getting off the elevator. Weird. The room was actually nice and the bathroom was newly renovated so all was well. Only problem was, the lobby, hallways and elevators ALWAYS smelled of either cigarette smoke, bug spray or wet moldy wood/wet towel. Inside the room was fine. The next day, they moved us to our our room which turned out to be really old and smelly. The wood flooring was old and uncared for. It squeeked in some parts of the room. The entire room smelled of old moldy wood. The bathroom was outdated with black mold surrounding the exhaust vent right above the shower. It felt like I was in a creepy, haunted mansion, similar to the Haunted Mansion @ Disney World. Someone else mentioned that they only half clean the rooms. Same things with us. We noticed that they emptied the trash but didn't fix our bed. One morning, we were walking to the elevator and saw that the cleaners were sitting on the bed watching tv. It made me wonder what they do in my room when I'm out. We asked for a non-smoking room but the room next to us must've been smoking because all of a sudden, the a/c started blowing in second hand smoke the whole night. So it stank of smoke in the lobby, of bugspray in the hallway, of wet/mold in the elevator, and second hand smoke in my room. This hotel was lousy. I couldn't wait to check out!

Room tip: They wanted to charge us an extra 100RMB for a room with a view. No view means you look out at neighboring hotels.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is the worst of all Jin Jiang run hotels in China! The property is very old which was transformed in to a hotel. Probably the last major rennovation work was done ages back! Most of the furnitures are literally old! Standard/Superior rooms are congested with a small bathroom. Housekeeping staff does half the work - one day I found out room and beds done but the waste bin not cleaned; also s/he forgot to place fresh soap in the bathroom. On my 3rd and final day, after ending up in the hotel in the evening, I found 50-100 big flies in the room! Probably the housekeeping person forgot to close the window properly!! After complaining, they were prompt in changing the room and placed me in a bigger room. But that new room had really old furnitures and had a funny uncomforting odor! You shall be advised to call the reception if you call housekeeping (no english spoken in housekeeping). Breakfast you might want to skip. Getting out of the hotel when it rains is a big issue since the hotel does not have a porch for your car/taxi to pick you. The hotel entrance is right on the public walkway beside Nanjing west road.

I believe I have told enough negative for any hotel; now a couple of positives.

One plus is the location of the hotel.

Another plus might be the reasonable price for this location - but it underweighs by the many minuses!

It surely is not value for whatever money you are paying!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hasska
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A real old fashioned grand looking hotel both inside and out. Well located on Peoples Square just across from subway exit 8. Short walk to Nanjing Street pedestrian area.
Room was large and spacious (we upgraded to a room overlooking the square) cleaned everyday, and everything worked well , TV , broadband and air con. Safe , mini bar and kettle in room. Bathroom was good with both a bath and good hot shower and toiletries provided. Beds were slightly softer than usual Chinese beds, we had a very comfortable nights sleep.
Staff spoke some English and were helpful, porters helped carry bags up the front staircase and into lift and to the room . Overall we had an excellent and comfortable stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

A very grand looking building. It is excellently placed in the centre of Shanghai. Unfortunately it seems offer its rooms to the local prostitutes as well (a pimp/tout hangs out at the front door each evening). This was only an issue as the walls are not soundproofed!
Also the bell boys don't bother to collect your bags when you arrive, then carry them 10 m when you leave and hassle you for a tip (which is then taken by management). Carry your own bags to save the hassle.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our 4 night stay here in a spacious room overlooking Peoples' Park. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom fine with all amenities supplied. The entrance is unusual in that you'll find a large staircase to take you to the reception. Porters are there to help with luggage but their isolation on the footpath doesn't make them seem particularly happy. The location is excellent being near the Peoples Square, metro, restaurants and shops. Would definitely stay there again.

Room tip: Definitely get a room overlooking the park.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneTom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews