We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel
Ranked #212 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was visiting Shanghai on a group trip, so I did not get to chose this hotel, but I liked it! The lobby is beautiful and spacious (although it doesn't have enough seating). The hotel room was spacious, with a nice bathroom and pretty views of the fancy neighborhood. The room did seem a little dated, but everything was very clean and comfortable, so it was fine!

The breakfast buffet was pretty great. Be forewarned, coffee drinkers, it's hard to flag down a waitress to give you coffee, but otherwise, no complaints.

Grab a copy of the free Shanghai Times English paper on your way into breakfast. There's also CNN and CNBC in your hotel room.

The hotel is in a very fancy neighborhood with high-end shops and malls on Nanjing Road. It's a pleasant (and safe) place to walk around in the evening. You're also close to a very cool Buddhist temple.

Cons:

- There's no free wi-fi and I was not willing to pay U.S.$20 a day, so I did without. No big deal, I'm on vacation.
- There's a weird box next to the bed to turn on and off the TV and all lights (see photo). It should make it more convenient to turn things on and off from bed, but it led to a light show every night because the buttons never did what they were supposed to do!
- We tried a few of the bars in the hotel and were not impressed. The piano bar had a piano, but no one was playing it on the night we were there, and it seemed a little shabby for such a nice hotel. The Cuba bar was smoky (which makes sense) and very few people were there. The drinks were also pretty pricey, but that's standard for a hotel bar.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmGusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 451 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

The location is good as it is very close to my office. It's easy to find food and transporation in the proximity.

I have stayed there for a few times. The rooms on the lower floors are older. It is better to choose upper floors. Breakfast is good with a wide array of selections though it is not delicate.

Special thanks to the Concierge as they are really helpful!!

Room Tip: Rooms are better on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yenn_Yenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were in Shanghai on business and the JC Mandarin was suggested to us by local contacts. What a great choice, we stayed for 7 nights and loved every moment. The hotel, whilst being older then many is friendly and the rooms are very comfortable and spotless top to bottom and not too big to be impersonal. Breakfast is a banquet with everything you could imagine available. The Nanjing Road is just amazing with the Peoples Square at one end and the Bund at the other, there are two Metro stations close by and taxies are always available at the hotel and are good value for money. The cocktail bar is worth a visit and the restaurants nearby are numerous.

When we left we spoke to two managers in the foyer to thank them for the great stay, to our astonishment we were told it was closing soon to be pulled down and turned into ANOTHER shopping mall-how many more does Shanghai need-hope it is not the case!!

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking the Nanjing Road-spectacular at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I recently spent five days in Shanghai
If I am totally honest China was not on my list of places to visit but because my husband has been working in china I decided to pay a visit.
How wrong can someone be it was amazing, five days not long enough.
The hotel J C Mandarin was perfect, very comfortable bed everything catered for first class breakfast, friendly helpful staff, and excellent location.

See you next year!.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our stay here in Shanghai was made even more pleasant by our time here with the staff being very helpful & polite. The location suited our needs perfectly. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast menu was very good also.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddyo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed 8 nights in October. The room was reasonably nice but you could definitely see some wear and tear. The good news was the AC actually worked (unlike my 1st hotel) and the room had a mini fridge so I could keep my water cold. If you like cold drinks, than get ready to be disappointed in China. I thought the food was overpriced - $35 for the breakfast buffet but there were 3 Starbucks within 2 blocks and a western grocery store across the street by the Ritz. The options for restaurants within walking distance was excellent. The Metro stop was a short walk and the staff were all very friendly. I didn't appreciate being charged $20 for each 24 hours of internet usage. The health club was quite nice with a lot of good equipment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soccerdad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The is a good hotel and well connected for the city being only a block away from the underground. A 15 minute walk will take you to people's square or in the other direction to the temple. The breakfast was good and there was enough western choice. The staff speak acceptable English so getting understood is not an issue. If you can get a deal - well worth the stay.
[sorry may appear twice as I had an issue with Phone login]

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#62 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,518 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#154 of 5,159 in Shanghai
210 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#103 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,177 reviews
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#21 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel

Address: No.1225 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#210 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $38 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, the 5-star hotel is the mark of modern comfort and convenience, which blends the best of the East and West. It is located in the middle of the business and shopping district on the famous Nanjing Road, adjacent to the Shanghai Exhibition Center, Shanghai Centre, Plaza 66 and famous Wujiang Gourmet Street. Shanghai Airport Terminal, Metro Line 2, Metro 7 and entry to Shanghai’s integrated system of highways are just a short distance away. With so many attractions close by, you will never run out of things to do at the hotel. 514 spacious rooms, international gourmet cuisine by master chefs, an abundance of recreational options, viable conference venues, a pillar-less Grand Ballroom covering 845 sqm and five stylish meeting rooms and ergonomically designed boardrooms, fully equipped fitness centre, two tennis courts and spa …the hotel offers luxurious comfort and meticulous care.The lobby was renovated and now features a magnificent 5-storey, hand-painted lacquer mural of Admiral Zheng-Ho, surrounded by golden-foiled pictures of the morning sun and peaceful waves. This famous artwork provides the lobby with a unique look at Chinese art history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Jc Mandarin Hotel Shanghai
Mandarin Shanghai
Shanghai Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing