We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel
Ranked #191 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The location is good as it is very close to my office. It's easy to find food and transporation in the proximity.

I have stayed there for a few times. The rooms on the lower floors are older. It is better to choose upper floors. Breakfast is good with a wide array of selections though it is not delicate.

Special thanks to the Concierge as they are really helpful!!

Room Tip: Rooms are better on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yenn_Yenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    229
    114
    25
    9
See reviews for
32
45
46
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were in Shanghai on business and the JC Mandarin was suggested to us by local contacts. What a great choice, we stayed for 7 nights and loved every moment. The hotel, whilst being older then many is friendly and the rooms are very comfortable and spotless top to bottom and not too big to be impersonal. Breakfast is a banquet with everything you could imagine available. The Nanjing Road is just amazing with the Peoples Square at one end and the Bund at the other, there are two Metro stations close by and taxies are always available at the hotel and are good value for money. The cocktail bar is worth a visit and the restaurants nearby are numerous.

When we left we spoke to two managers in the foyer to thank them for the great stay, to our astonishment we were told it was closing soon to be pulled down and turned into ANOTHER shopping mall-how many more does Shanghai need-hope it is not the case!!

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking the Nanjing Road-spectacular at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I recently spent five days in Shanghai
If I am totally honest China was not on my list of places to visit but because my husband has been working in china I decided to pay a visit.
How wrong can someone be it was amazing, five days not long enough.
The hotel J C Mandarin was perfect, very comfortable bed everything catered for first class breakfast, friendly helpful staff, and excellent location.

See you next year!.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our stay here in Shanghai was made even more pleasant by our time here with the staff being very helpful & polite. The location suited our needs perfectly. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast menu was very good also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddyo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed 8 nights in October. The room was reasonably nice but you could definitely see some wear and tear. The good news was the AC actually worked (unlike my 1st hotel) and the room had a mini fridge so I could keep my water cold. If you like cold drinks, than get ready to be disappointed in China. I thought the food was overpriced - $35 for the breakfast buffet but there were 3 Starbucks within 2 blocks and a western grocery store across the street by the Ritz. The options for restaurants within walking distance was excellent. The Metro stop was a short walk and the staff were all very friendly. I didn't appreciate being charged $20 for each 24 hours of internet usage. The health club was quite nice with a lot of good equipment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccerdad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The is a good hotel and well connected for the city being only a block away from the underground. A 15 minute walk will take you to people's square or in the other direction to the temple. The breakfast was good and there was enough western choice. The staff speak acceptable English so getting understood is not an issue. If you can get a deal - well worth the stay.
[sorry may appear twice as I had an issue with Phone login]

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location for walking - shopping - sightseeing - and access to subway.

Some of the rooms are a little tired. Mine - for a three day stay - had a saggy mattress and a work chair at the desk which had lost any sense of padding in the seat.

Be careful, NOT to get a room with interconnection to adjoining room -- OK, it's locked, but you can hear all the voices and other sounds (!) from the adjoining room - which means that they can probably hear yours, too !

And - this is a hotel with aggressive policies for access to internet. When internet access should now be covered in the tariff, just like electricity and water, this place charges HIGH fees for access. Complain at the front desk and you might get them waived - though front desk staff should learn how to smile, when they are helping guests.

Even a "Thank you for staying, did you enjoy your stay?" might have been nice to hear on checkout ! But it didn't happen.

Room Tip: Avoid room with interconnection capability (unless you want it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzJamesBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having spent your time to brief us with regards to the hotel facilities and services you have experienced recently.
I hasten to write to your attention and sincerely regret for any inconveniences that might have caused. I fully agree that our service standards should reach to the 5-star rating hotel guest expectation. Your comments will help us serve you and all our guests better in the future. The Hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proven to be valuable to us.
As a token of our humble of apology, we would upgrade your room to our Executive Club including Club Lounge benefits for 2 on your next visit to Shanghai in order to enable us to make your stay comfort with us.
Rest assured that we will continue to extend our best hospitality service, I remain.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel Limited
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#54 of 5,059 in Shanghai
213 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#49 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,124 reviews
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Pei Mansion Hotel
Pei Mansion Hotel
#642 of 5,059 in Shanghai
60 reviews
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#21 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,069 reviews
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel

Property: Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel
Address: No.1225 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#164 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, the 5-star hotel is the mark of modern comfort and convenience, which blends the best of the East and West. It is located in the middle of the business and shopping district on the famous Nanjing Road, adjacent to the Shanghai Exhibition Center, Shanghai Centre, Plaza 66 and famous Wujiang Gourmet Street. Shanghai Airport Terminal, Metro Line 2, Metro 7 and entry to Shanghai’s integrated system of highways are just a short distance away. With so many attractions close by, you will never run out of things to do at the hotel. 514 spacious rooms, international gourmet cuisine by master chefs, an abundance of recreational options, viable conference venues, a pillar-less Grand Ballroom covering 845 sqm and five stylish meeting rooms and ergonomically designed boardrooms, fully equipped fitness centre, two tennis courts and spa …the hotel offers luxurious comfort and meticulous care.The lobby was renovated and now features a magnificent 5-storey, hand-painted lacquer mural of Admiral Zheng-Ho, surrounded by golden-foiled pictures of the morning sun and peaceful waves. This famous artwork provides the lobby with a unique look at Chinese art history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Jc Mandarin Hotel Shanghai
Mandarin Shanghai
Shanghai Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing