We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel
Ranked #180 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a nice hotel located at the center of the "happening area". Clean but some of their things are quite old and needs to be replaced...like the hair dryer, it seems like it was from circa 1980's to 90's. They have a nice lobby, truly asian design with beautiful fresh flowers everyday. But this is not a five star hotel. And most of the staff do not speak English

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your appreciation of the shopping area location of our hotel. The oriental touch and the focus on detail are always the attractions of JC Mandarin.
It is true that JC Mandarin is one of the international hotels opened in over 20 years ago, with complete renovation in the lobby, ballroom and restaurants. Brand new beds, mattress, linins and amenity were changes in rooms last year. Our team will continue to provide language training program to our staffs to improve their communication skills.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    229
    114
    25
    9
See reviews for
32
45
46
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iligan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is located right in the heart of Nanjing Road, Shanghai's shopping mecca. It's lobby is very spacious & tastefully decorated. Our room on the 8th floor has a nice view of the city skyline & it's quite big with twin double beds. Too bad wifi is not free, it's RMB120/24 hrs internet. Anyway, no use having it 'cause facebook,twitter nor any social network in the whole of China is allowed..Buffet breakfast is quite sumptuous but it seems they offer more or less the same fare each morning we were there(3 breakfasts). Also, the dining area staff insists to have us seated together with our group instead of giving us the freedom to sit anywhere we wish.Feels we were somewhat discriminated. Anyway, we insisted on having our way & we prevailed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your compliments on our hotel location. RMB60/hour is another choice for Wifi in rooms. Wifi is also on complimentary in our restaurants. Our chef provides different seasonal dishes every days and give the over 30 selections including Japanese, Continental breakfast, American breakfast and Chinese cuisines. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do for you.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for four days recently and really liked the property. The rooms are somewhat dated and in need of light updates but overall very nice. The breakfast and internet add-on is well worth the price and highly recommended. Staff was attentive and helpful. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Executive floors, it's worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerraWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free breakfasts, wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as it was recommended. The building itself is a bit old but the interior is absolutely OK. It is unfortunate that obviously some guests in non-smoking rooms do not adhere to the non-smoking rule, one can smell the smoke in the next room. One sometimes hears the noise (TV/talking) from the next room. My mattress was a bit hard to sleep on. The lights can only be regulated from one side of the bed. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raventos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We will strongly insist on non-smoking rule and continue to make improvement.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Location is what makes this hotel five star. It is on west Nanjing road and very close to subway station. It has been a good hotel at one point but now it cannot be five star with western standards.Be aware Wifi is extra charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aykut2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free breakfasts, wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

For those considering staying at this hotel it is key to understand what you can expect and what you should not from the choice. What you can expect: good midrange quality of accommodation (low-end 4-star in my personal judgment), a prime location in town with convenient access to transportation and a nice view over the city. What you should not expect - as you won't get: the luxury associated with hotels of its rank.

The hotel is definitely very generous in promoting themselves as a 5-star (friends from Shanghai advice me this was the top place in town in the early 90s, unfortunately no much upgrade work seems to having been carried out since) thought the fact rates are up to ~20% lower than 5-star options in same area hints the hotel has something to give to its contemporary competitors.

Being familiar with the city, the location and the property, we booked this hotel with good understanding of what to expect and the hotel just delivered on the expectations: for the reasonable price that we paid, we got good resting, a nice view over the city and a perfect location for a leisure day in town. We would return to this place as it matches our travel standards and we feel recommending it as long as you understand the strengths and the limitations of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Pudong for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdilieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you. For the hotel facilities, we will step up the pace of the maintenance and renovation.
Meanwhile, we are also very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free breakfasts, wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel about 4-5 times in the last 7 years. Location is amongst the best in Shanghai on very trendy Nanjing St W. Room is quite large and cannot fault it too much.The carpeting in the room I could do without...but it was quite clean...much better than the last room I had stayed in.The carpeting in the corridors is very tired and needs replacement .I really do not understand what they are waiting for to change it.The property is worth a fortune but they do not want to invest in new carpeting??? The service is OK...not good.It is just very basic bland service.I only ate the breakfast buffet and it is a good one but service is non existent. Just self service ...there are plenty of waitresses but so poorly trained that they do not really know what to do.Not their fault....management clearly has no training program for the staff.This is one of the biggest problems in China...NO TRAINING...I have been coming to China since 1985 and service is no better now than it was then...in hotels like this..Still it is an excellent location and room is clean and has good amenities...so I can recommend it if the price does not creep above $130 USD

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments
Your feedback is important in helping us to improve our hotel standards and facilities
We appreciate your good comments about our good location and the cleanliness of our rooms
Please accept our apologies for the less than perfect experience that you were made to bear in our hotel.
We are now in the process of planning our renovations sometime this year.
With regards to the poor service that you received, we have informed the concerned departments about your comments and we are taking the immediate actions to reinforce the training standards in all areas of the hotel.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you by way of us offering you a free upgrade to one of our newly renovated rooms the next time you come back and stay with us again.
Kindly let us know in advance when you plan to stay with us again so that we can book one of these new rooms for you.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the JC Mandarin hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#40 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#146 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#60 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel

Property: Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel
Address: No.1225 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#156 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, the 5-star hotel is the mark of modern comfort and convenience, which blends the best of the East and West. It is located in the middle of the business and shopping district on the famous Nanjing Road, adjacent to the Shanghai Exhibition Center, Shanghai Centre, Plaza 66 and famous Wujiang Gourmet Street. Shanghai Airport Terminal, Metro Line 2, Metro 7 and entry to Shanghai’s integrated system of highways are just a short distance away. With so many attractions close by, you will never run out of things to do at the hotel. 514 spacious rooms, international gourmet cuisine by master chefs, an abundance of recreational options, viable conference venues, a pillar-less Grand Ballroom covering 845 sqm and five stylish meeting rooms and ergonomically designed boardrooms, fully equipped fitness centre, two tennis courts and spa …the hotel offers luxurious comfort and meticulous care.The lobby was renovated and now features a magnificent 5-storey, hand-painted lacquer mural of Admiral Zheng-Ho, surrounded by golden-foiled pictures of the morning sun and peaceful waves. This famous artwork provides the lobby with a unique look at Chinese art history. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shanghai Jc Mandarin Hotel Shanghai
Mandarin Shanghai
Shanghai Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing