We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated but good value for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel
Ranked #212 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed February 13, 2013

For those considering staying at this hotel it is key to understand what you can expect and what you should not from the choice. What you can expect: good midrange quality of accommodation (low-end 4-star in my personal judgment), a prime location in town with convenient access to transportation and a nice view over the city. What you should not expect - as you won't get: the luxury associated with hotels of its rank.

The hotel is definitely very generous in promoting themselves as a 5-star (friends from Shanghai advice me this was the top place in town in the early 90s, unfortunately no much upgrade work seems to having been carried out since) thought the fact rates are up to ~20% lower than 5-star options in same area hints the hotel has something to give to its contemporary competitors.

Being familiar with the city, the location and the property, we booked this hotel with good understanding of what to expect and the hotel just delivered on the expectations: for the reasonable price that we paid, we got good resting, a nice view over the city and a perfect location for a leisure day in town. We would return to this place as it matches our travel standards and we feel recommending it as long as you understand the strengths and the limitations of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Pudong for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdilieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you. For the hotel facilities, we will step up the pace of the maintenance and renovation.
Meanwhile, we are also very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free breakfasts, wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 451 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel about 4-5 times in the last 7 years. Location is amongst the best in Shanghai on very trendy Nanjing St W. Room is quite large and cannot fault it too much.The carpeting in the room I could do without...but it was quite clean...much better than the last room I had stayed in.The carpeting in the corridors is very tired and needs replacement .I really do not understand what they are waiting for to change it.The property is worth a fortune but they do not want to invest in new carpeting??? The service is OK...not good.It is just very basic bland service.I only ate the breakfast buffet and it is a good one but service is non existent. Just self service ...there are plenty of waitresses but so poorly trained that they do not really know what to do.Not their fault....management clearly has no training program for the staff.This is one of the biggest problems in China...NO TRAINING...I have been coming to China since 1985 and service is no better now than it was then...in hotels like this..Still it is an excellent location and room is clean and has good amenities...so I can recommend it if the price does not creep above $130 USD

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments
Your feedback is important in helping us to improve our hotel standards and facilities
We appreciate your good comments about our good location and the cleanliness of our rooms
Please accept our apologies for the less than perfect experience that you were made to bear in our hotel.
We are now in the process of planning our renovations sometime this year.
With regards to the poor service that you received, we have informed the concerned departments about your comments and we are taking the immediate actions to reinforce the training standards in all areas of the hotel.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you by way of us offering you a free upgrade to one of our newly renovated rooms the next time you come back and stay with us again.
Kindly let us know in advance when you plan to stay with us again so that we can book one of these new rooms for you.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the JC Mandarin hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Classy aging hotel. Big rooms, very good restaurant, buffet expensive so better choose a rate with if interested. They charge for wi fi and I don't personally care for that. Location is great...restaurants, bars, shopping is high end. Cheaper to take taxi from airport than try to use hi speed rail.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhudog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free breakfasts, wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at JC for 2 nights and I am happy with this hotel for its spacious, clean and good view rooms. The bed is very comfort and you can choose types of pillows. One compliant is on the toilet as the shower is still very old and it is not moveable. Hair dryer is also very old as it is mounted on the wall and is not powerful enough. It is difficult for family with children. Breakfast was excellent and offered many choices and I really like the orange juice as it is freshly squeezed. Overall it is a good hotel for business.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icwy1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you. For the hotel facilities, we will step up the pace of the maintenance and renovation.
Meanwhile, we are also very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free breakfasts, wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Well placed along the Nanjing Rd, which is a premier location with lots of high end shopping (relatively overpriced brands compared to singapore). Easy to find the hotel from far, take note of the names of the cross junctions if you taking a cab (that how they locate places).

Rooms are relatively old but clean, breakfast is decent but menu gets boring for long stays. I really like the gym and pool facilities thou and it not packed. Please use the master switch at the console instead of remote to switch on your TV, took me a while to realise by call the operator. Overall the staff are pretty nice but they speak alot better in mandarin then english. If you are keen to explore non-touristy places it would be better to do your own research prior than asking the counter staff thou.

Had a few pitfalls during my week stay, i made the mistake of telling my taxi driver it was my first trip, and he precieved i am very well-off stay at a premier location. Ended up paying an exhorbitant fare by force, hotel staff offer to help by bringing to make a police report but i do not really think its meaningful for the effort. Two, there is a KTV at the basement (those with ladies for company) being a single man alone, i pretty much get hussle everything i walk out the hotel in the late evening.

I may want to try another hotel to determine if JC is worth a second trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singaporr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel.

We have passed on our comments about having more variety of food in our breakfast buffet and we will take action to ensure that there are more choices in our buffet.

With regards to your complaint about the taxi overpricing, we have tried to help you all we can but we really have no control for outside taxi drivers except to take down their license plates. You also could reserve hotel limo. It is safety and convenience. We have limo promotion for you that CNY390 for Pudong Airport one-way pick up/ send off and CNY180 for Hongqiao Airport one-way pick up/send off. More details you could inquire our Concierge staff. We are always at your service.

It is the same as when you get hassled outside our hotel by any ladies- these things beyond our control as we are not responsible to enforce any rules outside our hotel.

Thank you for your understanding.

Looking forward to your coming again.

Best regards,

Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed over nearly 30 nights in this hotel in 2012 because of it's price and proximity to work.

Room 3.5/5
The room is satisfactory. The living area is clean and well kept and the windows are large with decent views. The bathroom is a little old and I always have trouble with the shower. The pressure is often too strong and the hot water can be sometimes inconsistent. Sometimes the water will turn extremely hot followed by extremely cold.

Fitness Facilities 5/5
I found the fitness facilities to be great. It has what I need and am looking for (except medicine balls), a nice pool, hot tub, and steam room. The service staff have always been extremely friendly.

Price
I use Expedia typically to book because I have found this to be the best price. Keep in mind that internet will cost you an extra 120RMB a day - something to factor into your price decisions. You can upgrade for 300RMB a day to have lounge access, internet, breakfast, and parking.

Loyalty: 2/5
The JC Mandarin was recently added to Interstate China group of hotels. No formal loyalty program exists and are not part of any international programs. I have stayed nearly 30 nights and not received any loyalty benefits. If you are looking to accumulate elite nights, look to international chains.

Tips:
- To hail a cab, it may be faster to walk down to the street. Use this if you know where you are going and know how to communicate with the cab driver. If not, the hotel staff can help you in the official taxi queue.
- Look out for small souvenirs that house keeping leaves behind every day they tidy your room
- Looking for an iron and ironing board? These don't come pre-equipped in the room and you must call housekeeping for them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Charles,
Thank you for meeting me.
It was good to hear your comments about our hotel and to be able to explain our side as well.
I have informed our Management about your feedback especially with the shower temperature being unstable and they are doing something about this to monitor the showers in our rooms.
As mentioned let me know next time you plan to stay in our hotel and we can do something special for you.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel
Let us keep in touch.
Stella for EAM Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is on a good location near numerous high end stores and malls. Taxis to other locations are very cheap. Hotel spa is very nice.

There are a few restaurants in this hotel and I ate in the Chinese restaurant and the wine bar. On both occasions I was the only customer which was slightly off-putting to say the least.
There is a cafe near the hotel reception but coffee prices are way too high.

Because I was on a business trip I asked to get two separate invoices - one with the room rate only and the restaurant charges etc on the other. However, this caused a lot of issues and took a while to get.

Some hotel staff speak very limited English so it is useful to have a few local phrases.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgurl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear guest,
Your comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#62 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,518 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#154 of 5,159 in Shanghai
210 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#103 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,177 reviews
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#21 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel

Address: No.1225 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#210 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $38 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, the 5-star hotel is the mark of modern comfort and convenience, which blends the best of the East and West. It is located in the middle of the business and shopping district on the famous Nanjing Road, adjacent to the Shanghai Exhibition Center, Shanghai Centre, Plaza 66 and famous Wujiang Gourmet Street. Shanghai Airport Terminal, Metro Line 2, Metro 7 and entry to Shanghai’s integrated system of highways are just a short distance away. With so many attractions close by, you will never run out of things to do at the hotel. 514 spacious rooms, international gourmet cuisine by master chefs, an abundance of recreational options, viable conference venues, a pillar-less Grand Ballroom covering 845 sqm and five stylish meeting rooms and ergonomically designed boardrooms, fully equipped fitness centre, two tennis courts and spa …the hotel offers luxurious comfort and meticulous care.The lobby was renovated and now features a magnificent 5-storey, hand-painted lacquer mural of Admiral Zheng-Ho, surrounded by golden-foiled pictures of the morning sun and peaceful waves. This famous artwork provides the lobby with a unique look at Chinese art history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Jc Mandarin Hotel Shanghai
Mandarin Shanghai
Shanghai Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing