We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no help,old furniture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel
Ranked #201 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel location is good.there are two near metro station .
In the night around the hotel is lively and safe no problem.
but the stuff are not help full when you face problem.
The room furniture are old...it is no bad but old.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuri1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your valuable comments.
We have discussed your feedback with the Management team and especially with the concerned departments for further actions.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that these might have caused you during your stay.
Please give us another opportunity to be of service to you by way of offering you a complimentary room upgrade whenever you plan to stay with us again.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel in the near future

Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 451 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

There are many wonderful 4 and 5 star hotels in Shanghai. Incredible spaces and great rooms. Sadly, the JC Mandarin rooms does not deliver at a 4-5 star hotel. I chose this hotel on hotels.com because the rate was a bit better than other 4-5 star hotels, thinking they were running a special. But, I got what I paid for, and was not worth saving $40/night. The lobby looks nice, the size of the building and its location is impressive. And then I got into the room -- poor, tired, not at all what is expected. The room is a time warp, going back at least 15-20 years. It is in DESPERATE need of updating and cleaning. Things that should never be in a 4-5 star hotel room: remember those old clunky control panels by the bed that you use to turn on power to TV and lights? It looks like it's from 1985. Still here. An old built-in hair dryer from 1970s with those yellow/cream color hose. Bathtub with a cloth beige shower curtain and beige rubber mat hanging over the side of the tub you have to put in the tub -- bother are disgusting these days, and the shower curtain and grouting had all kinds of black mold. (What good hotels still use these things?); the tile on the bathroom is very old, discolored, and sceevy; the toilet is basic and tired, along with the other bathroom fixtures. Overall bathroom looks like from a tired house from the 1980s that never has been renovated. Other things: Carpet is OLD, beige, and discolored and stained; The king bed is thinly padded and I easily felt the inner-workings of the mattress, and more suitable for a college student dorm; The air system: Some 1970s looking air control, which I believe only does AC and not heat. Room Service will deliver you ice. The ice buckets were disgusting, and I would never use the ice that came in it. No plastic bags, and the plastic buckets inside were discolored, scratched, gross. Again, easily fixable if someone understood what a nicer hotel's standards should be.
The hotel would not be bad, if someone actually took some capital investment and put these sad tired rooms out of their misery and updated them to this century.
Staff has been welcoming and nice. The physical space and location is great. But it is at best a 3 star budget standard hotel trying to live in a 4-5 star building.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments regarding our hotel facilities.
We apologize that you were not entirely happy with your room facilities; however we would like to let you know that your comments were seriously discussed by our Management team for further rectification and actions
Our hotel management is doing its best to improve and upgrade our faculties in the next few months but this takes a bit of time to accomplish considering we have about 500 rooms so we asks your patience to give us time to work on these renovations.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you by way of us offering you a complimentary overnight stay in one of our Club rooms or Suites whenever you plan to come again
Again we apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you during your stay with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've recently come back from spending a week in this hotel and it was not a great experience.....

It was close to where I wanted to be which was the only positive really.

The rooms are very outdated (around 20 years I'd guesstimate since a refurb) - I know the hotel will reply saying they're planning a refurb but that's no use if you're staying there now! The furnishings are well past their sell by date and not what I would expect of somewhere claiming to be 5*

The rooms are not well cleaned either, and cold (there is NO heating, only A/C). The glazing is dreadful and even on high floors there is intrusive street noise all night

The internet (despite being promised as free from 1st October on this site by the hotel) is NOT - it's hugely expensive, very unreliable and speeds like dial up, don't use!

The items from the mini-bar and the hotel outlets are very expensive (£5 for a Coke is a joke and most of the mini-bar food is out of date - hardly surprising given the prices)

Overall I'd rate this 3* at best and no where near the 5* they claim......

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uuf361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Your comments are very important to us in evaluating our services and facilities and we would like to let you know that we are doing all we can to try to improve and upgrade our facilities.
We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences which we have caused you.
We have also informed the concerned departments to take action regarding the case.
We are now changing our entire bed mattress to make our bedrooms more comfortable and further improvements will be done in the next few months.
We have started the heating in all our rooms since Friday, November 09
In addition to this, our internet system is currently being upgraded and this will be finished soon.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel is at real walking distance from the Convention Center and rates ar reasonable for the quality so there is no better choice if you are in Shanghai for this kind of business.
Rooms and service are good.
The lobby is equipped with sofas and you can see people entering the hotel from the lobby bar so you can have business meeting in the lobby, and this is becoming quite difficult in some Chinese hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F_Hexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear guest,
Your positive comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you and your boss have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good location, most of the staff very serviceminded. Breakfast excellent exept staff attention,
buffet dinner nighttime far away from value for money. Hard beds as always in Asia.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank STEFAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear guest,
Your positive comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you and your boss have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
SHANGHAI
1
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is really well located on Nanjing west road and the perfect postion just next to Exhibition center.
Rooms are clean, beds are perfect, not too many noise and sport center is very clear and poeple very helpfull.
Only point is that you are between two metro station... but is good as well to walk 5 minutes sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear guest,
Your positive comments are highly appreciated and very valuable in further evaluating our standards of service especially from valued clients like you.
We are very pleased to inform you that for an additional RMB 300+ on your room rate, we can upgrade guest to our club rooms with free breakfast, wifi, benefits of parking and all club benefits for free.
Rest assured we will continue to extend the very best service and hospitality that you and your boss have come to expect from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With best regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

To be fair, I chose this hotel for its rate that was very reasonable compared to the hotel opposite. The staff were skilled and quite helpful, and the property is conveniently located if you're in Shanghai for business. These are the reasons why I rated it Average rather than Poor.
BUT: the rooms are really old, the mattresses are a joke, housekeeping obviously overlooks dust behind and on the side of furniture, stains in bathroom... What can I say, it's probably not very dirty, but it does not look or feel clean. The breakfast buffet is huge but the food quality is quite average, same for room service. Think twice before booking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stella W, Revenue at Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Your comments are very important to us in evaluating our service standards and we would like to let you know that we are doing all we can to improve our services and our facilities.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that we have caused you.
We are in the process of planning renovations in our rooms which will take place in the coming months.
Therefore we ask for your understanding and hope that you will give us another chance to show you our improvements.
When you plan to come to Shanghai, we can arrange to accommodate you in one of our newly designed rooms.
Hoping that you will allow us to demonstrate the hospitality and personalized service that we are known for.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai JC Mandarin in the near future.
Best Regards,
Shanghai JC Mandarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Jing'an
Pei Mansion Hotel
Pei Mansion Hotel
#732 of 5,112 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#56 of 5,112 in Shanghai
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
Ruitai Jingan Hotel
Ruitai Jingan Hotel
#1,598 of 5,112 in Shanghai
125 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel

Address: No.1225 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#175 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $38 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, the 5-star hotel is the mark of modern comfort and convenience, which blends the best of the East and West. It is located in the middle of the business and shopping district on the famous Nanjing Road, adjacent to the Shanghai Exhibition Center, Shanghai Centre, Plaza 66 and famous Wujiang Gourmet Street. Shanghai Airport Terminal, Metro Line 2, Metro 7 and entry to Shanghai’s integrated system of highways are just a short distance away. With so many attractions close by, you will never run out of things to do at the hotel. 514 spacious rooms, international gourmet cuisine by master chefs, an abundance of recreational options, viable conference venues, a pillar-less Grand Ballroom covering 845 sqm and five stylish meeting rooms and ergonomically designed boardrooms, fully equipped fitness centre, two tennis courts and spa …the hotel offers luxurious comfort and meticulous care.The lobby was renovated and now features a magnificent 5-storey, hand-painted lacquer mural of Admiral Zheng-Ho, surrounded by golden-foiled pictures of the morning sun and peaceful waves. This famous artwork provides the lobby with a unique look at Chinese art history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shanghai JC Mandarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Jc Mandarin Hotel Shanghai
Mandarin Shanghai
Shanghai Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing