We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
Ranked #163 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel over 6 times and for the price and the room, it is a great value in metro Shanghai, the only drawback is the hotel set back from the main street, in order to hail a cab, you either wait through the conceige or walk out to the street level, -few minutes walk only. Very clean and well maintained facilities and room, The next door supermarket closed and you have still find convience stores, fruit stand, restaurants subway station-line 2 nearby. staffs are friendly and efficient, my respect to the management.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doubleOO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Shanghai Royalton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 240 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was worried that it would not be up to scratch considering the price. Wrong! Nice hotel, good location, friendly staff with reasonable English, well appointed rooms and nice breakfast. I shall return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear David T
Many thanks for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor, we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to Shanghai and to the Royalton and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again, regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

we spend two nights at the Royalton in Shanghai during our China Trip.

The Hotel is located about 10Min from the Subway/Metro
The Rooms are o.k....nothing outstsanding. The carpets could be changed once (well they are currently working on renovating rooms....probably our room is still on the to do's list).
Very good is the B'fast ... lot of varieties....

Rest is as expected in a four star hotel.

Room Tip: try to get a renovated room if that is possible at all....
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glunggaepuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Glunggaepuur
Thank you for posting your comment after your stay with us at the Royalton, we appreciate the feedback. You are correct about the refurbishment, we are currently upgrading our rooms on a staged basis in order to minimise inconvenience to our guests.
Best wishes to you in Switzerland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had the pleasure, once again, of staying at my favorite property in Shanghai city - The Royalton Hotel. As I have mentioned in previous reviews, I don't feel like a guest at this hotel, but rather, a member of the family. The staff at the hotel are warm, gracious and accommodating and go above and beyond in every way. In particular, special thanks goes out to Ellen and Sandy in the 2nd Floor restaurant, Emma at the front desk and Nina in the Lobby Bar. Everyone reflects the attitude and passionate dedication to customer service instilled in them by the Royalton's General Manager, Mr. Michael Brooks, who is, in my opinion, is an inspirational leader. Kudos for a job well done!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Phil D
Thank you again for your kind feedback, we greatly appreciate it. I have conveyed your comments to the nominated team members and they send their regards and thank you. We look forward to seeing you back in Shanghai on your next visit. Thank you again, safe travels. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Its a nice hotel with nice rooms and really good beds, and waht surprised me it was that you can smoke in the rooms ;-) ! The loby is quite nice made, wit a nice small piano bar, but with a limited offer with drinks and coctails, so you have not lot to choose but its ok. The pianist and the singer perform different international music, and it was a nice atmosfere in the evening. On a scale from 1 to 10 , I could give an 8 for the cleaness of the room and the hotel. We had there just the breakfast, and the offer for the breakfast is ok. The stuff was ok, they speak good englis. WIFI is just in the loby but with limited access.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Marius O
Thank you very much for your kind comments after your stay with us in Shanghai, we appreciate that you took the time to post your kind remarks. As a team, we are very glad that your stay with us went well and hope that the rest of your trip in China was equally good.
We hope to see you again. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good rooms, excellent beds, good piano bar in the lobby. Japanese, Spanish, Chinese restaurant , massages. Good variety for breakfast. Free wifi in the lobby. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the service was great.The staff were polite and had a good understanding of English.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Marius O
Many thanks for your report on the Royalton, we appreciate you taking the time to post it and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Shanghai. We hope to see you again.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Royalton Hotel again a few weeks ago (November 26-December 1, 2012).

In keeping with my many previous stays there, the service on this last trip was fabulous! From the moment I got out of the taxi upon arrival until the moment I entered into the cab to leave the property, I felt as if I was at home. The entire staff remembered me by name and was so accommodating in every way. The room was impeccably clean, the breakfasts were great and spending time in the lobby bar in the evening was so relaxing. The new entertainers (husband and wife singers/piano player) were delightful. Special thanks to Emma (front desk), Sandy and Ellen (restaurant) and Nina (lobby bar). Lastly, kudos to Michael Brooks, the General Manager, for his unbelievable attention to detail in making this property a true gem!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you Phil D, it's always great to have you to stay with us, thank you for your kind endorsement. We greatly look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you soon.
Thanks again and warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 5,112 in Shanghai
605 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#87 of 5,112 in Shanghai
753 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#59 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#105 of 5,112 in Shanghai
444 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
JadeLink Hotel Shanghai
JadeLink Hotel Shanghai
#186 of 5,112 in Shanghai
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shanghai Royalton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shanghai Royalton

Address: No.789 Wuyi Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200051, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#144 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $58 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shanghai Royalton 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Shanghai Royalton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Royalton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing