We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changning comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
Ranked #170 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is in the western part of the Shanghai CBD. It is a good area if you wish to shop or have easy access to the Metro lines 2,3&4. I lived in the area for two years and spent a night here after I moved out of my apartment. It was very comfortable here. I have stayed in many hotels in China. It is good value for the money for Shanghai.

I had an expensive meal in the restaurant but it was very nice. If you have the energy and want to brave a shopping centre, there are tons of restaurants in the Cloud 9 Shopping centre nearby. If you want to see something cool go for a walk down Loushanguan road (Low shan gwan) off of Changning road to see a cool little food street. Just point to what you want if you can not speak Chinese. It can be quite fun. I miss it.

The hotel is clean, comfortable and the service was great.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keithsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 253 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was the first stop on our Grand Circle tour. Rooms were spacious, very clean, and the staff spoke enough English to be helpful. Best breakfast of all 3 hotels. Two drawbacks... no frig in room and the AC was not adequate. There was a Tesco around the corner and a shopping mall within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goyandjew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Breakfast was very good..... I stayed there for 2nights rooms were very good with the great location when you step out of the hotel you have shopping mall & cabs are easily available to reach other location too....

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavyashetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Location not the greatest, but I was on a guided tour and depended on them for most of my transportation. The room was large and nicely decorated. Their breakfast room and food was the best!! Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Lobby bar was a nice place to have a drink before heading out for the evening. TV in the room had any station you could think of. Room also had a mini refrigerator. Complimentary bottle of water every day. Also had an electric hot water pot for your tea. There is a TESCO just down the block and around the corner from the hotel to buy snacks, drinks, etc. Hair dryer, but not powerful enough for me.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sushi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

High in price compared to other places we stayed in China, but reasonable price for Shanghai. Location is fine since it's just a short walk to the subway. Internet is not free at this hotel: 1 yaun per hour. No free breakfast. Nice hotel and reasonably priced considering high cost alternatives in Shanghai. Good service. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA_Traveler_367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed at the Royalton for about a week while we went to the Expo in May. At first we were in a less expensive windowless room, and then were able to switch to a windowed room. All were just fine, but the window (and view) were nicer, of course. We could walk (after some coaching from the doorman) to the impressive new metro station.
The Tesco next door was great for wonderful hot dumplings and unusual Chinese deli foods.
Thanks to all the TripAdvisor notes, we had no surprises, just good news here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beangirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We started our Grand Circle tour at the Royalton Hotel. It was a beautiful Western style hotel with an amazing breakfast buffet. We came back through Shanghai on our own after the tour and stayed at the Royalton again. We had left some bags with them, so we wouldn't have to carry them along on the rest of the tour, and we were so glad they had this service. The breakfast buffet has everything one could desire, from Chinese breakfasts to eggs, bacon, fruit, pastries, etc. They even have an omelet station. The other restaurants at the hotel are wonderful. A bar with a short menu is available in the lobby area. The other restaurant located on the ground floor serves great food from a more continental menu. The restaurant on the second floor offers a variety of Chinese selections. We ate at all of these and never had a bad meal, but our favorite was the second floor Chinese menu. The French Concession was a short taxi ride from the hotel, and an amazing section of the city we did not see on our tour. We walked to the Bund from the French Concession, and while it is a long walk, it was such an interesting perspective of the city. We felt like we lived there. So, yes, the Royalton is a long way from the Pudong airport, but for the money and the style, we would gladly go back there.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orchidpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#64 of 5,159 in Shanghai
616 reviews
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Starr Hotel
#135 of 5,159 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#72 of 5,159 in Shanghai
270 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#158 of 5,159 in Shanghai
748 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#132 of 5,159 in Shanghai
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shanghai Royalton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shanghai Royalton

Address: No.789 Wuyi Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200051, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#76 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#151 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $59 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shanghai Royalton 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Shanghai Royalton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Royalton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing