We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect less...no flaws... not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Pudong
Ranked #187 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expect less...no flaws... not bad”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very average hotel. genreally the look and feel is a litle kitschy and loud...not to my taste. Plus the material is expensive but has no class. Generally works in all departments pretty ok. Limited wifi and poor sound insulation in guest rooms along with a way below par breakfast are major letdowns. Otherwise the people do their jobs effetively and efficiently no cause for complaints. Worth it only if you get a really really special deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THT9036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    170
    67
    19
    7
See reviews for
8
6
20
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The property has aged and it is evident in everything on show. The facilities in the room, the decor, the lifts, the restaurants, the carpets (they do smell!!). However, if your office is in the vicinity then it is a good cheap option compared to the spanking new Marriot opposite (which is a 5 star compared to this properties 4 stars).

The room itself is large. some of the views are good. the bed is firm and the linen clean. there are pillow options also. the internet is free and quite ok. the tv is however, not a flat screen (at least in the room i used) and that tells you about how much in need of a "doing up" the hotel really is.

the restaurnats are OK. could be better. the buffet spread is good. one thing that was a bit disappointing however, was that in the local selection, the pan fried dumplings were actually "ready to eat" frozen local supermarket type stuff that was being taken out of the packs and being fried in front of you.

the rest of the facilities are OK. nothing great. the WOW factor is certainly not there.

all in all - if you are not too finicky and want to stay for a short while with most of the time being spent outside the hotel and your office is closeby then this is a good option (it is far away from the main centre of town and is also around an hour to 50 min drive from the Pudong airport).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRC_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada plaza Pu... R, Manager at Ramada Plaza Pudong, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your impartial comments.

Indeed the hotel is located in a very lively commercial & entertainment area with lots of restaurants featuring cuisines from all over the world at working distance. It’s very convenient for people whose office is in the vicinity particularly for those in Waigaoqiao, Jingqiao and Zhangjiang.

Your comments of being an aged hotel is not contested and we are aware of the situation. We are very happy to announce that we just finished the designing stage with an international designing company and will later this year start with the renovation of our rooms.

This renovation will done in such a way that our guests will not be disturbed at any time of the day. With new features and the latest Audio/Video facilities, new beds and services we will easy beat our neighbors in the future.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.

If you would like to give us more details on your stay please do not hesitate to contact us at generalmanager@ramadaplazapd.com

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is located in a place where there are many expatriates living in Shanghai. Carrefour, western & asian retaurants, and other department stores are located at a walking distance from the hotel. Room is spacious and clean with good internet connection and working table. Breakfast buffet spread is reasonably good with good food choices from western to asian food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Overall very good hotel like compliment break fast ..room are very spacious .good WiFi speed and even there is LAN inside the room.but the location are not good need to take taxi for 45 min. to downtown. Try the dinner at the cafe ..taste not good either its too salty or oily..order the coffee.. Believe or not I get the same coffee leftover from mornings breakfast..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've stayed at the Ramada Plaza Shanghai-Pudong several times and often for many days while travelling on business. I've always found everything to be clean. The staff is very friendly and generally helpful although sometimes their English skills are a bit lacking, but hey, this is China, not North America!

The Breakfast buffet is good. Lots of variety -- Western style, Chinese and Japanese. I've never had difficulty finding lots to eat for breakfast. However, for lunch and dinner, their 2 restaurants don't work too well for me. OK, but not special

If you're sightseeing, this is NOT the hotel for you -- is is quite far from the Bund (for example).

However, if you have business in Pudong area, this hotel has been convenient for me.

It's located on the edge of the Green Village which is really for ex-pats who are working in China. So, there's lots of western style eating: Star Buck is ~1km away, there's British pub grub, Indian, Japanese, Mexican, pizza, Brazilian, Thai all within 1km (or so). There's also a ton of SPAs around if you're into that kind of thing (I haven't tried any)

Expect to pay ~150RMB from the airport, or 50RMB from the MagLev. Both should be less, but your driver will likely do some circles and you may pay more. Of course, they only take cash.

Marriott has opened a new hotel across the street...haven't tried it, but it looks nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed in several hotels in the area and first time at the Ramada Plaza Pudong. Good central location if you are doing business around Pudong area. Rooms are OK, but not overly impressive. Bathrooms are small but serve their purpose. The business rooms include a little alcove with desk providing a nice space to work in. Probably the best feature is the breakfast buffet. Great selection of food available from all sorts of cuisines and serves a variety of cultures not just Chinese. Staff spoke English and helped to arrange transportation to local attractions and restaurants. I will stay there again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FijiFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here to attend a conference. Considering the room rate it's overpriced for the room I ended up getting. Not up to 5 star standard compared to other 'conference sponsored' hotels I have stayed in before. The room was dated and tired and the bathroom the size of a closet.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank makxberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada plaza Pu... R, Manager at Ramada Plaza Pudong, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Ramada Plaza Pudong Shanghai. We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying.

We are the four star hotel which provides good service for every guest. We are pleased to inform you that a renovation to all rooms will commence in the late of the year. All the facilities and hardware will be upgraded.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai
Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shangh...
#2,087 of 5,082 in Shanghai
120 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
#119 of 5,082 in Shanghai
859 reviews
Jinqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Pudong East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jinqiao
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
#200 of 5,082 in Shanghai
126 reviews
Jinqiao
Grand Park Jiayou Hotel
Grand Park Jiayou Hotel
#675 of 5,082 in Shanghai
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Pudong

Property: Ramada Plaza Pudong
Address: No.18 Xinjinqiao Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201206, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jinqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#155 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#161 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Pudong Shanghai Hotel with its impressive and elegant extensive lobby has 269 deluxe and prestigious executive club rooms and suites plus 101 exclusive service apartments, with all the facilities and matured services you highly expect as a sophisticated international business traveler. Facilities and services, such as International Western and Chinese fine dining, Japanese specialties and other Asian delights, elegant bars and lounges to relax and meet friends or discuss business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai
Ramada Hotel Shanghai
Ramada Shanghai
Ramada Hotel Plaza Pudong
China Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing