We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel with Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Pudong
Ranked #176 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average Hotel with Friendly Service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Ramada Plaza Pudong a number of times now - most recently February 25 - March 1. The facility itself is definitely looking a little worn - and the restaurants in the hotel are average at best. I asked to change rooms after my first night due to very annoying noise from the heating system. The entire staff - from the front desk to the concierge and housekeeping - are all very attentive and helpful. The custom tailor shop in the lobby is worth a visit for made to measure shirts and suits at a very reasonable - and very negotiable - price. The hotel location is a little out of the way, but there are a number of eateries within walking distance, and it is a 10 minute (inexpensive) cab ride to Thumb Plaza for food, entertainment and shopping. Overall - good, but not great. I will stay there again in the future.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Photoguy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    170
    67
    17
    7
See reviews for
8
5
20
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malnate, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just back again from China, spent 2 days in Ramada Hotel. 45 min from airport, 25 min from downtown and cost that is not so Hi. Excellent breakfast, service, restaurants and bar. I cannot say anithing about SPA because time was too short and only to work
I'll be back again to this Hotel anytime I'll be in Shanghai

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 3 years for 9 to 10 night stays.

This four star hotel the price was on the expensive side, but it was in the right location for business.

My last visit in January this year they said they now do not give any discount for long stay clients, and the price has gone up by more than 30% which is a disgrace.

I could have stayed at a quality 5 star hotel for the same price but my company had already settled the bill.

I will not stay at this hotel again, I am now looking for an alternative hotel where I think I will go to the Thumbs Plaza area or stay at the new Marriott across the road from the Ramada.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel as it is too expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler12354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We 'have ' to use this hotel when in Shanghai - company insists upon it. I was there for 10 nights and only stayed once in the Ramada because it is overpriced, not worth it. In a highly uninteresting location and the breakfast is not good. In fairness it is an international hotel with those standards. The room was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelmo_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The staff who speak English are helpful and we were pleased with the decor of the hotel, the room was pleasant (Tenth floor with a view to the rear of the hotel) No noise from other rooms, the beds were comfortable. We had a twin room as it was cheaper than a double! We did not want to agree to such a large deposit on the room, so we found after a day out that the mini bar had been removed and the fridge locked shut. We asked for extra pillows and they were delivered within ten minutes. We ate breakfast once as the price worked out at approx £18 each, although there was a huge range of food and drinks, we don't always want a big breakfast. (The East West Cafe is a 15 min walk and breakfast is approx £4) I could connect to the hotel Wifi in the lobby area but could not always connect to server, so sending emails was not easy. It never connected to Facebook!! It is a good location as there are a variety of eating places close by, e.g: Big Bamboo, Bollywood indian restaurant, Pappa Johns Pizza et al. A twenty minute walk to Carrefour supermarket and next to supermarket is an arcade of shops with a smaller shop that sells alot of western branded food although Carrefour is cheaper. In Carrefour 600ml bottle Tsing Tao lager worked out at 35p each...Big Bamboo better to drink in happy hour. Most restaurants have deals on certain days so always best to check, although most people do not speak English, some menus have written in English as well. The Hotel is 2.5km from Tube station, we walked it one day and it worked out 40p for tube ride to Peoples Square in the Centre of Shanghai. We used taxis alot, they drive like maniacs and seatbelts don't work. Our stay in Shanghai was pleasant and most days the temperature was around 20 degrees C. We never ate dinner at the hotel as there we so many other places to eat and experience the Chinese culture. The swimming pool was a waste of time, you can't go in unless you wear a swimming cap, we bought swimming caps from a sports shop near Carrefour, but the water was not very warm and noisy children with parents, so we gave it a miss.

Room Tip: The tenth floor was good with views to the rear of the hotel. Remember this is China, so you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Ramada Plaza is in a terrific location...far enough away from the over-crowded Bund area (20 min. taxi) yet still close enough to take a short ride anywhere (15 min. Science Center, 30 minutes to the airport). Great breakfast buffet is included if you stay on the executive floors. Buffet is a terrific mixture of Chinese, Japanese, and Western style food.
Rooms are large for China, with excellent desk/workstation and large washrooms. Within walking distance to malls, street vendors, and great restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floors are for residences only, but anything between 12th and 20th floors are great. all hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

In general is not bad: location is good, 30 min from airport and 30 min from Shanghai center. Need taxi, metro is not close by. Breakfast is good, can have chinese or continental style. Unfortunately rooms, altough being large apartment style, are worn and not much clean.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgraglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai
Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shangh...
#2,079 of 5,059 in Shanghai
120 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
#124 of 5,059 in Shanghai
848 reviews
Jinqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Pudong East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jinqiao
Grand Park Jiayou Hotel
Grand Park Jiayou Hotel
#645 of 5,059 in Shanghai
103 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
#202 of 5,059 in Shanghai
124 reviews
Ramada Shanghai East
#347 of 5,059 in Shanghai
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Pudong

Property: Ramada Plaza Pudong
Address: No.18 Xinjinqiao Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 201206, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jinqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#156 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Pudong Shanghai Hotel with its impressive and elegant extensive lobby has 269 deluxe and prestigious executive club rooms and suites plus 101 exclusive service apartments, with all the facilities and matured services you highly expect as a sophisticated international business traveler. Facilities and services, such as International Western and Chinese fine dining, Japanese specialties and other Asian delights, elegant bars and lounges to relax and meet friends or discuss business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ramada Plaza Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai
Ramada Hotel Shanghai
Ramada Shanghai
Ramada Hotel Plaza Pudong
China Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing