We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a class of its own!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #26 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I am not a stingy person when it comes to ratings but I really do not believe anything can be perfect. There is always, naturally a room for improvement and that is why technology becomes obsolete and new ideas take over from old ones. But then when you have to compare in a present situation amongst peers, the word excellent is often used to imply near perfection (I still refuse to agree there is perfection). In that regard, my stay at the Pudong Shangri-La can be described in one word awesome! This is an elegantly beautiful hotel well located amongst the best buildings in the world including the newly being built Shanghai Center. The inside is amazing and the staff amongst the best trained I have seen in recent times. I felt really privileged being here. My room on the 33rd floor has an amazing view of the new Shanghai Center (The tallest building in the world. Still under construction). The restaurant on the second floor is so large it took sometime before I could locate my friends. The buffet was so cool. Don't forget the buffet ends at 2.30 pm. Next time I stay here, I hope to explore the club on the 26th floor. Though an expensive more than five star hotel, it was really worth it staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godsent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Soji A,

It was pleasing to read your great review regarding spectacular views of The Bund and Huangpu River,which we are very proud of. We hope to look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and visit the new Shanghai Center next time.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,194)
There are newer reviews for Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 3,194 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

In every respect this should be on the world's best hotels list. Rooms are extremely comfortable with great views of Shanghai. The Horizon Room has great service, staff and food and drink. What makes this hotel so special is the staff. A special mention for Kier MacPherson. We needed something that we could not find in any of the shops in the hotel, happened to run into this busy hotel executive, asked him where we might go to get what we needed, and his response was " let me get that for you". Ten minutes later the item was delivered to our room. That is real service. Terrific hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Pib1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Pib1014,

Thank you for the pleasant review. I am delighted that you had a fantastic experience on your recent stay with us. I will pass on the kind feedback to all our staff members.We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently and was very impressed with the service, the decor, and the food. The breakfast buffet was spectacular, and I had an excellent dinner at their Chinese restaurant. The view of the Bund is spectacular and the ability to walk to a number of destinations or access public transportation makes this hotel very attractive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs0440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Babs0440,

Thank you for your time to share these gracious feedbacks on Pudong Shangri-La, we truly appreciate your high esteem of our service and Yi Cafe's breakfast, we also put a lot of focus on training our employees to ensure an outstanding experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the start of our trip to China. The hotel was welcoming and helpful. We were upgraded to a river-view room, which is worth it as the view across to Puxi is amazing and especially good after dark when it is all lit up. Very good position for the riverside walk which looks across to Puxi and there are a lot of coffee shops, restaurants etc there. Staff were all very helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a river-view room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOLLESLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear HOLLESLEY,

It was pleasing to read your great review regarding spectacular views of The Bund and Huangpu River,which we are very proud of. We hope to look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the club room on the new wing for 1 night, not very impressed with the decor.
Came back from ZJJ 5days later and decided to change to the old wing and we are very happy. It has this luxurious feel rather than the new wing with old Chinese woody feel.
Only down side, room 2028 was right below the club room (21st Floor) and I was not able to sleep at all with all the walking noise. Called the front desk and they send the new room key within 5mins to change the room for me.
The club is also better in the old wing, has a very warm and comfortable feel.
We had to top up another RMB150 per night for the Bund view, it was worth it, but the toiletries is no longer L'occitane, I ask them what's the reason as both are club rooms, they immediately agree to send up 1 set of it although they say they do not provide it in the old wing. I must say their service is excellent without a doubt.
There are 2 big malls right next to the hotel, lots of good restaurants here. The area itself is a tourist attraction, will definitely recommend this place if price is not a concern.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Miaw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Miaw G,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest and we are happy that you are satisfied with our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Loved this hotel. Great view of the Bund, king size bed, lots of extras, tea, cocktails etc. excellent, helpful service. Everyone spoke English, gave directions to taxi drivers in Chinese. Would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the Bund. River view is not necessarily view of the Bund!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraucoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear fraucoco,

Thank you for your praise, we were overjoyed that you are satisfied with our service, and it is truly an encouragement for us to go extra miles to ensure a great experience to each of our guest.We hope to look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My stay at this hotel was wonderful and just fit for my visit. The location of the hotel, the elaborate breakfast and the rooms - all were conducive for my business trip. The hotel has a very good ambience as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Manoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear manojk9,

Thank you for your time to share these gracious feedbacks on Pudong Shangri-La, we truly appreciate your high esteem of our location and Yi Cafe's sumptuous buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next business trip.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#32 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,387 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#176 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $202 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing