We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #28 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! From the moment you arrive you feel the luxury. The entire staff was always pleasant, helpful, and eager to make your stay memorable. The Buffett was incredible and the range of food always available and the service. The bar on the 36th for provided a comfy spot for a cocktail and a beautiful view of Shanghai, especially at night when the city and river boats are all lit up. The flower arrangement throughout the hotel stopped me in my tracks, I had to take photos of several arrangements, they were so creative. Loved our stay. Comfy bed, great room amenities, food, shops, bar, hotel staff, what more could a girl want?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Cheryl C,

Thank you for the pleasant review. We are delighted that you had a good experience on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your high esteem of our Yi Cafe's sumptuous buffet. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La in the future to enjoy other impressive restaurants.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 3,223 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

The epitome of great service and great facilities. Car Service, the Horizon Lounge, Swimming and Health Club facilities were all excellent. Employees always had smiles and were extremely attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank TippyToeTippyToe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear TippyToeTippyToe,

Thank you for your time to share these gracious feedbacks on Pudong Shangri-La, we truly appreciate your high esteem of our service and facilities, we also put a lot of focus on training our employees to ensure an outstanding experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were here for a week - last leg of a holiday in China. Service here was excellent. Horizon Club team in the Grand Tower were superb, dealing effectively and appropriately with a busy lounge of business guests and also those clearly on vacation. Everyone though, from the moment we were met by a smiling girl at the entrance, door staff who arranged taxis, porters, reception, housekeeping, bar and restaurant folk - all so very friendly and helpful.
The room - Bund View - brilliant - great to sit at night and watch all the river activity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank RRMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear RRMCL,

We are so pleased that you love the superb view of the Bund from our elegant guest room in Grand Tower. I will pass on the kind feedback to our staff members. We hope you enjoyed a memorable time in Shanghai and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel during your next trip to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ver nice hotel. Best we've stayed at in China. Great location by the River and central to many tourist spots.
Would stay here again!!
By the way... It's the only place we've stated at where they have a map to find your way around the Buffet breakfast.. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear andrew m,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest and we are happy that you enjoyed our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We chose from a list offered by conference organisers, read all the reviews and elected a Horizon Grand Tower room. We upgraded to a premier at check. I can't say whether the River Wing would have been as good, on the 16 th floor our view looked past the river wing which was still good but unimpeded either higher it River wing must be fabulous! Likewise I can't comment on the River Wing Club facilities but I cannot speak more highly of the Grand Tower Horizon. For relaxation and comfort alone it is worth it. But the true benefit for a first time visitor was the personal support from the horizon team and Judy in particular. I might consider a Bund side hotel in future but not returning to the Horizon would make that a tough decision!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curioustraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear curioustraveller42,

Thank you for the pleasant review. We are delighted that you had a good experience on your recent stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La in the future to enjoy other room at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I must begin with the breakfast review of the restaurant Yi (?sp). It was the most fabulous experience for a breakfast we have ever entered at a hotel or any restaurant. 10+ world-wide cuisines all don perfectly - I found it impossible to eat it all or even get a great sampling of the options.... It deserved the price of the room alone. The Cantonese dinner place was an experience to remember. The rooms perfect views - excellent concierge and perfect English as required ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank jblmdmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear jblmdmba,

Thank you for staying at Pudong Shangri-La and for your compliment on Yi Cafe's breakfast and Gui Hua Lou dinner. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and we hope to welcome you back and experience our impeccable treatment on your next visit to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Ideally located on the Bunt, close to touristic place and shopping malls, good indications from the concierge on places to look at. Food is top in any of the hotel restaurants. To be highly recommended



  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Cl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Cl M,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest and we are happy that you enjoyed our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#32 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,415 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#185 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $214 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing