We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #15 of 4,319 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good service, dining at the restaurant was superb. Check in and check ou was very smooth. View from the room was grand.. had the view of the Pudong river and ships and large boats passing by was a sight to enjoy for week. But the area outside the hotel is full of pimps, I felt really annoyed at the solicitations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whnj07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear whnj07,

Thank you for the pleasant review. We are delighted that you had a good experience on your recent stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,677
    910
    148
    32
    15
See reviews for
130
223
107
989
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
223 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location and the building are great. I was welcomed by the usual nice and friendly girls at the airport but not picked up by the regular Mercedes but by a van instead which forced me to go to the parking area, one floor up using stairs, with my briefcase and carry on which was not that light, while the tiny and very nice receptionist was continuously trying to carry them.
I was booked at a small Horizon Club suite and was upgraded to a large suite, the reception girl that greeted me at the arrival and took me to the room was very nice and efficient as all the Horizon Club staff is. Hotel car service was good during my stay until I was given a terrible and old tourist Mercedes limo, those of 2 seats facing each other. I was late so I had no alternative than taking it. The car internet was not working and the driver barely spoke English, forcing me to call the Horizon Club to talk to the driver.
When arriving to my next destination I complained about it and "cleverly" the Shanghai guest relation manager offered me a free ride on my next stay. Guess what although I am a frequent user of this chain, I am not coming back.
Before going to Shanghai I also had a problem with the Beijing hotel car when I went to the airport and they quickly credited to my account which is the right way, especially a quest like me that uses the hotel car service a lot as I do.

Room Tip: Get the river view Horizon Club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 47carlosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Carlos M,

First of all, thank you very much for staying with us and for the feedback on your overall experience.

We have taken note of the areas where we did not meet your expectations, and would like to express our sincere apology. As we have the desire to elaborate more on the details and our actions, we shall take this opportunity to contact you personally. Looking forward to our conversation.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Etienne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chose this hotel to relax after a two week trip in China. Our choice was motivated by a past and enjoyable experience in the River Wing Tower of Pudong Shangri-La. This time, we booked a high floor Grand Tower Horizon Club Premier Bund View room and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious, nicely furnished, with unobstructed and extensive views over the Bund and Huangpu River. Besides the facilities traditionally offered to guests in this category of hotel, a Nespresso coffee machine was available as well as binoculars with a leaflet giving information on the various buildings of the Bund. This provides the opportunity to take full advantage of the splendid view, confortably seated on the couch with a delicious espresso. Chocolates on arrival and chocolates of the turn down service are also very nice...
Check in was quick and smooth, performed by smiling and welcoming staff.
The Horizon Club Lounge is elegant, comfortable and all the staff is very attentive. The negative is that a smoking area is located on the Bund side.
Helen was especially nice. She kindly and friendly attended to our every need. Eloisa, the Horizon Club Assistant Manager, courteously gave us all the practical information we needed about Shanghai. She also efficiently assisted us during the check out and she escorted us to our taxi in front of the hotel. Very pleasant!
The Horizon Club Lounge proposes a buffet for breakfast and for dinner with lots of different delicious foods to choose from. Buffets are laid out in a very appetizing way. The Horizon Club service from Pudong Shangri-La is of the highest quality, compared to many Executive lounges of other international luxury hotels.
Staying at Pudong Shangri-La hotel is the guarantee to have happy times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ED-Net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear ED-Net,

Thank you for your time to share these gracious feedbacks on Pudong Shangri-La, we truly appreciate your high esteem of our Grand Tower, the Grand Tower places Pudong Shangri-La in a class of its own as an exclusive hotel-within-a-hotel. Redefining the experience of sophistication, all residents of the Grand Tower are entitled to all the benefits of the Horizon Club alongside other exclusive services. In addition,we also put a lot of focus on training our employees to ensure an outstanding experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of travels around East Asia and this particular hotel was booked not by us but by our tour Group. We stayed in a large number of 5* hotels in the region as part of our travels including whilst also in Shanghai the Waldorf Astoria. This Shanghai hotel is very well located, has great service standards from all staff we encountered but the quality of the room and its fittings was somewhat lacking when compared to other similar hotels. We had a great view of the river, Pearl tower and bund on the other side and the location is just excellent, however I would advise you to email ahead (also join the Golden Circle membership scheme) and make sure you get one of the better choices of rooms. Shangri-La's can be great, we absolutely loved our stay in the Chengdu hotel...

Room Tip: Horizon club always value, choose most recently re-furbed tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear James,

Thank you for your time to share your feedbacks on Pudong Shangri-La, we truly appreciate your high esteem of our spectacular view, culinary as well as services, In addition, we have taken note of the areas which did not meet your expectations and will continue to make improvements.We look forward to welcoming you back soon during Christmas.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I can't say enough about the quality of the experience at the Pudong Shangri-La. Location, service and the quality of the hotel experience is as good as I've ever had. The breakfast buffet should be experienced, but if you don't want to eat that much everyday, a nearby Starbucks is open early and prices there are very reasonable. The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. I will stay at this hotel every time I stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank JimVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear JimVT,

Thank you for your time to share these gracious feedbacks on Pudong Shangri-La. We are glad you enjoyed our location and service, as we put a lot of focus on training our employees to ensure an outstanding experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

One Word: Excellent, I liked everything about this hotel, the service is great, food is very good, room service exceptional, nothing bad to say about this hotel, spend a little extra and enjoy yourself, hotel staff are just waiting to help!

Room Tip: Great View, Quiet Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mark:

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest and we are happy that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel has become my second home this year, and indeed they always do live up to their stated intention to make me feel welcomed as a family member. They have indeed been successful for my last 4 visits always to give me the same room with a great view of the river, the Bund and the Pearl Tower. The staff are excellent, and the breakfast choice truly fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank mdareedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear mdareedwards,

Thank you for your wonderful praise, we are glad to create a home away from home for you in Shanghai. We are so pleased that you love the superb view of the Bund from the room specially prepare for you. Warmly welcome you back soon to your second home in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#14 of 4,319 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,983 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,319 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,539 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#150 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing