We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, but not exceptional given the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #26 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a nice hotel, with good well-appointed rooms, excellent service, and a great view of the Bund if you are in the right room, which of course you pay extra for. I have marked it average because it is nothing special considering the high price paid.

In fact, I was a bit annoyed this stay, because there was evidence of cost-cutting at breakfast. Although still a full breakfast, with plenty of variety, they have been cutting back. For example, during previous stays they used to offer large amounts of fresh salmon and other fish, but they now have water melon and cereal on display instead. After much searching a tiny plate of salmon could be found, but it quickly ran out. Somebody has clearly undertaken a cost-cutting exercise. This is the behaviour I would expect of a lower-end hotel, not the Shangri-la. A pity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slitherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Slitherin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind opinion on your stay and we are delighted that you have appreciated our well-appointed hotel rooms with great views and excellent service. On the note of having missed the usual spread of smoked fish at breakfast, aside from our large breakfast array, is certainly noted with concern. I would like to assure you that it is our intention to always provide a complete and well-balanced offer to our guests and if I may kindly invite you to contact me at ulf.bremer@shangri-la.com in order to underline this message.

We wish there will be another opportunity of serving you again.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,192)
There are newer reviews for Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 3,192 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

During business trip to China had to make a change to my return home with a stop in Shanghai. My Beijing Team member recommended the Shangr-La as the best, and he was right. This is one of the best hotels I have every stayed in on my extensive business travels.

Excellent rooms, excellent service, excellent location, and also one of the best cups of coffee served to me in the foyer lounge in fine china one morning.

Unfortunately it was only 2 nights, I wished it had been 2 weeks.

This certainly will be my first choice on any trip back to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Ross L,

Thank you for the pleasant review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic experience on your recent stay with us. We will pass on the kind feedback to all our staff members.We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again for your trip back to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very nice lobby located on the river across from the Bund. There are a few over priced restaurants on the river walk but the view is worth it (esp. at night). Rooms are spacious and very clean. Gym is on the small side but the treadmills have a view across the river. Location is in the financial district so besides the river walk and a big mall nearby there is not much else within walking distance. If the sky is clear, be sure to check out the observation deck on the 100th floor of the WFC nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bahuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Bahuba,

It was pleasing to read your great review regarding spectacular views of The Bund and Huangpu River,which we are very proud of. We hope to look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

starting when I arrived hotel, the people there was friendly and made me feeling they are not working for the money but for their family. I stayed in Horizon lounge, to my surprise, the people their still can remember my last visit. we had a little chart and they are so carefully with every small details. I felt very relax, not like my normal business trip. My family felt very good. it is my home in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Gerry G,

Thank you for your wonderful praise, we are glad to create a home away from home for you in Shanghai. It is truly an encouragement for us to go extra miles to ensure a great experience to each and every one of our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon to Shangri-La home in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Let's face it... most all of the hotels in Shanghai are pretty elegant. What distinguishes the Shangri-La from others is its wonderful location on the Bund. The river is behind the hotel. You MUST walk there at night to see the spectacular lighted buildings on land and the lighted boats on the river. This is a popular destination on the weekends and it's wonderful to feel the energy of the locals and visitors. It's a very festive atmosphere. The other bright spot here was breakfast at the Yi Cafe. Take a trip around the world with tons of buffet stations from Chinese to Japanese to American, etc. I could have stayed here forever, just for the breakfast. The hotel loses a point for its cost... particularly food/drinks. My traveling companion and I had 2 cosmos, 2 beers and two appetizers in the lobby bar (which is a nice alternative to visiting one of the formal restaurants) and the tab was well over $120. Welcome to China!

Room Tip: Ask for a 'close' view of the Bund.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear travelingfun101,

Thank you for your time to share these gracious feedbacks on Pudong Shangri-La, we truly appreciate your high esteem of our location and Yi Cafe's breakfast, we also put a lot of focus on training our employees to ensure an outstanding experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nothing to shout about with regards to the hotel. I've definitely had better stays elsewhere.

What was disappointing was the service at Yi Cafe where a few colleagues and I wanted to have a drink during the evening. We were allowed in by the usherer upon assuring her that we would leave within 30 minutes as there was supposed to be a function later at 6pm. However, one manager after another came thereafter to try persuade us to leave not only disrupting conversations and what was totally unacceptable was lying to us that the particular table that we were on was booked. This was despite all other tables were empty at that point in time and that we weren't having the best table to begin with. If it was booked, we shouldn't have been given the table to begin with.

The only saving grace to my stay was the great location and great views available from all corners of the hotel. Will think twice about staying at Shangri-La again.

Room Tip: Always ask for high floors for unobstructed views especially if it is your 1st visit to Shanghai
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevernamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear nevernamed,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. The overall standard of service that you have experience at our Yi Cafe is not acceptable and is far from our usual level of service. Please accept our sincere apologies for this lapse. We have taken serious note of this incident and have brought it to the attention of the department heads concerned for the necessary corrective action to be taken. We do hope that this unfortunate incident will not prevent you from returning to Pudong Shangri-La East Shanghai. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer

General Manager

Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

i stayed here for work. it is very convinient to my office, just next door.
i tried thr restaurant, spa, here all very good.

i stayed in ritz carlton next door last time. in comparison, shangrila's room is a bit dated as i stayed at the old tower. although room not as nice as ritz carlton, service is really good. i like the complimentary shoe shining service and the atm downstairs.

buffet breakfast also quite good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumpkin422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Pumpkin422,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest and we are happy that you enjoyed our Yi Cafe Breakfast, CHI Spa and our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#30 of 5,111 in Shanghai
2,381 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#177 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $202 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing