We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view of the Shanghai Bund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #28 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Love the superb view of the Shanghai Bund from our bedroom, especially enjoyable when The Bund is well lighted at night, the older wing of the hotel block has the perfect views across the river. you know what to expect when staying in a Shangri'la hotel, staff is very friendly and helpful, as members of the hotel group, when we check in, our room is ready with amenities and welcome note, personalised services like such are really heart warming. Please set your alarm to wake up in time for breakfast, Shangri'la has one of the best breakfast buffet, always fabulous. Definitely my first choice hotel when visiting Shanghai.

Room Tip: Go for the new tower wing if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear tpprincess,

We are so pleased that you love the superb view of the Bund from our elegant guest room in River Wing. We hope you enjoyed a memorable time in Shanghai and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel during your next trip to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer

General Manager

Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 3,373 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you want to enjoy the sparkling and vivid feel of new Shanghai, head straight for Shangri-La in Pudong. Tucked in between the largest buildings in Shanghai and with a perfect spot on the "coast" of the Bund offering a nice stroll along the riverbank with asian atmosphere mixed with western quaility providers and the local artist.
The riverwing is of course more perfectly situated closer the river, but this is of course the older original wing with slightly more dated rooms albeit almost perfectly maintained (carpets could do with a refresh). The newer Towerwing is taller and provides more rooms with river view and contains the Jade on 36th floor with perfect view of Puxi and all the tall buildings in Pudong. Pricelevel in this bar/restaurant does however reflect the Shangri-La brand so that you are warned... BUT service and selection is impeccable and the provide a good selection of free snacks to your drinks!
Finally, when stying at Pudong Shangri-La....DO NOT FORGET TO HAVE BREAKFAST!! This has to be the best offering I have ever received in all of Asia (including the heavenly offerings in Dubai). With around 7 different stations providing the most fresh delicacies prepared before your eyes, be prepared to eat like a King (like Chinese claim you should do for breakfast) and expect to spend at least one hour!! Eating fresh Shanghai dumplings and roast duck with hoi-sin sauce for breakfast is just delicious.

Room Tip: River Wing is the older part located directly on riverbank and Grand Tower is the newest building (s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Kenneth H,

Thank you for staying at Pudong Shangri-La and for your compliment on Yi Cafe's breakfast, room facilities as well as our service. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and we hope to welcome you back and experience our impeccable treatment on your next visit to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

You know when you stay in a Shangri-La hotel that it will be good, and we have previously stayed at the Shangri-La in Taipei in Taiwan, and also the Shangri-La in Singapore. This hotel in Shanghai is more inline with the Singapore hotel, ie, very palatial, lots of chandeliers, extremely grand and very beautiful. We booked a room in the River Wing Tower, which overlooked The Bund so we had fabulous views of the Pearl Oriental Tower and the river. N.B. if you want a view of all the skyscrapers from your hotel then you will need a hotel in the other side of the river. None the less, this was a great location to get to the Shanghai World Trade Centre, the Jao Min tower and also the local metro station was just a 5 minute walk which gives you a really easy commute into then main centre of Shanghai (1-2 stops depending in where you want to go).

The check in service at the hotel is first class, they met us at the entrance and whisked straight to ours room and checked us in in the room. Because we were in the a River Wing we had also opted for the Horizon Club room which means you are on the higher levels and can then have access to the private Horizon Club lounge at any time. This is where you have your breakfast, soft drinks all day and free alcoholic drinks every afternoon if you want them. It's very fabulous if you like sort of thing. The Horizon Lounge also offers fabulous views of The Bund, and this is amazing at night when the city lights up and all the boats on the river are illuminated too.

The hotel is great, but it is very formal and traditional. It's not necessarily a contemporary hotel as such, but its amazing and definitely worth a stay if you like grandeur.

My biggest criticism is with using the taxi services from the hotel entrances. If want to get a taxi at night into the city to go for dinner then you will need to add at least 30 minutes wait time onto your evening and be very patient. It's extremely disorganised and the hotel should have an arrangement with a local firm to keep picking up hotel guests from 6.00-9.00pm in my opinion. Instead you have to join the back of a queue and wait whilst the rude taxi caller whistles and tries to ignore you whilst he stands around smoking. This is at the both the River Wing entrance and the main hotel entrance. We tried on a few occasions to get taxis and got very frustrated each time. In our last night we ended up being conned by a guy who was hanging around and saw us complaining to the bellboy and then he miraculously turned up and took us to where we wanted to go, however, he then wanted to charge 120 yuan whereas normally the far is around 30 yuan (£3.00). He was a rip off merchant and we didn't pay him anymore than the 30 yuan we were used to, but be warned in case it happens to you.

I will reiterate that the taxi thing is a big problem at this hotel and is possibly the same everywhere in Shanghai, but it really put a dampened on our evenings having to wait so long each time. Also, the concierge says he has called the taxi for you but it never makes any difference. It's just a bad link in an otherwise excellent hotel.

The Jade on 36 bar is in the Grand Tower (main building) and offers a great view of the Bund whilst sitting and listening to the bluesy jazz singer in the late evenings. The waiting service in this bar was intermittent but it was a great place to chill out late evening.

We didn't eat in the buffet restaurant but apparently its very good. The other restaurants in the hotel are very expensive and lacking in atmosphere, but then they are really trying to attract a business crowd here so its not such a destination for general tourism. I'm sure the restaurants offer lovely food, but we preferred going to The Bund and eating in the fabulous restaurants there instead. Check out my other reviews for feedback on where to go!

Room Tip: The higher the better and ask for a Bund View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattBBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear MattBBirmingham,

Thank you for staying at Pudong Shangri-La and for your compliment on the hotel location, our facilities as well as our service. In the meantime, we have taken note of the areas which did not meet your expectations and will continue to make improvements.Your compliments where we made positive impressions were also noted with appreciation, it certainly encourages the team members concerned to do even better in customer engagement as well as quality of service. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.
Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

First, no matter the "star" rating, the value of a hotel is in its staff.

We arrived at 1:30 AM. The staff was accommodating and courteous, giving us quick service to allow us some sleep before our tours began.

The room might be the smallest amongst our others during our tour, but it was the most comfortable. We could not help ourselves by comparing the others to the Shangri-La.

The breakfast -- you'll need a week to try all of the breakfast offerings alone!

View? Awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SFBayAreaTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Fabulous service and a great view of the river and the Bund. Convenient to many great restaurants. The staff is incredibly friendly and accomodating. I would recommend upgrading to the club level as the breakfast, drinks and appetizers are meals in themselves with a great view of the river. The hotel restuarant had good food, but was a bit noisy- I would recommend one of the restaurants nearby. I will defintely stay here on my next visit to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear frank r

Thank you for your wonderful praise, we were delighted that you are satisfied with our dining and service,and it is truly an encouragement for us to go extra miles to ensure a great experience to each and one of our guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very good rooms and best view ,and very clean , i think new tower of this hotel is better than old one , which already i have room.
Very good swimming pool , good breakfast , good air condition .
Rooms do not have shoe shiner , it is strange for meee , really ,

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sepehr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Sepehr D

Firstly, thank you for staying with us and for the feedback on your overall experience. We have taken note of the areas which did not meet your expectations and will continue to make improvements. Your compliments where we made positive impressions were also noted with appreciation, it certainly encourages the team members concerned to do even better in customer engagement as well as quality of service. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel during your next trip to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our room overlooked the Hungpu River and the Bund. The room was great, the restaurant was a bit overpriced for dinner but the selections were out of this world. I would not recommend visiting the 36th floor bar for drinks because you pay for the view. The amenities at this hotel were over the top, the service was over the top, and the restaurant, while pricey, was well provisioned with Western, Japanese, Mediterranean, and Chinese food. You cannot go wrong staying in this hotel, just avoid the 36th floor. It is close to the Super Brands mall, the pedestrian traffic circle, and the Oriental Pearl.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. If you don't get the river view you'll get the city which is a bonus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCaptq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear TheCaptq,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your nice comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our guest room and services. It is important to us that our guests feel at home in all areas of the hotel. Thus we are concerned about your experience at Jade on 36 Bar. May we seek your assistance to provide us with more details to help us improve further? Please contact me at my email address ulf.bremer@shangri-la.com.

We hope you had a memorable time in Shanghai and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel during your next trip to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#40 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#187 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $209 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing