We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed, it is Shangri-La!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #29 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Agua Dulce
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Indeed, it is Shangri-La!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is first class as is the location for doing business in Shanghai. Breakfast is "fun" with the great variety offered. All amenities are as expected and the overall service shines. I realize all this is to be expected of a Shangri-La, yet this one delivers 100%!

Room Tip: The Tower rooms are very handsome. I did not stay on the Concierge Floor, but we all know they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Donna S,

Thank you for your time to share these gracious feedbacks on Pudong Shangri-La, we put a lot of focus on training our employees to ensure an outstanding experience. We hope to extend this sense of belonging and security to you, as we welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,890
    970
    177
    40
    21
See reviews for
165
257
125
1,181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

i stayed in many ShangriLa hotels and this one is very nice. i stayed in the river wing which i think is a old wing as the rooms were a bit dated but rooms still were very nice
i had a view over the river so at night its beautiful to see the color lights on all the boats passing by

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madrich36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear madrich36,

Thank you for selecting Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, we were delighted to read you enjoyed the Bund view. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I love this hotel. The staff is very helpful and always trying to go beyond your expectations. The location is great. I highly recommend this place, you will not regret it.
I have been there 3 times already and I will definitely go back next time I'll be in Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cedricboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear cedricboston,

Thank you for your nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I am an avid business traveler and this hotel does know how to make an impression..preparing your room before your arrival. Selecting the pillows so that they can prepare your room as well as realizing that I was supposed to check in earlier even before I do (coz the person who reserved my stay) did it wrongly and luckily they found out through my pillow selection confirmation notice.
The hotel is within walking distance from IFC as well as next to the Super Brand Mall which you will never be short of food. Great service and great place to rest after whole day of meetings..
All in all, great experience indeed!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CrystineVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear CrystineVal,

Thank you for your time posting your gracious comments on your recent stay, I have shared this with the team. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, the Shangri la with its 2 buildings is a great hotel. But some would expect the thing that makes the difference. Got my newspaper only at 1 out of 3 mornings, the breakfast buffet is huge and offers many different kind of foods at different places but some would expect at least a little more explaination here and there of what to find where. Sometimes you have to search for things, such as butter, like during an Easter egg hunting. Never agree 'to just meet in the lobby' as there are 2 (100m awy from each other) and first time in the hotel you have no clue were you are. The sky bar lacks a bit of character inside. The view takes care of it. Excellent location (riverside, underground nearby) and lots of people ready to serve you.

Helpful?
Thank olymp25
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear olymp25,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We apologise that we have not met your expectations in our service delivery. In order for us to improve, we would like to find out more details from you. Please assist us by contacting me at my email address ulf.bremer@shangri-l.com.

We look forward to hearing back from you.

Yours sincerely

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good rooms, good service, good food, good staff, good restaurants and so on. The internet is highspeed enough and the restaurant on the 2nd floor is huge with at least 15 different types of cuisines. The staff speak English like native English speakers. The lifts are fast, you don't have to wait long for them. The decor is what you can expect from the Shangri la brand. Location is very convenient, very close to the Bund on the Pudong side.

Room Tip: Higher the room, more spectacular the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrishikul298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear hrishikul298,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Pudong Shangri-La again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This my first time in Shangri la Pudong hotel. I stayed at the Horizon Club where the service is excellent and very professional. The staff at the club are so helpful and client oriented that they helped me to find my wallet that I lost at Singapore airport!!! The ladies in the club called the Lost and Found desk at Singapore airport and gave them all the information about my wallet and after a while they gave me the good news that my wallet was found and I can collect when I back home at Singapore!! Iam really very impressed. Special thanks to liz who did a great job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulfbremer, General Manager at Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Maha B,

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We put a lot of focus on training our employees to ensure an outstanding experience to our guests. I will pass on your kind feedback to Liz. We trust you have had a safe journey back to Singapore and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#26 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,312 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#18 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,128 reviews
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,059 in Shanghai
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Property: Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#165 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing