We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese New Year Done Well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Ranked #26 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Looking for a stay-cation in Shanghai and we spent it at the Shangri-La. Two premiere, Bund view rooms in the Grand Tower were perfect. Check-in on the Club Level, complete with snacks for the kids and wine for me and my husband. Bags taken to our rooms while we enjoyed the cocktail hour and the wonderful sunset on the last night of the Dragon. Service is extra-ordinary. Anything we needed, was provided, including the ultimate in privacy for Mom and Dad. We love the Shangri-La. Headed to Cebu in April.

Room Tip: Splurge on the CLub Level, whether River View Tower or Grand Tower. The Club is open 24 hours and y...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiveForChinese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,195)
There are newer reviews for Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 3,195 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Superb hotel located at the river with a womderful view to the historic Bund with the many beautiful builings from the beginning of the last Century, when Shanghai has been tje top destination for trade, banking, shipping, insurances with many beautiful hotels including the stil existing Peace Hotel. The Shabgri La located at the Pudong aera is much younger but very traditional in presentation and look. Fantastic service combined with beautiful public spaces with several restaurants and fsmous shops imcludung Shanghai Tang the globally known fashion brand from the city. Rooms are nice and spaces some of them with this wonderful view. The upper floors are Horizon rooms, larger and incl breakfast and drinks in the corresponding lounge. Very good services incl, Bell Staff, Concierge and Room Service. A beautiful and very appealing place to stay in the beautiful City. I' ll stay again even id prices are on a rather high level.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is part of the excellent Shangri-La Chain and it is a beautiful hotel. We had booked (we thought) a river view room, but on arrival were required to pay an upgrade for the view of the Bund. Worth it though - fabulous view. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed. The breakfast buffet is extensive and caters for every taste. Wonderful. The hotel is very expensive though, especially the food and wine prices, which make your eyes water. The lobby bar is too small for the size of the hotel and one evening we simply couldn't find anywhere to sit either before we went out for dinner or when we came back. Nice gym and pool area. This is a great location for exploring the city and we'd recommend it if you dont mind paying over the odds.

There are an incredible number of hotel staff, and many seem to have little to do, other than stand around and look beautiful/smart! Several meeters and greeters and lots of attractive, attentive and perfectly polite young women serving in the bar area. We also saw lots of ex-pat American men of 60+ with very young chinese women occupying the bar.

Room Tip: Pre-book a river view of the Bund. Spectacular view, especially at night with all the lights of Sha...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise40smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Super service, super staff and super stay. Second time here and it is truly wonderful. Airport pickup on time, swift and efficient, checking painless and always smiling and happy to help. Simple things such as remembering your name, your favourite drink and where you like to sit.

Room Tip: Club lounge floor
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaydogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

All you want in a 5 star hotel, you'll find it here
Location, rooms , service, the best you may wish for
River view is amazing, I sleep with open curtains here!
Try the dinner buffet at the first floor, it's incredable,, but make sure to have reservations

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the moment we were met at the station from our delayed train journey from Beijing everything was perfection.

The location of the hotel provides outstanding views across the river and the ferry over is painless and gives you the opportunity for some great photos. The hotel somehow manages to seem cosy, invite and intimate, a great achievement considering the size. Although the staff are numerous they are also discreet, ever friendly, willing to help in anyway, constantly smiling and all the time appearing to be genuine.

The rooms are so comfortable, generously sized and have the best beds. I would differently recommend booking a Horizon club room, the benefits are outstanding.

Will definitely be back and wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babysocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Arrived at the hotel as the firs stop with a Viking River Tour itinerary.

The room we had was simple and pretty. The bed was very comfortable, the room impeccably clean. It was the perfect soft landing after a long flight. Our room had a great view of the river. It was quiet and dark at night (important stuff to me at least).

The exercise facilities were very nice, and VERY clean. The hot tub was nice and hot, unlike some hotels that keep it barely warm.

The staff members we encountered throughout the hotel were all friendly and helpful. If there was a language barrier, they were quick to find the next available person to help….and really; the barrier is completely my fault. I can’t speak a stitch of Chinese!

The breakfast buffet was out of this world. There were stations from all over the world and the food wasn’t ‘passable’ as I typically aim for out of a buffet, but it was GOOD. Really good.

Located conveniently in the heart of Pudong, this hotel is in the middle of food, and shopping and excess! The area is VERY western, though you can hop to the other side of the river and find the older town (beyond the edge of the river which is lined with turn of the century Euro style buildings).

A great stay. A+

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilhalper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#33 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,389 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai

Address: No.33 Fucheng Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#178 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $202 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 952
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Shanghai's preeminent hotel, Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai offers business and leisure travellers the perfect combination of comfort, service and convenience. Located on the Huangpu River in Shanghai's vibrant Lujiazui financial district, directly opposite the historic Bund, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city's most famous sites. Hongqiao Airport can be reached in just 35 minutes and Pudong Airport in 45 minutes.The hotel comprises a luxurious collection of well-appointed guestrooms and suites in two distinctive wings: the 577-room classic River Wing and the 375-room contemporary and exclusive Grand Tower. All rooms feature panoramic views of the Bund, the Huangpu River or Pudong's spectacular skyline.The prestigious Grand Tower provides some of Shanghai's most luxurious and spacious accommodation. It is also home to the Horizon Club, which offers guests the highest level of personalised service and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudong Shangri-La Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Shangri La Hotel Shanghai
Shangri La Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing