We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring earplugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merry Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #223 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is our home for three days at the end of a Wendy Wu Magnificent China holiday. Our group was collectively looking forward to a centrally located and better standard facility where we hoped to enjoy easy access in our free time to this chaotic and exciting city.

First impressions of the precinct have you wondering if you are in a commercial district rather than one catering for tourists. The streetscape is characterised by an elevated freeway, with most of the adjacent buildings looking like offices.

Once again our Wendy Wu tour guide was instrumental in facilitating our check-in procedure which smoothed over what appeared to be a lack of english language understanding by the check in person. Unfortunately the front desk was staffed by a solitary person who had the hapless task of processing all passports, issuing keys, and dealing with other walk up enquiries.

We self conducted our luggage to the room. The decor features papered walls , dark timber furnishings, flat screen TV (don't expect much in the way of Entertainment in English), and the usual standard of hotel room lighting that is better suited to people equipped with kryptonite powered bionic eyes. The bathroom was clean, the twin beds had good quality linen, a choice of pillows, and marginally softer mattresses when compared to our stays in Xian, Chengdu, and Guillin.

The room has a minibar, iron and ironing board, tea making, and a wired Internet connection work station. There is a room safe which is not secured to any fixture.

So....why is there a need for earplugs? This hotel, like so many we have experienced on this trip, offers air conditioning which does not function. All of the 16 travelling companions in our party complained of the same problem. Management did not rectify our request to have air conditioning turned on. Our remedy was to open the double glazed windows to get relief. However, even at 19 floors up the incessant sound of traffic is withering, but preferable to the stifling heat.

The hotel offers WiFi access at a cost of 60 RMB per 24 hour cycle. Although expensive, I would have been prepared to subscribe, until I was told that WiFi reception was only available in the lobby. We later discovered that there is a Starbucks outlet nearby with a WiFi hotspot.

We ventured into the lobby bar to acquire a liquid sedative, before retiring for the night. Mine was a scotch on the rocks. Hers was ordered as a "Bombay Sapphire" and Tonic, which was served up as what appeared to be a glass of water! Yes, the drink supplied was a G&T but our optimism would have been better met if some lemon, a straw, ice and fresh tonic were part of the experience.

In the days ahead we will explore Nanjin road in our quest to find an air conditioned hotel lobby, and a cosmopolitan establishment that knows what chilled Sauvigion Blanc is. It should be fun!

In a nutshell, if only the air conditioning worked, everything else is your typical mid range Chinese surprise packet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here. I am the newly appointed Public Relation Manager of the Hotel and we apologies for the late response to your review. We will try to response to all review as soon as possible in future.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 288 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in March, 2013 in a Superior Room

Service:
Check-in and out was quick.
Some problems with getting wifi in rooms
Staff helpful
Inside looks better than outside

Room:
Room was very clean and spacious.
Beds very comfortable
Furniture and decor great
Sleep quality good

Bathroom:
Bathroom decent size
Perfect water pressure in shower, was so good
Interiors looked great
Only con was the opaque window opening up into the bedroom. People outside can see silhouettes of you showering. Was awkward when I shared this room with a friend.

Food/Restaurants
Variety of food good for breakfast buffet downstairs
Food quality and freshness high. Can cook eggs/noodles to your liking a la minute
Staff not very helpful and poor communication
Can get very crowded later into the morning. Best to go before 8am
Did not order room service

Location
Not centrally located
Was a fair walk to public transport
Car park a little dangerous
Very close to shops for water/snacks and very close to some good authentic Shanghai cuisine

Would probably stay again unless there is a more central hotel for the same quality and cost

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brayden S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I had a well equipped room and bathroom which were clean and well maintained. There is a 60 rmb per day charge for wi fi which seems excessive, I used 3g instead. TV had several English channels including BBC news. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast buffet had the usual international items but staff were slow to bring coffee and to clear tables. Front office staff were polite and efficient. Because of heavy traffic rather than distance, it took some time to reach the Bund and other tourist areas. I was comfortable during my thre nigh stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanuk6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here. I am the newly appointed Public Relation Manager of the Hotel and we apologies for the late response to your review. We will try to response to all review as soon as possible in future.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the last leg of a Wendy Wu tour. Definitely a business orientated hotel, but the room was nice and had everything that I required for my stay. The hotel wasn't too far from the city centre and it was easy to get to and from all the major sites. The breakfast was nice and lots of choice. Staff were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here. I am the newly appointed Public Relation Manager of the Hotel and we apologies for the late response to your review. We will try to response to all review as soon as possible in future.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Despite the nice central location, the Rendezvous is poorly maintained and offers sub par service. The toilet didn't flush when we arrived in our room. The front desk never seemed to have any idea what was going on. And while the Rendezvous demands four-star hotel prices for their restaurant, the quality of food is anything but. You can do better in Shanghai for half the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peripatetix78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very comfortable and the staff very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Would suggest hiring the portable wifi adaptor for the room. There is a refundable deposit of about 20rmb, but well worth it if you have mobile devices. Internet rates quite reasonable. There was even an extension lead in the room with a British plug in point .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here on the Wendy wu tour, room was excellent. The maids turn down the bed and pull the curtains every night for you. Very clean, nothing to much trouble. Breakfast was western or Chinese style and plenty of it. Centrally located to go off in the day touring, would recommend to anyone staying in shanghai as a base.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard S, Public Relations Manager at Merry Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear guest, thank you for choosing our hotel and share your experience review here. I am the newly appointed Public Relation Manager of the Hotel and we apologies for the late response to your review. We will try to response to all review as soon as possible in future.
Your recognition has given us a very powerful driving force and we will continuously make unremitting efforts and enhanced improvement to our service in future
Hope you can visit Rendezvous Shanghai Merry Hotel again in future. Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#53 of 5,160 in Shanghai
629 reviews
Jing'an
Shanghai Hotel
Shanghai Hotel
#740 of 5,160 in Shanghai
325 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 5,160 in Shanghai
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
Hotel Nikko Shanghai
#702 of 5,160 in Shanghai
304 reviews
Starr Hotel
#134 of 5,160 in Shanghai
64 reviews
Former French Concession
City Hotel Shanghai
City Hotel Shanghai
#387 of 5,160 in Shanghai
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merry Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.396 Yan'an Road West, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#187 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#222 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $62 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merry Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rendezvous Merry Hotel Shanghai, we are delighted to announce that we will soon be renamed Rendezvous Hotel Shanghai Merry.Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, you will appreciate the convenience of having many of the city’s major attractions and offices at your doorstep. Conveniently located along Yan An West Road in Shanghai’s Puxi district, you can walk to Nanjing Road in five minutes, and popular sites like the Bund, Xintiandi, Yuyuan Garden and People’s Square are just a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merry Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Merry Shanghai
Shanghai Rendezvous Merry Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing